We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and friendly central hotel”
Review of Alumhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alumhurst Hotel
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went to Blackpool for a friends birthday and needed a nice well priced hotel for two nights. The Alumhurst scored well on Trip Advisor and didn't disappoint. The location is very convenient - a 15 minute walk from the train station and situated 5 minutes from the sea front and the central pier. It's also very close to the main shopping centre and the Tower, as well as being close to bars and restaurants in the town.

As 3 couples we all booked independently but the hotel recognised that we were together and put us in to 3 rooms next door to each other, which was the first sign of how friendly this hotel is.

The room was clean, warm and had tea and coffee making facility. There is a bar in the basement which is great, and Steve is very friendly and will while away the hours chatting with you as you drink your very reasonably priced drinks!

Breakfast is good as it offers a choice of cereals and various cooked options, along with plenty of juice, tea and coffee. The serving staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a brilliant weekend with a friend who had never been to Blackpool before. I was so pleased that the accommodation didn't disappoint and neither did Blackpool, which is a great place to have a weekend of fun. I would definitely stay here again and recommend that any friends stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your in depth review. We are always delighted when guests take the trouble to write at length like this.
It goes without saying that we are pleased you enjoyed your weekend here and we hope we see you again some time.
Thanks again
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 200 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hi, second time I've been to the alumhurst hotel and can only sing it praise, rooms very good. Food more than average, got recommended to me by a friend who has been coming for the past ten years+, thank you pat and Steve. Chris and little shona, see you next year for 4 nights x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi Chris,
Lovely to see you both again and what a busy time you had here. You'll definitely need 4 days to fit in all the things you want to do.
Thank you for taking the time to review us so nicely.
Look forward to your next visit
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Alumhurst in one of the 70s rooms which we loved - especially the women's magazines. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was of a good quality with attentive service.

The location is handy for central Blackpool and we had a warm welcome from Pat and Steve. I'll definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazy_hoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi Girls,
It was good to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed one of our retro 70s rooms.
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it.
Look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 5th oct as our son was playing football against blackpool on the sunday. Nice clean hotel made to feel very welcome, breakfast was also freshly cooked, offered top ups for tea and coffee also toast. Thanks to steve for putting up with us in the bar, would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. I know you had a busy weekend in Blackpool but very pleased you enjoyed staying in or hotel.
Steve says your company was excellent in the bar and would welcome you anytime.
Look forward to you coming again.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked the Alumhurst Hotel online, on the day of arrival, as a surprise for the Mrs. So appreciate I was in a Hobson's choice scenario. Before we even got in the hotel we were told we could park for 1 night only, as the space had been promised to someone else, But there was parking not too far away for £5.50 for 24 hours.

Booked a family room for us and my 10 year old daughter. Not quite big enough for 3 people in my opinion (Room 22). But it was very clean and tidy, with a small flat-screen tv. The bathroom was very small (couldn't get 2 people in at the same time). The wardrobe was built to fit a gap,a side and top but no doors?

The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and hot, with cereals, toast, juices, tea and coffee.

This was my first stay in a traditional B&B/guesthouse/hotel, but for £100 per night think it was slightly overpriced for the room we got with no parking.

Its very conveniently located, close to the central pier, being only a few minutes walk away. Blackpool was very busy but there was no noise issues for us. The owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry you weren't too happy with your room, but they are the size they are unfortunately. So little time is spent in your bedroom when in Blackpool that adequate walking space around full size beds is usually enough. Pleased though that you weren't troubled by any noise.
As we are an accredited hotel our tariff is slightly higher than some of our neighbours and we like to think we offer you more. Such as the lift, large bar area, some free parking and the excellent breakfast you enjoyed so much, of which there is always plenty to eat.
By the way, the wardrobe is a hanging unit and was never intended to have a door. It is so much easier to keep clean this way. Luggage storage on the top and plenty of hanging space and hangars below.
We really hope we are able to accommodate you again sometime.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just had an overnight stay at the Alumhurst - the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, there was plenty of choice and it was served very quickly. The hotel is in a great central location with parking close by if needed. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

So very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review. Hope to see you again some time.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After booking.com messed up our original booking, this was literally the last hotel in Blackpool with two rooms left! We booked in very late on Saturday night to a lovely welcome, we were a bit worried about what would great is, but overall we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the new retro 1970's rooms, which were a lot of fun and something different and unique, a lot of attention was paid to the room, and we all enjoyed a good look through the 1970's magazines. Breakfast was included, and this was lovely, everyone was so attentive and we were offered top ups and more toast as we ate out breakfast. The service was more like 5* than the 2* they currently are. An amazing little gem in Blackpool with lovely hosts and amazing service, thanks for helping us out when we were stuck!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidcowieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write a nice review. Under the circumstances we were delighted to help you out and as you enjoyed the rooms so much it was a pleasure to have you stay here.
Hope you have sorted out your issues with Booking.com. Let us know if we can help.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alumhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alumhurst Hotel

Address: 13-15 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $72 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alumhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, family run, town centre, award winning hotel close to Blackpool Tower, Promenade and beach, Winter Gardens, theatres and new shopping centre. Our chef prepares good nutritious breakfasts and evening meals from as much fresh and local produce as possible. The hotel is kept beautifully clean throughout. Our licensed bar stocks a large variety of drinks and there is a pool table, dart board and quiz machine. Come and join the large number of guests who return annually. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alumhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing