We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alumhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alumhurst Hotel
Ranked #45 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Motherwell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Alumhurst. I have to say it was great Pat and Steve made us feel like part of the family. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking forward to a nice relaxing break. The bedrooms are spotless as was the bedding. The breakfasts were filling and there was a good choice. We are now looking forward to next year and our third visit. So if you are looking for good value try the Alumhurst Hotel Blackpool. you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Andrew and Craig, it was super to see you both again and thank you for your excellent review.
You know we'll be keeping in touch now and hopefully we'll all meet again next year.
Love
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    17
    12
    4
See reviews for
55
60
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we got to the Alumhurst we received a friendly welcome even though we had landed early.. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The bar downstairs is very inviting and the drinks were great value, which was a good job really because my other half was fast asleep in the comfy bed in our room all night. Breakfast was great and plenty of everything you could ask for; will definitely being staying again and would definitely recommend ... Might ask for an uncomfortable bed for other half though

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanksss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to accommodating you again sometime.
Thanks again
Pat and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

So glad that I picked this hotel out of the 1708 hotels and B&B's in Blackpool.
The minute you arrive you feel that you are home. Pat and Steve are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Meals catered to an individuals need, such as diabetes or vegetarian. Rooms are bright, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts, eggs cooked just the way you want. Unlike the bigger hotels such as the Grand Metropole where you are treated as a number, at the Alumhurst you are treated as a guest in their house. A very enjoyable stay and no hesitation in staying there again. In fact the only place to stay in Blackpool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you Carole. Glad you all enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you all here. Never had to cope with so many diabetics in one week before Thank you for all your help also. Look forward to seeing you again during the 'Lights' if you can make it.
Regards
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my sister, was given a smoking room it was ok but when we came to get ready for our night out i came to turn the shower on and there was no hot water at all. I went down to rec and informed the owner he said that the boiler ? had broken and he had just turned on the 2nd one on, and to run the tap so the hot water would come through quicker, I did that and still NO hot water so we had to have cold showers and also the heater in the room had gone off. "very cold" So was disapointed really the breakfast was ok. The hotel is in a great postion for town cnt and it was brill to be able to park outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Anne,
Thank you for your review and it goes without saying how sorry we were that you had a problem with hot water. This has rarely happened beforeand as you realised it was something we couldn't corret in time for you to shower that evening. As you found the water was boiing the following morning after we had put on additional heating and given it time to warm up. Our hotel electrician has been and corrected a broken wire and all is well now.
If you would like to come and stay again, free of charge, please ring us and we'll sort out a date for you.
Regards
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first (but not last) stay and it was fabulous !! Pat was so very helpful She loaned me her mobility scooter so my husband andmyself could pop out for a walk around. I have stayed in quite a few places but have never felt as at home as this. Although we came to Blackpool as it was a necessity for my husband, we will return BUT only to The Alumhurst. A huge huge thank-you to Pat and Steve and all the other staff. I can only give you 10 out of 10 for accomodation,welcome,food, friendliness and helpfulness. See you all soon Best wishes Tara and Ian.

Room Tip: just ask for what you want/require
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you Tara and Ian. It was very kind of you to give us such a good review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope it won't be long before you are back here again.
Regards
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the Alumhurst. Again to watch a family member at the Winter Gardens. The hotel is a short walk from this and the main shopping/arcade area.

The rooms were clean, breakfast was great and the staff are all friendly and helpful. And has a nice basement bar

My partners mother fell ill on our first morning, Pat, the owner, drove us to the walk in doctors, this really helped and reduced stress!

If we ever come back to Blackpool we will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you Mark, for your excellent review. Delighted to hear mum is so much better now and glad I could help. See you again sometime.
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I first stayed in the Alumhurst hotel back in 2008 by luck as it was last minute thing. I was not disappointed, Pat and Steve were very friendly the rooms were clean. The location was spot on, as everything was within walking distance. I've been back to this hotel about 3/4 times with different people and they all say the same its very friendly, clean and generally nice hotel. For the past 2 years there has been my friend , and her little girl, me and my little boy staying in this hotel and they couldn't of been more helpful. Pat always makes up feel very welcome and nothing is to much trouble.I'll be back this year to.

stacey

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you Stacy, it's always nice to see our regular visitors return, year after year, and your little fellow is so cute it's pleasure to have him here.
See you again this season.
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#43 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#56 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alumhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alumhurst Hotel

Property: Alumhurst Hotel
Address: 13-15 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alumhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, family run, town centre, award winning hotel close to Blackpool Tower, Promenade and beach, Winter Gardens, theatres and new shopping centre. Our chef prepares good nutritious breakfasts and evening meals from as much fresh and local produce as possible. The hotel is kept beautifully clean throughout. Our licensed bar stocks a large variety of drinks and there is a pool table, dart board and quiz machine. Come and join the large number of guests who return annually. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Alumhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing