We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTED WITH THE BOOKING”

ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Toast Cafe Bar and Grill Restaurant Blackpool with a Food Hygiene Rating of 5 out of 5, is a casual dining cafe and restaurant, offering freshly cooked food sourced locally. At Toast Cafe Bar & Grill we are dedicated to delivering beautifully presented food, created fresh to order from high-quality ingredients and locally sourced fresh produce, in comfortable, design-led city style surroundings that is why we have now achieved the prestigious Taste Lancashire HIGHEST Quality Assured award. Toast Cafe Bar and Grill Restaurant in the heat of Blackpool is perfect for relaxing, drinking and dining with friends, families or colleagues all day and evening.We are open from 9am till late* Monday to Saturday and 10am till late on Sundays*. Toast Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant is situated on Corporation Street just down from the Grand Theatre, Blackpool Tower and the Winter Gardens away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre nightlife but close enough if you're off to the bars and clubs after. We offer an array of classic drinks from the bar including draught beers such as San Miguel, cider and Extra Cold Guinness, bottled beers and spirits with an exclusive selection of wines and champagnes are available. If you wish to dine after 9pm we recommend booking in advance.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DISGUSTED WITH THE BOOKING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Booked my party of three Friday night thought it would be good for my daughter over from London .While On the phone booking thy asked me lot of questions which table i wanted what time put me down to us my taste card just saw the drop down button .not sure how it works she said I could use it booked my table up stairs when we got there thy did not seem to have my tails down put us in the window this has happened to me before at toast never seem to have your booking details.did tell them my taste card came back and said could not use it on a Friday why was i told I could
also there are fly in the window on the left side which is not very nice
MY REF BY PHONE NUMBER18411

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Ann

Many thanks for your comments.

Firstly, may I apologise for the confusion with the Taste card but unfortunately the rules of the card are governed by Taste Card and each restaurants limitations are displayed on the Taste Card website. Please refer to their website which clearly states that the card cannot be used on a Friday or Saturday.Taste Card state that you should consult their directory of restaurants that accept the card prior to booking but yes we do accept the card Monday to Thursday evenings.

There are so many discount schemes about at the moment such as Taste Card and more it is very difficult to remember EVERY cards times and conditions as they all vary so much. I can only apologise for the person answering the phone not realising this error but in some instances when we are busy mistakes are made and we do try to limit such. However, we always assume that the person using a discount card has read the terms on the card providers website/handbook.

With reference to the fly, I can assure you that we have sufficient fly killers around the venue but unfortunately, when the door is opened during good weather unfortunately some flies do get in occasionally.

Finally we are glad that you enjoyed the food and service, we hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    285
    119
    122
    143
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We ate here on Thursday night. the place was quite busy but managed to get a table without booking
the interior of the restaurant looks great
the service was very good, drinks and food came quickly
the chicken & ribs dish is great value for money at around £11 (half a chicken on the plate). the steak are more costly but was cooked exactly how i asked
looking around Blackpool it was hard to find decent places to eat, so using tripadvisor was ideal to find this place

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leeandkatie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Lee_h_198

Many thanks for your kind words, We endeavour to provide the best possible food and service. Toast Café Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool has received the Taste Lancashire Quality Assured award and the Culture & Lifestyle Award for Customer Service 2011. To achieve such accolades we are required to purchase produce from local sources. We use Bowland Beef which is more expensive than the usual imported meat that many restaurants use. This is obviously reflected in the price as is the Governments increase in VAT which we support the Hospitality Industries fight to have VAT lowered to 5% inline with other European countries.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be well received by the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shocking Service And A Manager That Doesn't Care About His Customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

myself and some work colleagues booked a table for 15 on arrival they were very unorganised and brought out only half the food that was promised when we booked, this was all put on one of the two tables we had as part of our booking our waitress said more food was to come for our other table , this never happened and by the time we were told that nothing else was coming it had all but been eaten we were then told by the manager that sorry there’s nothing I can do , the person you booked with isn’t here tonight and we were basically fobbed off so half our party only had garlic bread to eat . We were utterly disgusted with the attitude of the manager towards his customers !!!! It’s a shame as what food was brought out looked very good

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RobRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear RobRobs

I am very disappointed to read your negative comments. I have investigated the matter and I am aware that the booking was made by the local Vodafone store. We tried to bend over backwards to help and work with the budget you gave us of £15.00 inc 20% VAT for 3 courses per head including a pint of San Miguel!. Even High Street fast food outlets would struggle with such a small budget and on a Saturday night too. The bill was for 10 persons at £15pp however, you state 15 were in the party. It appears that party numbers were the issue rather than what we had arranged for the Vodafone team.I am sorry for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst Service? - No Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Visited with friends from Blackpool for a drink on a Friday evening at about 9pm. Toast didn't appear to be very busy with most customers sat outside. We were informed that service was 'table service' and that we should find a table and someone would be over to take an order. This all seemed very civilised for Blackpool and I was initially very impressive. It took 10 minutes for the waitress to come across to the table and take the order. After a further 20 minute wait we still hadn't received the order of four drinks and we decided to leave the establishment. We informed the waitress when leaving that we were disappointed with the service and that we were leaving but she didn't seem to care. In fairness to the waitress she appeared to be the only member of staff serving customers and could probably of done with some help.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Suddons

Thank you for visiting Toast Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool. On the night in question we were extremely busy, full to capacity inside and we had guests outside too. Licencing laws in Blackpool only permit us to serve drinks at the table not the bar. As we are predominately a Restaurant and are serving food we have to prioritise serving hot food to our diners. We respect and value you choosing us as a stop off for a drink and apologise for the excessive wait you may have had. It is very difficult for us to suitably staff a restaurant if not all patrons book in advance and we apologise for not getting it right on this occasion. i can assure you that we aim to give 100% in customer service at all times and have gained accolades such as the Taste Lancashire and the Culture & Lifestyle award 2011 for customer service and we wre recently finalist in the Lancashire & Blackpool Tourism awards where we were scored 100% for customer service, please visit the news section of our website to see the mystery diners report. We do hope you will try us in the future and please book in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“our wedding day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

we went to Toast for a meal after our wedding with some family who came up from the west midlands.
we was very pleased with the service and everyone loved their food.
well done to mike and the staff
highly recomended

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjp2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing