We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday hotel”
Review of By The Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Seaside
Ranked #96 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2010

have been going to this hotel for five years now and wouldn't think of going anywhere
else in blackpool. excellent friendly service, spotlessly clean and meals are exceptional. kim,hilary and young hollie couldn.t do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble. would strongly recommend this hotel to any-one considering visiting blackpool.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Hi Dreamgirlscotland thank you for the review having stayed with us for many years now I think it's good for people who read our reviews to be reassured if they see returning guests year after year we must be doing something right. See you both next year take care Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for By The Seaside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

If your looking for a place to stay while in Blackpool i whould HIGHLY suggest you check out the Clovelly.
Fantastic hosts that went above and beyond with any request we had, they trully wanted you to feel like it was your home from home "Thanks Hilary and Kim :-) "
My Mum told me to get ready for the best food in Blackpool, boy was she correct ! The breakfast and evening meals were AMAZING !!
All in all when in town there is only one place we will be staying "The Clovelly"
Ps thanks for the bacon butties ;-)
Marv,Sarah and Lucy

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Wow thank you marvinash for such an overwhelming review and taking the time to write it.
We do hope you had a good journey home it was a shame you had to leave in the early hours and we didn't get to say farewell...if you get to visit Blackpool again it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us, and if we ever come to Orange County we'll call in for a bacon Butty!! Love Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Came up to Blackpool with my wife Teresa & 2 very good friends Martin & Ally for a long weekend on my 50th. Choose the Clovelly hotel because of the excellent reviews, and they were not wrong. Comfy, clean, brilliant value for money, fantastic breakfast and super hosts. Hilary and Kim are a couple of gems, nothing was too much trouble,they even took the trouble to decorate the breakfast table for my 50th birthday and a card with a ticket for 2 lines on the national lottery inside.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Clovelly to anyone who is visiting Blackpool and myself hope to return one day.
Sorry it’s a bit late Hilary but you know the old saying “better late than never”

P.S. Oh by the way I’m not a millionaire LOL.

Gerry Morant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2010

Thank you burr40 for the review and taking the time to write it. It was a pleasure to decorate the table for you after all your only 50 once and we try to just make that bit more effort for special occasions. We hope to see you again thanks for a nice weekend Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I came across the Clovelly on Trip Advisor and after reading other peoples reviews knew it was where I wanted to stay.
Upon our arrival we were greeted by Hilary and knew instantly I had picked the perfect place for my family and I to stay.
We found the Clovelly to be in the perfect location for the pleasure beach and all the other family attractions. We stayed for one night in the family room. The room was modern and extremely clean. After a long day at the Pleasure Beach it was lovely to come back to comfy beds, fresh bottled water, hot chocolate and some TV before a good nights sleep.
In the morning there was so much to choose from for Breakfast. My partner and I had the full English and my daughter had the croissants, just what we needed for the day ahead.
Hilary printed us off some vouchers for Ripleys believe it or not so we could have half price admission and told us if we wanted anything all we needed to do was ask.
We all had a great time at the Clovelly and we will be back for our next stay at Blackpool. Thank you Kim and Hilary xxx

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2010

Thank you Mishbennett for the review and taking the time to write yes I think we have a perfect location on St Chads Road close to the Pleasure Beach Tower and other premier venues.
As for the discount voucher's it was a pleasure if they are there for the taking we should make the most of it in this economic climate especially families.If visitors were to spend more time on some of Blackpool's wesites before they came they could save a small fortune ,thats why Iv'e got an events page on my website.Hopefully we will see your family again thank you once again Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I have just returned after a fantastic weekend spent with my son Colin and partner. From the moment I arrived I could tell by the friendliness of Hilary that this was going to be a great place to stay. I was not disappointed, my room was spotless clean with so many little touches like cotton wool balls, towelling robe and slippers to mention a few. My room had remote T.V. that I never got to see as our evenings were spent in the bar area chatting to Hilary and her husband Kym, such lovely people that I felt as if I had known for ages.
Breakfast time was a delight to get up for, no greasy spoon cafe but quality food, full english was amazing and freshly cooked to order. Definately will be booking again and would recommend to any body that is going to Blackpool.
A big thankyou Hilary and Kym, look forward to seeing you again on next visit. Lorraine.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartyLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2010

Thank you Heartylol for such a wonderful review we were delighed to meet you I know Colin and John have been 3 times this year already and again in October I'm second mom Loraine LOL with a bit of luck we will see you again take care Love Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Myself and my girlfriend decided to have a late (and I mean late) getaway,. Due to a technological nightmare (curse my BlackBerry) we were forced to wander around trying to find a place to stay for a couple of nights.

We gambled upon The Clovelly due to the well presented exterior and I'm so glad we did. The rate was very reasonable, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the cleanliness was also to be commended. The greeting we got from the proprieter (I forget the lady's name as I'm awful) made us feel so welcome and it really is appreciated, a touch of kindness when you've had a stressful day.

The breakfast was excellent and on the next stay I'll be trying an evening meal as a treat if it's up to the quality of the breakfast.

Thank you and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

Thank you AdamG_10 for writing such a nice review althouigh we did not get to see a lot of each other only at breakfast time it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and hopefully we will get to meet you again. Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

A warm welcome greeted us as we arrived at the Clovelly hotel. The rooms were fully equipped with everything you would require, clean towels, tea and coffee, bathrobes and slippers and even a mini bar. A large screen television was also in the rooms for your enjoyment.

The breakfast was second to none and nothing was too much trouble.

The location was nearer to the Pleasure Beach end but was still only 15 mins walk up to the tower.
All in all a lovely place to stay if your looking for a friendly atmosphere and a brilliant breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpool999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Thank you Blackpool999 for taking the time to write a positive review hope you choose us again as your stay in Blackpool Love Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#80 of 859 in Blackpool
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,197 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#152 of 859 in Blackpool
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 859 in Blackpool
1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Address
The Address
#159 of 859 in Blackpool
314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#51 of 859 in Blackpool
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Seaside

Address: 22 St. Chads Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $72 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Seaside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Seaside Bed And Breakfast Guest House with 8 en-suite rooms Located on St Chads Road Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing