We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly & great value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawrence House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly & great value”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Can't recommend enough - service & rooms are lovely. We are looking fwd to returning. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice but the sausages are to die for. Our room was tastefully decorated in a 'seaside' theme & had everything we needed - plenty of space too, which is important to is as we are both over 6' tall! The hotel is in a great location & easy parking on the street or nearby car parks. We travel extensively & this knocks the spots off many places. Thanks guys, you have got it spot on :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
141
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed one night with three friends on a blustery wet and cold Saturday night. We usually stay at another nearby hotel but due to unavailability decided to try The Lawrence House. How glad we were that we did. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and the owners Wayne and Peter were fabulous hosts. We chose to have our evening meal here and were very impressed with the quality of food and service. Our rooms were very smart and comfortable and I personally was impressed with all the attention to detail. The big fluffy towels smelled lovely and I couldn't stop smelling at mine after using the again spotlessly clean and hot shower. The breakfast was superb and set us all up for the day. This will now be our preferred Blackpool hotel. Top tip though, book early to avoid disappointment for your preferred dates. Will be staying again soon. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awaydays5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Whilst Blackpool was chilly the welcome from Wayne and Peter wasn't and after a defrosting pot of tea we were shown to our room which was as ever spotlessly clean and warm. We decided to have our evening meals for both nights of our stay at Lawrence house, as usual our meals were freshly prepared, delicious and good value. Waynes chips are something else, just like mamma used to make. We made good use of the well stocked bar and after sampling the delights of Blackpool nightlife we had a good nights sleep to then start the day with a excellent breakfast. The best B and B in Blackpool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesa0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I Hold my head in shame; as this was my four stay and the Lawrence Hotel.

The proprietors are warm, welcoming and friendly with a huge touch of compassion and honesty.

i just spend Christmas 2013 with 9 other strangers who are now new friends and have giving a Christmas to remember. Fun and warmth was shared by all.

the food over the three days that was laid on was first class from breakfast to buffa's and of course our wonderful four course Christmas dinner. Fun and games enjoyed by all. I have never won much in the past, however now i can say I'm the proud 2013 winner of the Lawrence House Karaoke competition and what stiff competition i had, well not really L.O.L i also won the fancy dress contest. so I will be back to clam my prize of a two night stay in one of there premiere rooms.

the rooms are always clean and have everything one would need. Plus the bar is cheaper than chips.

Most of all when i have meet other guest staying at the Lawrence hotel they are returning for another time like myself and this speaks volumes.

Thank you for a pleasurable time.

Christopher

Room Tip: If you are traveling a lone book room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teabags1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our first Christmas away together, and my first for 35 years,as im not usually a fan. How glad I am I did. From the first welcome with sherry, mince pies etc., the stay was a complete success, great accommodation, once again immaculately presented, great company and fabulous meals, from the legendary breakfasts to delicious buffets , and the star event..the super Christmas lunch. 3 days of friendly indulgence in one of our very favourite Hotels, regardless of location or price. Thank you ,once again Wayne and Peter.

Room Tip: upgrade to a bigger premium room for complete comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidwalterdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We made our second visit to stay at Lawrence House and this time it was for the New Year celebrations.We were so pleased that we did so.Peter and Wayne are excellent hosts and help to create a warm and friendly atmosphere.They laid on excellent food over the 3 nights we were there. There was also great company with other guests staying.Lawrence House is a very pleasant place to stay.It is clean and comfortable and well worth it.We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was quiet and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 449paulhigginson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are regular visitors of the above,We have just spent a 3 day stay for christmas, another fantastic stay with the owners Peter, Wayne.If you want a great place to stay here it is.The hotel is for gay, but the host welcome one and all,you will be made welcome in a very relaxed easy going hotel, nothing to much trouble for Peter,Wayne all you need to do is ask. The rooms are cleaned and serviced every day, the food is fresh made day by day, the breki is deeeeelish.Ask for a Wayne special you wont be disappointed So if you want a good hotel then do try The little gem of Blackpool A.K.A . lAWRENCE HOUSE. Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#17 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#79 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#348 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#7 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#16 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 127 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrence House Hotel

Property: Lawrence House Hotel
Address: 33 General Street, Blackpool FY1 1SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawrence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a gay run hotel for gay people and their friends, (that includes nice straight people!) conveniently situated on the North Shore close to the Promenade and moments from Blackpool’s vibrant gay scene and town centre. A warm friendly atmosphere awaits you throughout the year. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and attention to detail, and go just that little bit further to make your stay here in Blackpool a relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing