We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my friends 40th birthday”
Review of By The Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By The Seaside
Ranked #84 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

just spent 2 nights at this lovely bed and breakfast to celebrate my friends 40th birthday and can i just say that we had a fantastic time, we were greeted by hilary and kim and received a very warm welcome, the rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy also fresh clean bathrobe and slippers were available to use, bottled water available in our rooms too, thought these were a lovely touch.
Nothing was too much trouble for hilary and kim, they decorated the dining room with balloons and banners on the morning of my friends birthday which was lovely and the breakfast was out of this world with a choice of cereal, fruit, fruit juice, tea and coffee, toast and full english breakfast, croissants and muffins.
I will be strongly recommending this bed and breakfast to everyone i know and will definately go back myself in the future.
Thanks again hilary and kim for your hospitality and friendly nature will see you again in the future. xx

Room Tip: all rooms are spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail2974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you Gail7924 for this lovely review and thank you for the reccommendations we hope you choose By The Seaside again if you return to Blackpool. Love Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 287 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I were greeted by the lovely Hilary and Kim and were very pleasantly surprised at the warm and friendly welcome. The bar area is lovely and the street was beautiful. Our room was very nice with a large plasma TV and plenty of storage. The room had some great wee touches such as the bathrobe and bottles of water.

Hilary and Kim are very very friendly and went out of their way to tell us about things happening in Blackpool. They were very approachable and a really nice couple.

The hotel was situated perfectly for the promenade and pleasure beach. The room was spotless and had nothing to fault.

We will definitely be back the next time we are in Blackpool and i have no qualms in giving the Hotel 5 stars on all fronts

Thanks to Hilary and Kim for making our stay memorable and i hope the new sign goes up well

Scott and Kerry

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottandkerry81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you Scotlandkerry81 for writing this lovely review hope to see you both again if you visit Blackpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The rooms are always lovely and clean, the home cooked food is out of this world!!!
Hilary will ALWAYS go out of her way to make sure that you have a lovely time as will Kim too!!!
I have nothing bad to say and will always want to go back!
Hope to go back in Novemeber if not sooner!!!!
Value for money......Definatly recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

Keep up the good work!!!! :)

Room Tip: Dont need to add a tip all the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you Jackie H for taking the time to write this.
It means a lot to us for loyal customers to write these's reviews see you soon. Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed after a last minute trip to Blackpool and were lucky to end up in such a nice hotel. Hilary and Kim were great hosts and couldn't do enough for us. Cracking breakfast in the morning with a large choice for a B&B. We were also allowed to leave our bags with the hotel during the day so we could go explore more of Blackpool as our train wasn't until 8pm.

The room was great with little touches like a box of tissues, bath robe, cotton buds etc...

Overall a great B&B with brilliant staff and good location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you Tom P for this review and we hope to see you both again when you visit Blackpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent the weekend after the Easter break here and what a relaxing weekend it was. As usual Hilary and Kim were excellent hosts,even allowing us to have a late breakfast and a lie in on the Saturday. (much appreciated), The room was lovely and the breakfast as always was superb and sets you up for the rest of the day. We would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Blackpool. It goes without saying we will be seeing you again Hilary and Kim and thanks once again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnett_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you Arnett_10 for your review great to see you both again. Hard working grand-parents deserve a lie in why not!.love to you both Hilary .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our 2nd visit and we were looked after and fed just the best breakfast ever. Going back in May, its nice not having to worry about the quality and the warm welcom.... thanks again see you soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Zippysnr. Firstly I would like to express my sincere thanks to you both for all the recommendations that you have sent to us. We have a very loyal clientel that return year after year that makes this business what it is, so once again thank you very much. Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed here and the second time this year.

Once again we were not dissapointed, everything met and exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very clean and modernly furnished.

The breakfast in my opinion is one of the best I have ever been served. Due to work, I have stayed in various hotels around the country and in By the Seaside, i`d rate it No. 1.

I can confirm that we will be back to this hotel in the very near future and look forward to meeting Hilary and Kim again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippysnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
0 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#98 of 864 in Blackpool
252 reviews
0 mi away
The Cardoun
The Cardoun
#113 of 864 in Blackpool
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#128 of 864 in Blackpool
267 reviews
0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#4 of 864 in Blackpool
1,233 reviews
0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 864 in Blackpool
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Seaside

Address: 22 St. Chads Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Seaside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Seaside Bed And Breakfast Guest House with 8 en-suite rooms Located on St Chads Road Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your By The Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing