We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Blackpool”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Chelvedon Hotel
Ranked #450 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Blackpool”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night why we went to the legends show it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in blackpool. The owner Tara is very friendly and so easy to get on with we were offered a drink as soon as we arrived and made to feel very welcome by everyone. We stayed in the Greek room it was beautiful and the bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in, the breakfast fills you up for the rest of the day it was lovely and lots of choice of cereals too, we have booked to stay again in October in the Africa room. We will certainly never stay anywhere else again when we are in blackpool this hotel has everything you could wish for thanks Tara see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesJ076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was brilliant for what we needed, great central location and brilliant rates and friendly staff. Some of the bathrooms could do with an update but other than that it was fantastic. Lovely american bar downstairs. Little tip, if you need to use a shop for any reason DO NOT USE the convenience stores nearby. There is tesco around the corner and is much cheaper. Exit the hotel and turn right then walk to the traffic lights and do a right it's down there. Much better value. Fantastic stay, considering making it an annual thing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilentSavior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Well I have just come back from Blackpool after staying at this hotel for two days. I had never stayed here before but decided to stay there after all of the good reviews, there is not one bad thing I can say about my experience.

When we arrived we received a friendly welcome and offered cups of tea/coffee. The owner is a lovely woman. The room was amazing , all the rooms are themed, we had a Greek room and it was absolutely beautiful. I've never seen a nicer decorated hotel! All rooms are en-suite . Towels were provided ,hair dryer, even a sewing kit :) . The breakfast was really nice too ( you get a choice of what you want).The bed was to die for it was that comfy I didn't want to get out.

Will definitely not stay anywhere else now after staying here definitely the hotel to be at! Thanks Tara will return soon. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliexoxoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a great stay at the New Chelvedon for Halloween. Tommy and Tara had really gone to town decorating the front room for Halloween. I stayed here with my husband and teenage daughter and we had a room with an adjoining bedroom for our daughter. Breakfast was good, and you could order whatever you fancied. The hotel was not far from the attractions so in a great location. There is parking close by in public car parks but make sure you have plenty of change with you as they only take change and not notes or credit cards. Tommy and Tara gave a great welcome, and even though we were early checking in, could not do enough for you. There was a friendly atmosphere – and other guests that were at the hotel had been many times before. It was home from home and fantastic value for money. We will definitely be going to Blackpool again, even our daughter said that she wants to stop at Tommy’s when we go back, and that is saying something for a 16 year old! We would not dream of staying anywhere else but the New Chelvedon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandieb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We Go to this hotel every year.
Great Host, Makes You feel at Home.
A Lovely Room and great night sleep.
Breakfast is Great, Just what you want.
Not far from the actractions. Great Locations.
Great welcome and friendly atmosphere.
:) :)

Room Tip: Hollywood Room & London Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a night at the NC. Not the larger of their rooms but very clean and tidy. The £25 rate included an excellent cooked breakfast. Location is just on the edge of the town centre, about 100yds from Central Pier.

Hospitality is second to none, it really did feel like we were in our own living room with long lost friends. We only live 10 miles up the coast but we'll be thinking of some excuses for another night or two at the NC and recommending it to family & friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells, kent, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a bit of an odd review because I haven't actually stayed at the hotel...I booked a weekend away for a group of friends. We were travelling from all over the UK and our number have been fluctuating for weeks. Tara has been lovely throughout the process as I booked rooms and then changed the bookings as more people decided to come or dropped out.

Today, just 24 hours before we were supposed to be arriving, the trip just fell apart and I had to cancel. This was disappointing and embarrassing for me and I was dreading having to tell Tara, all the more so because she'd refuse to take a deposit for the five rooms we were occupying. Of course I offered to pay her - it's not her fault we can't go and I didn't want her to be out of pocket but she refused to accept any money, wouldn't take a penny off me. She was also utterly delightful and understanding of our predicament.

The New Chelvedon Hotel has excellent reviews on here and I'm looking forward to adding to them when I eventually get to visit Blackpool in a few weeks, but in the meantime I want to be able to repay Tara in some way for the kindness, understanding and generosity she has shown. What a fab woman, an example to hoteliers everywhere

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank themymblesdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 70 in Blackpool
1,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
De-Lovely
De-Lovely
#81 of 856 in Blackpool
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Chelvedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Chelvedon Hotel

Property: The New Chelvedon Hotel
Address: 39-41 Chapel Street, Blackpool FY1 5AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Chelvedon...is situated on Chapel Street, in the centre of Blackpool, which runs adjacent to the Promenade and Central Pier, with easy access to all the major attractions that only Blackpool can offer.All our guest rooms have en-suite shower rooms and are equipped with tea and coffee making facillities and Colour TV.Rooms are serviced on a regular basis ensuring the highest quality of cleanliness at all times.Our fully licensed bar/lounge offers a range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks as well as tea, coffee and other hot drinks. We offer a selection of games to keep all occupied.Our comfertable, spacious dining room offers home cooked food from fresh ingredients and portions are generous. All guests are offered a full English breakfast and special diets can be catered for with prior notice. Our main guarantee to all visitors is a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing