We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, modern, comfortable and friendly. A great stay in Blackpool - just some minor criticisms...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trafford Hotel
Ranked #19 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, comfortable and friendly. A great stay in Blackpool - just some minor criticisms...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Location
Situated 5 mins walk from the promenade and 5 mins from the town centre. The road is almost entirely simular 3* hotels - have to say this hotel looked one of the smartest from the outside.

Room
We stayed on the top floor of the hotel and occupied two of the three rooms there. Both rooms were perfectly clean and cosy and were ideal for two single travellers. One room had three beds and the other was a double room. On the way down to breakfast in the morning the door to other rooms were open and I could see that they were all up to the same high standard, modern and very clean. Most importantly, the hotel was very quiet at night even though I think the hotel was fully booked so we got great nights sleep. No noise from the street and we had our windows open at night.

A couple of small criticisms here - the shower was clean and powerful BUT there was nowhere to put your soap or shampoo or shaver! Please install shelves to your showers guys!
Also, the TVs were great BUT the flatscreen TV on the wall in room 21 could be lowered a bit as it was a little too high when viewing it from the comfort of the bed. No problem with the location of the TV in room 20.

Breakfast
Served quickly and was nice. It was a typical english breakfast accompanied with toast. Served between 8:30 and 9:30. There was a choice of packaged cereals as well as fruit salad which you could help yourself to.
Another minor criticism - which I think someone else said on this website - I remember there was an ironing board in the dining room which I noticed during breakfast which we thought strange and could easily be put somewhere else for the benefit of the guests.

Hotel
Hotel was a typical B&B with a small lounge / bar walking through to a small dining area
for breakfast. Overall the hotel is clean and comfortable. I think the hall and staircase area could do with a re-decoration, and definetly a re-paint. First impressions were not the best and they can be important to guests so as (another!) constructive criticism I would suggest they pay more attention to that area of the hotel. A little work would go a long way. Having said that, I only really care that my room looks good and is tidy and clean and it was always immaculate.

Overall
Great stay - clean, modern, quiet, comfortable and friendly. This is a very good 3* hotel which I highly recommend to anyone staying in Blackpool. Not surprised that it is ranked so high on tripadvisor. I would definetly stay here again. Sorry for all the criticism - it was all done in good spirit and was intended as constructive feedback.

Room Tip: The top rooms were quiet for us. Room 20 was larger than room 21. Room 20 had a skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeyWest77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    106
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
474
185
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

From when i booked the phone call to arriving we were made very welcome. 29 of us stayed at the hotel aging from 5 to 52 as we had a street dance competition. The rooms were clean,modern and everything you needed from a twin room to a room for 6. The breakfast was done quickly and they adjusted the time for us as we had an early start. The bar area was comfortable and both Robbie and John welcomed our other families from the other hotel in so we had an evening all together. Nothing was to much trouble even sorting the parking for our mini buses. Both Robbie and John were amazing hosts and we have stayed at other hotels for the past four years and this was the best and already booked for next year.. It was also just a 5 minute walk to winter gardens and the town.10/10 would give more if i could. Outstanding and Thankyou again from Caradon Street Dance

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaradonStreetDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

John & Robbie were amazing. Friendly, fun and very family friendly. Cozy rooms, great cooked breakfast :) and loads of fun in the evening with the kids being able to play wii dance and included. I would totally recommend staying at The Trafford with these guys and we are already planning to stay again next year.

Thank you guys for a wonderful stay xxxxx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hotel was very clean went with husband and 2 kids + there nan.Robbie & John were brll nothing was 2 much trouble 4 them.Will definatly go back.

Room Tip: Excellent place 2 go with kids.just 5 mins from prom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Went with husband and the 2 kids, rooms were very cosy and spotless. Breakfast was great and everyone at hotel was very frienldy and welcoming. Central to anywhere you want to go in blackpool and we would definently come back and stay ........thanks, the mcdonalds...x

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have just had a recent mid week break at the Trafford and let me start by saying that Robbie & John are by far the bets "host's with the most", They quite simply cannot do enough for you.
When it gets to that time of night & you could happily have a few glasses of wine with your wife you always have the children to think about, But Praise the lord John Bursts out of the woodwork like some kind of child super hero & give the kids the Wii which kept them amused for a good couple of hours.
The hotel is spotless & with a fantastic central location as well as Robbie being a one man tourist information officer, He advised that the shows at the grand were particularly good & they were.
To sum up, If you want to stay in a sterile soulless "Named Hotel" then the Trafford's not for you, But If you want to stay in a Friendly Clean all round great place to stay The traffords your puppy!!!
Thanks once again Chaps!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hotel is very clean and very welcoming. Our daughter fell in love with the owners and she had a fab time staying here
It is really close to the promenade and all the shops. The rooms are very clean and comfy. Breakfast was excellent. John and Robbie were always around if you had any problems. Excellent service, loved it :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris-Caroline-Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edenfield Guest House
The Edenfield Guest House
#70 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafford Hotel

Property: The Trafford Hotel
Address: 40-42 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Trafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing