We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Applethwaite Hotel

Applethwaite Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applethwaite Hotel
Ranked #769 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very basic hotel that needs a good clean wouldn't stay again the bar wasent stocked enough they went shopping to stock up when we asked for things although the man was polite. I'm not a fussy person but was shocked at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugaboo121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was what you expect for the price + a bit more, staff were friendly + welcoming, great to chat too! Had a small bar/pool table + darts which were good to use, breakfast was nice and would stay again. Its good for Blackpool

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Myself, my wife and five year old daughter decided, on impulse, to go and see the illuminations so, at the last minute, we booked a family room through LateRooms.com. As a result, we were fearing the worst but, we were pleasantly surprised by the Applethwaite. It's over 20 years since we'd been to Blackpool and, unfortunately, not much had changed, including the majority of people who tend to go there. However, the owner was lovely, friendly without being overly familiar and he made us very welcome. We were in Room 12, which was small and basic but comfortable and perfectly adequate for a one night stay. To be fair, the hotel decor is a touch 80's and looking somewhat tired but, the important thing, is that the room, bathroom, towels and bedding were spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. The location is perfect, one street back from the promenade and close to the central pier, tower and city centre. Consequently, you can forget finding an on-street parking place but, there is a large pay and display car park 30 seconds away, which cost £10 for 24 hours. The full English breakfast was very good and cooked fresh to order, with as much cereals, toast and tea/coffee as you could wish for. All in all, despite our prior trepidation, we really enjoyed our short stay at the Applethwaite, it was excellent value for money and we would have no hesitation in going back. One other tip, which has nothing to do with the hotel. If you have young children, take them to the Tower Ballroom in the evening. It’s open from 7pm to 11pm, entrance is free, there is a DJ, children’s entertainment, live musicians and drinks are not expensive. It's an awesome place and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnie373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just come back from the Applethwaite hotel. Have already reccomended it to a friend who is wanting a hotle next week. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the owner made us very welcome, great location, just off the front central location. Large carpark just round the corner (pay and display) although there is on street parking, subject to spaces. The breakfast was very good and well cooked nothing seemed to much trouble, will not be our last visit to The Applethwaite. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeinBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

was looking for a cheap,but not tacky hotel. this was great,ticked all the right boxes. rooms were clean with en-suite and quite roomy,location perfect,one street away from promonarde and a 5mins walk to tower. ,breakfast was brill....full english,toast,tea/coffee. if your looking for cheap digs and a good breakfast, look no further.

Room Tip: rooms 12/14 top floor,away from any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whodeani18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Yet again having stayed here before had a great welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Although the rooms were not enormous they were clean and comfortable. Had a great breakfast which started the day off well. The only thing that put us off were the roadworks and closure of the road on the prom. New Year was great and we had a great two day break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantherCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Booked this poor excuse of a B&B through late rooms. What a mistake!
Just a quick review for anyone who is thinking of staying here, DONT!
Unfriendly staff who stand in corners bad mouthing customers.
Drity rooms that had not had bad linen changed from last guest staying there and also smelly towels full of other peoples hair. Also windows that didnt close so very cold as it was october and the room wasnt big enough to swing a cat in.
Food was very poor and served by unfriendly staff who more or less throw the plate at you.
Overall a very unhappy stay here.
When asked by management how the stay was, advised of the issues we had come across.
What a waste of time as they could not have ceared less.
We would have been better off sleeping in the car!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiesouthyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Oakwell Hotel
Oakwell Hotel
#475 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#335 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#232 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applethwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applethwaite Hotel

Property: Applethwaite Hotel
Address: 12/14 Tyldesley Road, Blackpool FY1 5DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #769 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing