We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adelaide House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Like everyone else, we were there for the Blackpool Dance Festival. Although I gave it an excellent rating, don't expect five-star hotel-type accomodations. It was literally like staying with family in their guest room. The room was small. The bathroom was small. The shower hot water was hard to adjust (I took a cold shower the first night). The beds were too soft for our tastes.

So why did I give it an excellent rating? If you're there for the Blackpool Dance Festival, it was literally across the street from Winter Gardens and only half a block from the backdoor of the Empress Ballroom. The staff and owners treated you like family. Julie and Caryn were very helpful and friendly. Caryn called around to try to get us a car and driver for a day. Julie was always ready with restaurant suggestions. The breakfast was very good. Breakfast was traditional English and there were also juices, fresh fruits, yogurt and cereal available.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you're attending the Blackpool Dance Festival. However, you better make your reservations now for next year because most people have already put down a deposit.

Room Tip: If you're reading this review, I don't think you will have choice. We were in the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaialaeNui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you in May and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you say, we are not a 5 star hotel, but we try hard to give all our guests a 5 star welcome, and I have passed your lovely comments on to Julie and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adelaide House in the future.

Best Wishes,

Caryn Dickson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    58
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
90
63
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Adelaide House is by far the best hotel that we stayed in Blackpool for the past 5 years. We have been coming to the Blackpool dance festival for the past years and tried out different hotels. Adelaide House is the one that we will stick with!! The owners, Derek and Caryn, are warm, accommodating, and very professional. The hotel rooms are clean and all the rooms are refreshed on daily basis. Fresh new towels are brought into our room everyday. The staff are friendly. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to see you again the other week for the Dance Festival. We all enjoyed working during that time, as we had a great group of dancers in, including many regulars. We look forward to seeing you again next May and I have reserved your room for you as requested.

Best wishes,

Caryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having just come back today (8 June) from staying last night it's safe to say that Adelaide House hotel is by far the BEST I have ever stayed in in Blackpool. The staff are brilliant second to none. My room was spotless and I was upgraded to a Double ensuite room instead of single. Safe to say 100% I will be back once the next Boxing event in the town is confirmed. Excellent location for the Winter Gardens and shopping centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesRoberts1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, It was very nice to meet you this week, and we are glad that you enjoyed everything about your stay at Adelaide House. We look forward to welcoming you back again, on your next trip to Blackpool for the Boxing events.

Yours sincerely

Caryn Dickson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for two nights at the weekend. Is very close to shops and the front. The downstairs lounge and bar area were very cosy with a pool table and ps2 for kids. The staff were all friendly and helpful. However the room was a real let down. It was in serious need of updating, the furniture was awful and at least forty years old and the bathroom was just as bad. Only plus side was bed was comfy and rest of the room was okay. The shower was covered in hairs and there were pubic hairs on bathroom floor. After our first night the bedroom was cleaned but the shower wasnt..Not a patch on big blue hotel which we stayed in six weeks previously. However on our way out i noticed other rooms looked a lot nicer so maybe we got a cheaper room. The breakfast was fine although i prefer eating croissants to a cooked breakfast which they do not supply.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaidehouse, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay with us. We regularly update our bedrooms and most of our rooms have been decorated over the last winter with new bedspreads, curtains and cushions. (the room you were in is actually featured on our website). We have looked at the room and although most of the furniture (beds, chairs and dressing table) are quite new, we are in the process of replacing the wardrobe which is older. I am sorry if you found the bathroom not up to our normal standard of cleanliness. We do pride ourselves on cleanliness throughout the hotel. You mention that we are not a patch on the Big Blue Hotel, which is very large four star hotel . We are a small friendly family run hotel with a three star guest accommodation rating so would never compare ourselves to a 4 star Hotel. All our rooms are the same standard, we dont have 'cheaper' rooms. At breakfast we provide a full buffet starter of fruits, yoghurts, cereals and juices, unlimited tea, coffee and toast, before our Full English Breakfast is served and I am sorry if you were dissappointed that we dont provide croissants. We appreciate your comments and always act upon anything we can do to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

Caryn Dickson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, and great location (just across the street from the Winter Gardens). Very nice lounge and bar on the ground floor where you can enjoy a drink with your friends and other guests (new friends). Always an enjoyable experience, every time we come to the dance festival. Very good WiFi connection. I can't think of a better place to stay in Blackpool for events at the Winter Gardens.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the Blackpool Dance Festival. We had a fabulous group of dancers in this year and we all enjoyed the week. Glad you liked the Wi Fi, and our proximity to the Winter Gardens. Its very handy being directly opposite the Winter Gardens ( especially when it rains !! )
We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Best wishes,

Caryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed 6 nights at this delightful hotel during Junior Blackpool festival. Loved the friendly & helpful staff, from Caryn at front desk to Best wait staff Julie. My kids loved Julie, who knew what they liked for breakfast after first day. We stayed in a more dated room but bigger than average English inn rooms. Our room was very clean & we were allowed to check-in early. No stag/hen parties at night to keep us up. Location of hotel was best. Very short walk to Winter Garden, shopping mall & pedestrian walking streets to trolley along Golden Mile.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was nice to meet you and your children. Julie (our head waitress) is very good with the children that stay with us, and I have passed on your comments to her. I am glad you enjoyed the position of the hotel in town, as you say, we are very close to everything Blackpool has to offer.

I hope if you ever visit Blackpool again, you will choose to stay at Adelaide House.

Best wishes,

Caryn Dickson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was impressed with the hospitality and cozy appeal of this hotel. It was ideally situated close to everything I wanted to see during my stay. The free breakfast had a large variety with the additional hot meal to order at no added cost. I was very pleased with this hotel and I would highly reccomend it to future travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tntravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a lovely review. We are glad that you found the hotel hospitality to a top standard, and found us to be a cozy hotel. We try to make our guests feel at home and appreciate your comments very much.

I hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Caryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,109 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,201 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide House Hotel

Property: Adelaide House Hotel
Address: 66-68 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide House Hotel has been owned and personally run by the Dickson Family for over 45 years. We pride ourselves on a warm welcome, cleanliness, excellent food, comfortable modern rooms, wonderful service from friendly staff and value for money. We are the closest hotel in Blackpool to all amenities, being directly opposite the famous Winter Gardens and Hounds Hill Shopping Centre. Less than a 5 minute walk to the Theatres, Blackpool Tower, Piers, Beach, Promenade and Bars. We take mainly over 55's (discounted rates), families, couples, singles and delegates for the Winter Gardens, (Dance Competitions, Magicians Conference, USDAW etc). We do not take Stag or Hen nights. We offer Bed, Breakfast and a delicious choice of homemade Four Course Evening Meal and we also offer a Bed and Breakfast tariff. We have two comfortable lounges, one with TV, Pool table, darts board and playstation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing