We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay with quality service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chimes on the Sea
Ranked #377 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2011

A lovely place and quality service, the place was ran by Dave & Debbie and although only took over this year you felt they had been doing it for years, There friendly personality made the difference between it being just another B&B and felt more like home and for fry up enthusiasts the breakfast is a must, hoping to be back there in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenners33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

Great services, the staff were very helpful and friendly breakfast was amazing, the hotel was very clean we will be going again. thank you for a lovely break

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Great service,clean rooms,familly friendly and breakfast to die for!!!Great location in the middle of all you need in Blackpool.Will go back definitelly.Many thanks to the managers!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps-jewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

this hotel excellent in every way possible. the breakfast was brilliant. the hotel was lovely and clean. the rooms were at a very high standard. i would recommed any age group to go. it is also in a perfect location so that is half way between the shops and the pleasure beach.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoegreggain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Booked the hotel online for the pricely sum of £130. On arrival place was being decorated in halloween for the weekend parties and although we were welcomed it left us with the overall impression we were an inconvenience. With a young baby- I'd rung in advance and asked for a travel cot but it wasn't ready (they did help us with this). Advertised dinner at 5pm prompt so after we'd been out we thought it would be more convenient to eat at the hotel but were told that as we were the only one's who'd asked they didn't pay for a chef to feed 4 people. We asked for recommendations of where to go to eat and went to the cafe next door where we were great with equal disdain and told the table we'd sat at (nicely dressed with table cloth and cutlery were for hotel guest only and we could use one of the plastic tables at the front of the cafe if we weren't guests (despite the non-residents welcome sign!). The bar was shut so no option to get a drink or bar snack as also advertised. Breakfast the following morning was a big improvement. The breaskfast staff were much more welcoming, and although the request for a high chair was met, the landlady had to fetch her own as they didn't keep any in the dining area. The landlady was pleasant but the hotel wasn't well equipped or welcoming to a family with young children in october halfterm

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

we were given a very warm welcome, the hotel owner even moved his own car to accomadate ours, parking is for 4 cars only. rooms were clean, basic ,but all you need for a short stay, the window in the room would not lock, but was not to much of a problem as it was at the back and inpossible to climb in.the service was second to none, just could not do enough for you.unlimited tea and toast at breakfast, with any preferance catered for, can recommend this hotel,excellant value for money, several other hotels give a chioce of cereal or jiuce at breakfast, the chimes has unlimited supply of both to help your self to. also my sister was asked £20 deposit at another hotel for the remote control for the telvision in the room , what a joke !! NOT the case at the chimes. lowreys cafe on lytham road offers a very warm welcome, with superb food, to go with the witty banter, recommend you try one of deans breakfast, well worth it

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliesgran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Went to this hotel for the first time with my partner and a large group of people for a long weekend! I have never laughed so much and been so relaxed. It’s great location - close to the tower, town centre and a small walk from pleasure beach! Rooms are basic, but clean and lovely. Food is fantastic, and there's always more if you want second helpings! Paul and his team are so hospitable and even let us sit in the hotel after checkout for a few hours because we were waiting for the rest of the group! If you want luxury then this hotel isn't for you, but if you want a warm atmosphere, great home cooked food and a lovely stay then you cannot beat the chimes! Such great value for money! Blackpool is good fun, and the town has some great shops but we enjoyed the pleasure beach the most.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover23x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#53 of 73 in Blackpool
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilsons Hotel - Blackpool Tower View
0.0 mi away
The Dutchman Hotel
The Dutchman Hotel
#72 of 861 in Blackpool
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Leverdale Hotel
Leverdale Hotel
#382 of 861 in Blackpool
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystals on the prom
Crystals on the prom
#159 of 861 in Blackpool
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chimes on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chimes on the Sea

Address: 265 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AH, England (Formerly The Chimes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $44 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chimes on the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Hotel is newly refurbished & is ideally located on promenade which offers stunning sea views & comprises of 15 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms open all year round. Our Hotel sits in between the Blackpool tower & pleasure beach so offering you the perfect base to explore Promenade, Town center, Central pier, Winter Gardens theater, Coral Island & all famous local amenities & night life. Chimes Hotel is perfectly placed in central Blackpool to offer you the base from where to explore Blackpool's renowned attractions. Whether you are up for Ballroom dancing, excited about Blackpool tower's magnetism, fancy Circus or Magic shows, irresistible to shopping or eating, thrilled about rides, fanatic to movies, craving for night life or just plan as you go, our hotel suits your needs. We are happy to accommodate guests from all walks of life, so whether you're a couple, a family, a solo traveler or a group of friends, you'll be afforded the very best service in town. We offer all guests the same warm welcome and trademark hospitality whatever time of the year you visit may it be bank holidays, summer kids' holidays, Illuminations or Christmas and New Year Breaks. To make sure we provide the ideal break in Blackpool to our guests, we have a range of 15 fantastically appointed, spotlessly clean & a variety of Double, Twin, Family, Single en-suite & standard bedrooms which provide breath-taking glittering views of Blackpool tower & a very good night's sleep. In the morning you'll have the option of the cooked breakfast and our family lounge offers real comfort as well as a choice of meals on order. All our rooms are decorated on a Blanche white scheme with a golden touch. Guests are provided with fresh white crisp linens, towels & toiletries. A colored television with free view channels, tea coffee making facilities are equipped in each room. High Speed internet is available through out Hotel. Hair driers, iron and ironing boards are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Chimes on the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing