We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place should be demolished”

King Edward Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Edward Apartments
Ranked #90 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Reviewed September 29, 2012

very dated with old worn out decor. place felt dirty with stains everywhere. quite depressing and the view of the street was boring with the owners or workers of 2 hotels and a guy from the walk around store used to just float about all the time.
£270 for three nights plus £5 electricity for a family room ( room 3) was a bit steep for what it was and so were the stairs to the "lounge" after bumping up and down with the pram.
it was a bit of a fun house in the wrong sense with curtain rails popping off. no handle on the ovens glass door . fold down bed with 3 legs and a wooden prop that also jumped out its springs and nearly injured me.all furniture flexing on its last legs etc and dirty cutlery.
i thought all hotels/motels would be required to have to meet strict regulations regarding fires etc but could see no notices or warning signs of compliance , nor did i see any pat testing or gas safe documentation anywhere.
to add it was the sept weekend and blackpool is just a ripoff with the pleasure beach changing price on the sat morning from £20 upto £35 for a wristband and the tower being equally as greedy after paying to get in and go up the tower thought it was an idea to get a drink and we were told no its £9 each to get into the ballroom where the only bar was apart from the jungle jims play area which also cost money to go in with the kids after a que and booted out after an hour.
i hadnt been to blackpool in 5 years and its changed so much for the worse. maybey ive grown up and now demand more value for money, i wont be going back

Room Tip: stay away from room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from staying at the king edward apartments again with my family.As usual very satisified with the accomodation and staff. Ideally situated for all amenities in Blackpool, central to everything you need. Free car park is a bonus. If you want cheap and cheerful this is the place to stay. Richard and his family and staff are all very friendly and helpful, if you need anything they are always able to help, a big thank you to you all. Hope to see you all again soon. Thank you from Carol, Stockport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hi, I have to say this was everything I needed, I was happy to see that this had everything for me, the chap richard was great assistance, the parking was the key source for me as I needed to have a safe place to stay.. very great for parking and a nice time I had, great stay, happy to come back in the early next year.

I'm clueless as to how people can respond horribly with such price difference for what you get.

Thanks for the wonderful stay at an unbeatable price for the accessories and car park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

stayed for two nights for the john smiths grand national with four others, every where in the build smelled of dogs damp in our rooms there was rust all around the sealing and the windows, not all the windows were double glazing so it was cold at night, i went to get a shower but only cold water because the water heating switch did not work also in the second room it was most the same but with one major issue the toilet was leaking blue water, so it was unhygeenic, i could go on and on but if wot looking for a bed in blackpool dont go there !

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jjrobo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at this establishment for 3 nights during the last weekend of October 2011, myself and husband in 1 room and my daughter and her family in another room. Apparently we were in the only room that has yet to be refurbished, what a hovel. The carpet was filthy, it may have been vacuumed but it was disgusting and had a rug stuck down obviously covering something up. Mismatched, chipped and grubby crockery and limited cutlery. Filthy greasy cooker. Truly disgusting pull cord for the bathroom light. Bathroom equally grim, with tiniest sink (husband went into my daughter's room to shave and shower) and no proper lighting, it is basically a boarded off corner in the bedroom. This room has nothing about it that relates even a little to the website or leaflet information and pictures.

My daughter's room was better having had a refurbished shower room, the kitchen units were knackered though and in need of replacing. My grandson was on a fold out bed, however it was so uncomfortable (like a hammock) that they put the mattress on the floor for him to sleep on.

There is other accommodation in Blackpool called King Edward Apartments...I wonder if the more positive reviews are actually about these!

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 (last room you come to on the 1st floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank verynearlythere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The apartments are close to the Tower and Winter Gardens and do have parking with stairs up to reception on 1st floor, everything is included except towels and price is very reasonable. We had a 2nd floor bedsit which was small and everything was tired and dated though all workable. If you want cheap and cheerful this is the place though if in Blackpool again will look elsewhere for better accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My Husband, 14year old niece and I stayed here in October 2011 for a week and were disappointed with the condition of the apartment.

Kitchen area - ceiling covered in dampness and very little cooking utensil, electrical appliances looked like they had not been tested since 2008 (not good I believe this should been done annually).

Living area - furniture very dated and uncomfortable, and table broken.

Bathroom - ceiling again covered in dampness as well as a hole at shower area, shower pressure shocking, towel rail hanging off wall and small cabinet broken with one mirror missing.

Bedroom - beds uncomfortable , not enough pillows, bedding seen better days.

Overall cleanliness or the apartment was disgusting, floors sticky and carpets looked like they hadn’t seen a hover in months (lots of dust under beds and behind doors.

The only good thing about The King Edward Apartments was the free parking and the location. Don’t think I will be staying here again, was gald to get home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froggysky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 863 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
1.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Edward Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Apartments

Address: Central Drive, Blackpool FY1 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing