We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldent let a dog stay in this hotel”
Review of Carlis Hotel

Carlis Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlis Hotel
Ranked #737 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with some friends last weekend after booking on Awesomeweekends.co.uk and i can safely say i will not be staying there again.

The bar smelt like wet dog.

There was a years worth of dirt and dust on the skirting boards.

There were coffee stains on the wall.

There was what i hope was tomato sauce on the wall's.

There was a prostitutes price list in some of the rooms.

There were no tea and coffee facility's in rooms despite saying it did.

The "en-suite" in most of the rooms were crammed into wardrobes.

In 3 of the rooms the top bunks were ether missing support bars or dipped that much in the middle the girls myself included. pulled the mattress onto the floor to sleep.

We weren't expecting the Ritz but we did expect a clean room!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minxy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at the Carlis with a group of friends and all I can say is VILE! The state of the hotel is disgusting. We shared a room on the top floor, the windows were covered in poo and we couldn't even open them for fear of being swarmed by flies. We also had a seperate shower room, the toilet didn't even flush. The rooms need updating massively. The carpets and walls are stained and very basic. £30 a night is very expensive for what you get. I for one will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

In a word DISGUSTING.

I can't even begin to describe it.

Stayed there with friends for 1 night, £30 was too expensive.

4 in a room with a double divan and 'adult' bunkbeds.

You couldn't swing a cat, bunk beds in other room were broken and unfit for purpose.

The back of the property was strewn with underwear which has been discarded from windows.

Broken windows.

The front windows were caked in what i hope was tomato ketchup.

The toilet was behind the sink so having a wee was hilarious!!!

The carpet was disgusting and sticky.

Declined breakfast.

The bar was grubby but functional

In a word NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank smileyfaceUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed with a group of friends , We payed £30 each for a one night stay B&B ( £90 per room). Our room was dirty and very old . There wasn't even a mirror in the room ( apart from a wobbly one in the bathroom) . The towels had seen better days and the bathroom had cracked and broken tiles , dirty shower and sink . The carpet was grubby and stained ......yuk !!!
The breakfast was ok ....ish ....if you liked food swimming in grease ..............
The landlady was quite pleasant but not very flexible when asked for certain items at breakfast .................Best bit about the hotel ? there isn't one !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb1959_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The positive - The land lady is absolutley lovely and will do what she can for you

The standard of accomodation I would say is extremely poor.

It depends on what you are paying as to wether its worth staying there or not. We paid £90 pound each for a 3 night stay via "BlackpoolGroupWeekends" and it is ceretainly not worth that. It is also not as described by BlackpoolGroupWeekends.

If you are booking direct, only paying 10 / 15 quid a night and only want a place to crash each night then I may be inclined to say its ok for that, however if you are looking at similar rates to what we paid then just a few doors down there is a place called The Lawton which was actually cheaper and the standard of accomdation is far better with a much nicer rooms and bar area with TV etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madayarrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Blackpool Central Hotel
Blackpool Central Hotel
#519 of 860 in Blackpool
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#102 of 860 in Blackpool
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#323 of 860 in Blackpool
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#278 of 860 in Blackpool
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlis Hotel

Address: 34 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #737 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing