We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a few days”
Review of Alumhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alumhurst Hotel
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After booking.com messed up our original booking, this was literally the last hotel in Blackpool with two rooms left! We booked in very late on Saturday night to a lovely welcome, we were a bit worried about what would great is, but overall we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the new retro 1970's rooms, which were a lot of fun and something different and unique, a lot of attention was paid to the room, and we all enjoyed a good look through the 1970's magazines. Breakfast was included, and this was lovely, everyone was so attentive and we were offered top ups and more toast as we ate out breakfast. The service was more like 5* than the 2* they currently are. An amazing little gem in Blackpool with lovely hosts and amazing service, thanks for helping us out when we were stuck!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidcowieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write a nice review. Under the circumstances we were delighted to help you out and as you enjoyed the rooms so much it was a pleasure to have you stay here.
Hope you have sorted out your issues with Booking.com. Let us know if we can help.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Alumhurst Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Alumhurst. I have to say it was great Pat and Steve made us feel like part of the family. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking forward to a nice relaxing break. The bedrooms are spotless as was the bedding. The breakfasts were filling and there was a good choice. We are now looking forward to next year and our third visit. So if you are looking for good value try the Alumhurst Hotel Blackpool. you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Andrew and Craig, it was super to see you both again and thank you for your excellent review.
You know we'll be keeping in touch now and hopefully we'll all meet again next year.
Love
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we got to the Alumhurst we received a friendly welcome even though we had landed early.. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The bar downstairs is very inviting and the drinks were great value, which was a good job really because my other half was fast asleep in the comfy bed in our room all night. Breakfast was great and plenty of everything you could ask for; will definitely being staying again and would definitely recommend ... Might ask for an uncomfortable bed for other half though

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanksss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to accommodating you again sometime.
Thanks again
Pat and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

So glad that I picked this hotel out of the 1708 hotels and B&B's in Blackpool.
The minute you arrive you feel that you are home. Pat and Steve are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Meals catered to an individuals need, such as diabetes or vegetarian. Rooms are bright, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts, eggs cooked just the way you want. Unlike the bigger hotels such as the Grand Metropole where you are treated as a number, at the Alumhurst you are treated as a guest in their house. A very enjoyable stay and no hesitation in staying there again. In fact the only place to stay in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you Carole. Glad you all enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you all here. Never had to cope with so many diabetics in one week before Thank you for all your help also. Look forward to seeing you again during the 'Lights' if you can make it.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my sister, was given a smoking room it was ok but when we came to get ready for our night out i came to turn the shower on and there was no hot water at all. I went down to rec and informed the owner he said that the boiler ? had broken and he had just turned on the 2nd one on, and to run the tap so the hot water would come through quicker, I did that and still NO hot water so we had to have cold showers and also the heater in the room had gone off. "very cold" So was disapointed really the breakfast was ok. The hotel is in a great postion for town cnt and it was brill to be able to park outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Anne,
Thank you for your review and it goes without saying how sorry we were that you had a problem with hot water. This has rarely happened beforeand as you realised it was something we couldn't corret in time for you to shower that evening. As you found the water was boiing the following morning after we had put on additional heating and given it time to warm up. Our hotel electrician has been and corrected a broken wire and all is well now.
If you would like to come and stay again, free of charge, please ring us and we'll sort out a date for you.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first (but not last) stay and it was fabulous !! Pat was so very helpful She loaned me her mobility scooter so my husband andmyself could pop out for a walk around. I have stayed in quite a few places but have never felt as at home as this. Although we came to Blackpool as it was a necessity for my husband, we will return BUT only to The Alumhurst. A huge huge thank-you to Pat and Steve and all the other staff. I can only give you 10 out of 10 for accomodation,welcome,food, friendliness and helpfulness. See you all soon Best wishes Tara and Ian.

Room Tip: just ask for what you want/require
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you Tara and Ian. It was very kind of you to give us such a good review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope it won't be long before you are back here again.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the Alumhurst. Again to watch a family member at the Winter Gardens. The hotel is a short walk from this and the main shopping/arcade area.

The rooms were clean, breakfast was great and the staff are all friendly and helpful. And has a nice basement bar

My partners mother fell ill on our first morning, Pat, the owner, drove us to the walk in doctors, this really helped and reduced stress!

If we ever come back to Blackpool we will stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxfordmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you Mark, for your excellent review. Delighted to hear mum is so much better now and glad I could help. See you again sometime.
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
44 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#54 of 73 in Blackpool
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
401 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alumhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alumhurst Hotel

Address: 13-15 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $72 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alumhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, family run, town centre, award winning hotel close to Blackpool Tower, Promenade and beach, Winter Gardens, theatres and new shopping centre. Our chef prepares good nutritious breakfasts and evening meals from as much fresh and local produce as possible. The hotel is kept beautifully clean throughout. Our licensed bar stocks a large variety of drinks and there is a pool table, dart board and quiz machine. Come and join the large number of guests who return annually. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Alumhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing