We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Mayfield from 5th to 10th August 2013”
Review of Mayfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayfield Hotel
Ranked #49 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Superb. Ian , Jay & Jamie owners of the hotel made myself and my son feel like part of the family. Hotel is a comfy family run Hotel with nicely decorated and clean. Friendly evironment recomended for Family holidays.

Room Tip: Call direct for best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

hi Stuart and arron,
thanks for your review ..we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. we do aim to please and the children always come first.will make sure next time you come we will have tattie scones in for arron hope to see you both again. Jay Ian and Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 288 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at the Mayfield hotel in Blackpool for the long weekend with my fiancee and daughter (6 yrs old) the service food and overall manner of the owners was really good we all felt like we were at a second home. I know we'll be back there soon for another holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

we can not thank you enough for such a nice review and we hope we can deliver many more great times for you our aim is to please especially the children see you next year
Ian jay and wee Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

For the last 8 years I’ve commuted to Blackpool to work and generally stay over at least 3 nights a week.
I tried a number of hotels/guesthouses during the first 3 years but none of them could provide the quality of service that’s needed for a long term stay.
Then I found The Mayfield and Ian, Jay & Jamie – immediately they made me feel at home with their fantastic hospitality and attention to detail. I’ve now been staying for nearly 5 years, which I’ve calculated to be around 630 nights - nothing has ever been too much trouble for them and they are as attentive now as they were on the very first night I stayed.
Whether it’s for pleasure or business, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending The Mayfield to those wanting to stay in Blackpool. You may find cheaper, as I once did, but the old adage ‘you only get for what you pay for’ is never more true than for hotels/guest houses in Blackpool.
The rooms are clean and very nicely decorated and be warned - your diet will be blown as the food is fantastic. You have to stay at leaset one night to hear the banter between Ian & Jay - very funny, very entertaining.
Give it a try – you won’t be disappointed and who knows, if you stay during the week you might even meet me!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Well robin what can we all say but your now not a guest but one of the family you know all the guests you have been here that long we hope this will carry many more times just a shame you gave up the exercise mind you it keeps you away from the chippy lol only kidding we are always here for you robin have a nice weekend at home Ian jay and Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me & my daughter were made to feel very welcome. We found the Mayfield an enjoyable experience & would stay there again. The hotel & room were clean, presentable & comfortable,Jay,Ian & Jamie couldn't do enough for us.When it came to breakfast they would prepare what you would like,they even did pancakes for my daughter and english breakfast was very good both mornings.I would recomend the Mayfield too anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

thank you for your review we do respect what you have to say but I am surprised that you picked us knowing on the map where we are based in Blackpool you also said you would return and yet you nocked us for our location once again we are sorry for not living in the centre of Blackpool. we are 1 mile away from the tower near gyn square and are only one street back from the promenade local for trams and busses once again we do apologise for our location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just picked this hotel by chance on the net and couldn't have wished for anywhere better, right from arrival, Ian in his shorts,not a pretty sight to Jamie carrying our bags upstairs. We were made to feel welcome right from the off. Excellant room, loverly food, convivial company,what more could anyone want. Only 3 mins walk to the prom and trams and a noice quiet location. Thanks Jay,Ian and Jamie for a great stay, we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

hi Richard and Monica, thank you for your review it was a pleasure to look after you both we had some nice conversations sitting outside in the lovely weather. we look forward to seeing you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a brilliant weekend at The Mayfield. Thank you Jay,Ian and Jamie for making it feel like home.Room was lovely and clean and comfy and the breakfasts were tasty. Thank you Jamie for the lovely cups of tea and coffee :-) See you again soon xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

hi
Michelle and Ian, thank you for your review. we are happy that you both enjoyed your stay here at the Mayfield its always a pleasure to look after our guests. we look forward to seeing you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A warming atmosphere and fantastic customer service. The family are very genuine and adaptable to cater individual needs, with nothing less than 110% customer care as their main priority - it really does show!

The family provide home-like facilities and are very clean. They are also resourceful when it comes to Blackpool, so you will never be short of entertainment whilst at the Mayfield. However, if it is just a relaxing, comfortable weekend or break, then I would highly recommend the Mayfield. There is every chance that you will meet new friends throughout your stay, too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100370Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

thank you Sandra for your review, we are happy that your stay with us was comfortable and relaxing for you, we aim to please and helping people like yourself to recommend places to visit and where to eat in Blackpool, we look forward to seeing you again at some point,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor View - Guest House
Grosvenor View - Guest House
#44 of 860 in Blackpool
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Valdene Hotel
Valdene Hotel
#45 of 860 in Blackpool
338 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beverley Dean
Beverley Dean
#28 of 860 in Blackpool
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#12 of 860 in Blackpool
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fossil Tree Hotel
The Fossil Tree Hotel
#14 of 860 in Blackpool
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#32 of 860 in Blackpool
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Hotel

Address: 27 Holmfield Road | Northshore, Blackpool FY2 9TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield Hotel: The Mayfield hotel was reopened by its new owners in September 2006. With the closed season kicking in it was a perfect time to rejuvenate the hotel to high standards, which has been complemented on by hotels guests over the opening months. With the wonderful views out on to the North pier and the beach, the Mayfield hotel is ideally suited for all the visitors young or old. The Mayfield hotel is literally a ten to fifteen minute walk into the main centre of the busiest north western seaside town in England. A variety of accommodation can be offered at the Mayfield to suit the needs of you and your companions during your stay at Mayfield hotel. Also we do have a variety of evening meals with home from home cooking. We don't take stag or hens or large groups as it's not a party hotel. Like we say, it's home from home. If you like a pint or two, we do have Fosters and Strongbow on tap. We hope to see you all very soon... Ian, Jay and Jamie ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing