We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad day or going downhill”

ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Toast Cafe Bar and Grill Restaurant Blackpool with a Food Hygiene Rating of 5 out of 5, is a casual dining cafe and restaurant, offering freshly cooked food sourced locally. At Toast Cafe Bar & Grill we are dedicated to delivering beautifully presented food, created fresh to order from high-quality ingredients and locally sourced fresh produce, in comfortable, design-led city style surroundings that is why we have now achieved the prestigious Taste Lancashire HIGHEST Quality Assured award. Toast Cafe Bar and Grill Restaurant in the heat of Blackpool is perfect for relaxing, drinking and dining with friends, families or colleagues all day and evening.We are open from 9am till late* Monday to Saturday and 10am till late on Sundays*. Toast Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant is situated on Corporation Street just down from the Grand Theatre, Blackpool Tower and the Winter Gardens away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre nightlife but close enough if you're off to the bars and clubs after. We offer an array of classic drinks from the bar including draught beers such as San Miguel, cider and Extra Cold Guinness, bottled beers and spirits with an exclusive selection of wines and champagnes are available. If you wish to dine after 9pm we recommend booking in advance.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hmmmmm.....I am hoping we just visited on a bad day as it just wasn't how it used to be. The atmosphere seemed changed. The staff were efficient and the food was good but we didn't feel the experience was what it has been on other visits. I visit Blackpool on a regular basis and have always looked forward to my Toast visit. Get it back to how it was please!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tamariaandcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,203 - 1,207 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

clean and good service. What more could you ask for,

Thank Cas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Booked in at Toast on line after viewing the menu. The staff were friendly and attentive, but didn't rush us even though they were busy. The menu was extensive and varied and we enjoyed what we ordered. The drinks were reasonably priced and the house wine good. If we lived in Blackpool we would be regulars, as the weekly offers would make a visit even better value for money. Will definitely visit again when next in Blackpool.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VicarNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

myself and daughter went on a Saturday night. not too busy, even though we could not book earlier ( think it was because we had a living social voucher). we could pick from either pasta, pizza or burgers. we both opted for pasta, i had the mussels and tiger prawn and i must say it was absolutely delicious and i couldn't fault it. daughter had peri peri chicken and it was ok. portions were fine to me but wouldn't be for anyone with a normal appetite. one thing i did wonder why only penne pasta??? would have preferred a choice of different types. it was good value for us, and they do seem to do offers, certain times and days, but i wouldn't like to pay the full price for what we have. i would go again but only if i had got an offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackpoolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thank you for your custom. Offers never attract the normal menu pricing policy so they will appear expensive when comparing full price against less than half price offers. we are sorry that you were disappointed. i am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your message to me 'but mine was gorgeous. ps you can copy what i have just said xx bev' certainly is what we like to hear.
Do try one of our midweek offers but they will be finished soon so hurry! we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

TOAST is great....BUT why do they have to ruin it by sending out at least one dish each time that is not as described on the menu. Once it was a pasta dish and another time a fish dish and then an 'ice cream sundae' which was just 3 scoops of ice cream when it arrived. Granted they always take food back and respond if you say something, the staff are great, the management just needs to sort out the chef's 'creativity' with the dishes and make sure they are served as described and not cobbled together. If they have run out of ingredients they should say but I dont think this has been the case in my experience, just seems to be laziness?
This repeat experience has put me off going which is a shame as it has the potential to be really great.
Only other downside is the cost of a mug of tea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ROOMVITHAVIEW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear Customer, many thanks for your comments we take all our customers comments very seriously. firstly may i thank you for your custom. We are open in excess of 90 hours a week and have several chefs to cover the busy periods as well as the long opening hours. We have a very strict training policy for our Chefs who respond very well to this.
We do try to get every dish exactly the same but as all the food is cooked fresh to order and every Chef prepares a dish differently there may be occasions when we make a mistake. there may be occasions when we have run out of fresh produce and have to substitute one item for another but we do always advise our customers first. Many chain restaurants do not have this problem as they buy in pre made and portioned food which is simply rejuvenated in the venue kitchen, Toast is about good quality food served by quality servers and whilst there may be the odd inconsistency we do hope that the product we supply is far superior to that offered by others. we do try to please every one and with three times the number of dishes on our menus than most other restaurants we offer a far more varied menu and as you stated we did deal with your issue accordingly.
We do hope that you can overlook this human error and we guarantee our best attention at all times. With around 200 great reviews not many other businesses in the area can boast such. Once again thank you for your valued custom we do hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing