We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brene Hotel - A Real Gem”
Review of Brene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brene Hotel
Ranked #135 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brene Hotel - A Real Gem”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have just returned from a 4 night stay and would not hesitate to go back. Colin and Keith are most convivial hosts and nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. The hotel is nicely situated, not more than a few mins walk from Blackpool North station and about the same time to get to the Front. We were there midweek and did not notice any noise at all (apart from the bloody seagulls) and were perfectly satisfied with our room - a nice size with plenty of tea/coffee facilities, comfy bed and a nice hot shower. Your hosts lay on a great breakfast which is more than enough to set you up for a good days exploring.
Parking can be a bit of a game but you can park for free on the nearby roads if you are lucky enough to find a space - failing that there is a car park about 200 yards away costing £5 for 24 hrs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4nkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Brene Hotel from 17th - 20th August for a dance weekend and had a great time. The hotel was clean, quiet (which was great because we came in late and wanted to sleep later) and the breakfast was hot and delicious. The owners were very friendly and suggested lots of places to go. Definately stay there next year when the same dance weekend comes up again. Thanks Keith and Colin

Vivienne & Heabette

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivienneD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Brene Hotel from the 19th-22nd April and we LOVED it! The owners were very friendly and welcoming and gave us plenty of information about what was on and good places to go in Blackpool. Our aim for this trip was to just have a weekend away with good shops and a range of things to do at night, and this hotel was right where it needed to be! Only a few minutes stroll to the shops (which are great) and round the corner from Funny Girls and other bars/ clubs. The hotel is clean and well kept and rooms are a good standard. The breakfast filled us up for a day of shopping and was delicious! A thoroughly enjoyable stay- will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Accommodation very clean, location fantastic but that’s where it ends. Unfortunately my 19 year old son decided without our Knowledge to have friends stay in his room with him. We accept this was out of order and gave them reason to ask us to leave, which we did. However it is how this was done that was the problem.
At breakfast time of our first morning, (we booked for 2 nights), the two male patrons of this hotel made a point of telling us to pack our things and leave in the middle of breakfast with other guests also in the dining room. As I was unaware what the problem was at this point, I went to speak to them quietly to ask what the problem was. They became very loud and aggressive towards me threatening to fetch the police if we did not leave immediately. I asked them not to shout at me and that I just wanted to have a civilised conversation to understand what the problem was. They were not willing to listen, called me a scrounger and a liar at which point I said I found them rude and unhelpful and turned to leave the dining room to have foul language shouted at me. I was appalled by this behaviour which was totally unreasonable.
Had they asked to speak to us on our own and explained what had happened I would have apologised for my son’s behaviour and their inconvenience. However instead they chose to behave in an extremely abusive and uncalled for manner.
On a different note the rooms were the smallest I have ever stayed in and the breakfast would not have filled a 5 year old.

Room Tip: My best advice is don't bother go else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wombella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreneBlackpool, Owner at Brene Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We have decided to reply to your review to clarify the situation. Of course anybody caught out the way you have been and asked to leave as a result would feel aggrieved as opposed to embarrassed and ashamed. That said there are some points you make that need to be addressed.

Your son was seen entering the hotel late in the evening with 2 others who were carrying bags. When questioning your son in your double room, to which he had taken these 2, he said that they had only come back to get changed and they would be leaving shortly and would not be returning. They then left the hotel.

When later placing Easter eggs in all the rooms a duvet (not one of the hotels) was seen on the floor in your room and as you were the first to return later that evening you therefore must have known what was going on.

Whilst you were all having breakfast the two, that were seen the previous night, were seen sneaking out of the hotel with the duvet and their bags. It was obvious that they had stayed overnight.

Not only were you breaking our terms & conditions but also health & safety, insurance and fire regulations.

We waited until you had finished breakfast then asked your husband quietly and politely for your party to leave the hotel. You became argumentative and were then told that if you did not leave the hotel we would call the police. At no time did any party use foul language or become aggressive nor were you ever called a liar or a scrounger. We wanted to deal with your husband, who was responsible for the booking, but he decided to stay quiet and remained in his seat.

With regards to your comments about the rooms and breakfast, I can only ask potential guests to please read all the other reviews on this and other websites and draw their own conclusions.

We look forward to welcoming all guests to the Brene and whilst we hope that no-one is put off by this review if others are intent on abusing our hospitality and breaking health & safety/fire regulations decide that it is not the hotel for them then that can only be a good thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the Brene Hotel on Saturday 11th Feb 2012, as we were going to see the Kaiser Chiefs at the Winter Gardens and wanted to stay somewhere close as it was absolutely baltic! The owners Keith and Colin were incredebly friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel is cleaner than most 5* hotels I have stayed in which was really important for my wife who has got a bit of a clean OCD thing going on! Keith recommended a great place for us to watch the rugby as we never would have found somewhere and we even ended up getting pally with Lord street legend 'Gloria' who worked at next doors Mardi GRAS hotel. Breakfast was great, cooked by Colin with fried bread done to perfection. Don't hesitate in staying here you will not regret it. We will never stay anywhere else when next coming to the bright lights of Blackpool. James and Karen

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

this hotel is perfect. myself and my girlfriend loved it. large double room. freeview, wifi, bar.

breakfast is amazing. start with fruit or cereal and juice or milk ( you can have both if you want), col and keith then ask if your ready for your full english. 2 sausage 2 bacon, egg, beans or tomato, has browns and fried bread with two slices of toast on the side. All included with the room!

extremely clean and friendly. very close to funny girls (not my thing thanks), washington pub and 5 mins from blackpool tower.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewsimmons90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My mother in law stayed here and she had nothing but praise for the owners and the hotel and she had travelled the WORLD! Unfortunately she passed away just before Xmas and she would be happy for me in expressing what she expressed to us during and after her stay there. We stayed at the Mardi Gras a couple of doors up which was also nice but this place sounds GREAT!

Well done guys.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave3some69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 69 in Blackpool
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rubens
Rubens
#102 of 856 in Blackpool
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 856 in Blackpool
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#18 of 856 in Blackpool
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenheath Hotel Blackpool
Glenheath Hotel Blackpool
#63 of 856 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#454 of 856 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brene Hotel

Property: Brene Hotel
Address: 37 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated close to Blackpool North rail station, and is just a short walk to the North Pier, shops, Theatres, clubs and the now famous Funny Girls/Flamingo complex. The Brene Hotel has a great atmosphere which, together with the quality and friendliness we offer, means our guests return time and time again. For your convenience breakfast will be served from 08.30 until 09.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing