We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clarendon Showtel
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend away”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just got back from 2 nights at the Winterbourne Hotel. We picked the hotel via Late Rooms purely on price, the availability of smoking rooms and off road parking, (I was borrowing my husband's car for the trip and had to park his baby off the street!) We booked three single rooms, one of which turned out to be a small double (bonus)!
We had a really great time here. Karen was welcoming and efficient, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Any problems were dealt with straight away, I had no light in my bathroom, I informed Karen and when we got back from a walk a couple of hours later, sorted, no fuss.
We only ate breakfast but it was really good, I work in a cafe and found the meal great quality and sufficient quantitiy, especially at £25 per night with breakfast included.
Overall, for what we wanted which was basically somewhere to sleep while spending most of the time out and about, the place was brilliant, the show on Saturday night, whilst not really our cup of tea, was really entertaining and good quality and we ended up thoroughly enjoying ourselves.
~I have stayed at several other places in Blackpool and this is the first time I've come away saying "we'll go back there next time". Great value, and wonderful people with high standards, what more can I say.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dragonlady1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    31
    1
    2
    22
See reviews for
46
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided to book a 2 night stay after watching the programme 4 in a bed which the hotel was featuring on. We fully understood that the rooms were described as small but clean so weren't expecting the ritz but all that said I don't think we really appreciated what small meant until we arrived. The room was clean, if a little dated, but unfortunatley the shower was horrendous. There was a step down into it which then gave you a square box with shower head attachment that was fixed so attempting to get washed was a bit like a contortionists warm up routine. The bed was comfy, food ok, and entertainment top class, however the manageress's attitude for me was unpleasant. Whatever we requested was denied and not in a courteous way may I add. If it had not have been for one of the 2 men owners I would have had to forego my evening meal as my little one had fallen asleep in the room. When I asked if I could eat my meal after the rest of my party so that someone could take over watching my little one, I was told quite tersly this was not possible. When my mother explained what had been said to one of the guy's, they immediatly overuled the uncourteous mangeress and served me my meal a little later. I ended up cutting my 2 night stay down to one as I could no longer bear the manageresses poor attitude to service level. My advice to anyone interested in this hotel is go and see the show ( fantastic ) but find another b & b. If the boy's got rid of the current management the place would run a whole lot better!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just arrived home from a three night stay , the entertainment was great we'll done everyone . The room was small but did the job . Breakfast was good and filling . All the staff were pleasant and helpfull . Thank all .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucydog41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The winterbourne was absolutely fabulous. We stayed for three nights. It was fantastic prices and it lived up to its reputation on Four In a Bed. The showbar was great. Watch out, the owners are gay and they look at you very strangely, but a wonderful place to stay. We think you should you definitely stay if you are considering it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was the worse hotel we have ever stayed in. We asked for our money back and were short changed. Everything about this hotel was dirty scruffy and dated. We booked to stay because they had won Four in a bed on TV however we were extremely disappointed. Our advice is to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesreay, General Manager at The Clarendon Showtel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your break !
i have to say you were not short changed at all as we refunded everything except the one night stay which you had with breakfast and the entertainment from that night
We are sorry that your television freeview did not have all the channels ,only the bbc ones were working on that weekend (this has now been corrected infact it was done on that day you left )
but you were advised on arrival that was a problem and you did say that was ok ?
Its a shame you never said any of this to us yourself as you told me (james reay) that you had to cut your stay short as a family member had had a stoke
I do hope he was ok
may thanks for your review
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We have recently stayed at this B&B for the Valentines weekend after seeing the establishment crowned the winners of the TV show 'Four in a bed'.
On TV the B&B came over as wonderful value for money and a lot of fun and to the managements credit it did not disappoint.
Our onsuite room was not the biggest, however it was clean and served its purpose.
The breakfast was as it should be, substantial, hot, tasty and served with a smile.
On the TV show it showed that the B&B had entertainment, but the show did not do it justice. I come from an entertainment background so can be very criticle when it comes to 'in house shows', however the 3 shows that we saw were of excellent quality and most importantly variety.
James in one very talented chap and along with Simon and Karen stage the shows, costumes sound and lights.
The aforementioned people are indeed the owners of the Winterbourne and made us feel very welcome and we will most defiantly return, in fact we have already booked again for this year!
Thank you Winterboure we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TheCfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesreay, General Manager at The Clarendon Showtel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review !! all i can say is wow
it is so nice to have people like yourselfs staying with us and who come to us with their eyes wide open and full of fun !!!
can't wait to see you all again very soooooon :)
thank you from all the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have just returned from the winterbourne today after staying for the weekend for my birthday,we had a warm welcome as soon as we arrived ( thanks karen ).we had our first taste of cabaret in which my husband and i was in fits of laughter through the whole show LOVED IT (thanks james and simon ) and karen ,queen was wicked. our room was good ,not huge but had all we needed and was clean and tidy and the bed ,you just sank into utter comfort we found it difficult to get out of it in the mornings but we didnt want to miss karens breakfast.i would advise anybody who wants a place to stay that is not expensive and very friendly and welcoming please try the winterbourne.if like us you will want to return again and again. i am going to be recommending this hotel to every single person i speak to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#51 of 69 in Blackpool
1,047 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#19 of 69 in Blackpool
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 69 in Blackpool
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
New Hacketts Hotel
New Hacketts Hotel
#50 of 69 in Blackpool
554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#39 of 69 in Blackpool
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Showtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Showtel

Property: The Clarendon Showtel
Address: 22-30 Clarendon Road, Blackpool FY1 6EF, England (Formerly Winterbourne Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Clarendon Showtel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Clarendon Showtel, we provide an experience not just a visit, we do not promise anything we cannot provide. We do promise that we will do everything we can to ensure you enjoy your stay. You will find us half way between the Tower and the Pleasure Beach, and only a few hundred yards from the Promenade. We are also situated directly opposite Blackpool Football Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Clarendon Showtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing