We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place”
Review of The Dutchman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dutchman Hotel
Ranked #67 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for one night in august and it was a pleasant stay the room we had was very clean and the bed was very comfy. The only reason I did not give it the extra star was because the shower and sink basin water was very cold all the time. It would not be any good for a long weekend or a week or so with cold water. Staff I could not fault them, They did there jobs with a great smile on there faces and very pleasant people.This hotel does have live entertainment in the basement and a internet cafe with a bar which is always a plus. The food was very nice. Would I stay here again the answer is yes.but this hotel is not disabled friendly so for disabled people it's a no go because of steep stairs you would need to walk up or down and the doors not being wide enough also there are no lifts. I hope my review helps.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 358 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

we found the hotel rooms small and the shower not big enough for the larger person.
but the breakfast made up for that , the staff and the entertainment were very good
bistro food menu limited, plus running out of a few items one the whole it was ok,but dont think we will be going back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, ideal for couples and families as no stag and hen parties admitted, the bar in the basement does happy hour 19.30 hrs to 21.30 hrs most drinks £2 a pint, live entertainment was very good too, food was very nice you can order wine and dine for two people (2 starters 2 mains and a bottle of wine for £18) excellent value, the staff are very friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble will definitely stay again

Room Tip: seaview rooms a bit noisy with traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 152martinyeeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for weekend great hotel, great bar prices great entertainment well worth the money will be staying again. This is a lovely family hotel, buffet breakfast was fantastic. Parking her is very tight but got parked no bother. Met some lovely people. I took my disabled daughter who needed a scooter and they were very helpful allowing me to keep it in the hotel and charge it up in there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milli1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we had six days at the the Dutchman. the food was good and the breakfast was great. the whole place was very clean.our room was much smaller that we expected from photos on the internet.
I have not been to Blackpool before, there were very few leaflets in the hotel to tell what there was to do, or where things were. A free map of Blackpool would have been useful as was available at the tourist information centre which I found on the third day.
the staff were very young and did not have the answer to all my questions. it would be nice if there was a notice up to say who was actually in charge as this was not made clear to me.
I will not stay here again as I prefer a hotel with a receptionist.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only had a meal at The Dutchman, which was actually quite tasty. We found it hard to get a decent meal in Blackpool, but the lasagna and chilli we had were nice. Not sure if some ingredients were fresh, like the mushrooms in the lasagna. The waitresses were friendly as well. Should have gone back the next day, but we decided on a Chinese, which was awful... (review coming up!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Dutchman for a week in October. The whole ambience of the place is just so inviting and instantly makes the clients feel at home and relaxed. The owner couldn't be more helpful and supportive to each guests' needs. She helped me financially and nothing was any trouble for her helping the clients staying at the hotel in any way she could.
Theres a wonderful relaxing atmosphere in the hotel and it is meticulously clean. There are many things to do for each member of the family. In the basement area there are computers to use free of charge, an xbox to use, comfortable seating in each area of the hotel and well thought out cosy lighting to add to the atmosphere. The basement also holds a games room with a pool table, table football and arcade machines and there is nightly entertainment on there with a variety of singers on most nights of the year. The basement even has leather sofas to relax on and has a music system which plays before the nights' singer starts his or her performance. Theres even a happy hour in the bar of an evening with a variety of well stocked bargain drinks.
Theres free use of buckets and spades and the toilets are meticulously clean and have been designed in a plush manner.
The restaurant area is also very professional and has a large varied menu with value for money prices. The staff are very friendly, professional and polite and never look stressed or bored of their jobs.
Both the restaurant and a number of family sized rooms have a lovely seaview which adds to the atmosphere of the hotel.
Each of the factors described produces a hotel that is the best value for money hotel on the seafront and in my opinion the price is an absolute bargain for what is provided and the service obtained. Unbeatable value, service, friendliness and class from a hotel that is the most excellent seafront hotel in Blackpool!
Thankyou to the hotel staff for making this a special hotel. The whole ambience, atmosphere and facilities at this hotel make it simply the best seafront hotel! Period!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berney_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#25 of 864 in Blackpool
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dutchman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dutchman Hotel

Address: 267-269 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $53 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dutchman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dutchman Hotel is located on Blackpool Promenade, over looking the seafront in between The South and Central Pier close to The Tower, Pleasure Beach and all of Blackpool's many Attractions. We offer Bed & Breakfast with Evening Meals optional served in our popular Promenade Bistro, also Live Entertainment most nights in The Basement Lounge, All Rooms are En-Suite with Flat Screen TV's , tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons available on request. We are popular with Families and Couples and offer a variety of Budget , Standard and Sea-View Rooms. Some Great Deals Available Weekends and Midweek book online now or contact us for our best deals available, probably the best for value, quality and service for Hotels in Blackpool for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Dutchman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing