We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Jays Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jays Mayfair
Ranked #87 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, family of four. We booked a family room, which was the most comfortable I've stayed in Blackpool. The double room was very spacious and included a 32in widescreen TV. The kids had a separate room through a interconnecting door with bunk beds, their own TV, Playstation and games, which also allowed them to watch DVD's they bought in town in the evening.

The breakfast's were excellent. With a large fry up each morning, various cereals to choose from and plenty of tea and toast always available. Jay would do a magic trick each morning at breakfast which the kids loved.

Jay's Mayfair is situated about a 10 minute walk from the North Pier. There is a large secured car park a few minutes away where you can leave your car during your entire stay, it costs £9 for 72 hours, which is great value. If you go to the Gazette, the newsagents across the road, you can get a family day saver ticket for £9 which allows you unlimited access onto the all trams and buses.

If your looking for a comfortable place to stay with friendly hosts and close enough to the main attractions then I would recommend Jay's Mayfair.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibbypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

just returned from a excellent weekend in blackpool at jays mayfair b&b,the breakfast is one of the best ive had,rooms very clean spotless,we had the family room it was excellent to have two singles in a adjoining room,the welcome you get from jay and laura as soon as you get there is excellent ,they make you feel so welcome ,our son loved the magic tricks from jay,it was nice to get back from a evening out and have a drink and a chat jay laura great hosts,when we returned i was unpacking the car and my son asked when we could go back he is already looking at puzzles on ebay,,we shall be looking at booking up for 2013,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After spending four hours looking at shocking floral bed sheeted hotels and the ones aimed for hen/stag dos we finally found this gem. As a young couple we wanted a relaxing beautiful romantic getaway and it became more than we could of imagined and asked for. The bedroom itself was beautiful. Lovely wallpaper and statues/clock/floral arrangement- made it very boutique and romantic. The bed sheets were so comfy the duvet and pillows and the hand towel had the added touch of the hotel name in gold. The bathroom was all you could of wanted and their was plenty of storage space. The couple made the place so homely, welcome us from the beginning and accommodated us on our stay. At breakfast they hosted with chatter and magic tricks for the children. The breakfast was amazing, plenty of cereals, juice, and toast. Then a full cooked English with the choice of eggs, I had poached. In in all I feel lucky to have stumbled across this B and B, and I would highly recommend it. The only place you should stay in Blackpool if you are a couple or family. Great price and great location. 5 stars it deserves.

Room Tip: 5 rooms each with love and care you will not be disappointed in the one you receive. They are all ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifuldisaster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

hi just got back from a 1 night stay at jays ,the family room we stayed in was very clean and modern and was so comfortable.The kids loved the bunks and there own television plus playstation.The breakfasts were excellent and by the time we left we felt like we had known laura and jay for years .they were so friendly and created such a good feeling so would like to thank them for their amazing hospatality.After visiting blackpool previously we were a little put off with guest houses we had stayed in to outdated and not able to give that personal touch.So dont trawl through the other guest houses go to jays you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Mayfair-Hotel, Owner at Jays Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have manage to change your general opinion of what guest house's offer in the blackpool area, we look forward to looking after you if you should ever venture into blackpool again. Once again thank-you for your lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Top B&B in Blackpool, top food,very clean rooms and fantastic hosts, what more could you want? We will be back again in 2013.Many thanks to Jay,Laura and the children for such an excellent 4 days away and the excellent breakfast which never fails to impress.

Room Tip: Rooms with playstation 2, helps keep the children occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Mayfair-Hotel, Owner at Jays Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again.
Its great to know that we can still give you the break that you are looking for
Also wonder if you could give us a quick email as i have something of yours
regards

Jays Mayfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Best B&B in Blackpool - and I've stayed in many!
In the perfect location for the tower, shops and bars. We stayed in the family suite, Double room with a bathroom, with an interconnecting door into a room with two single beds, and a room with a toilet and sink. This is absolutely perfect if travelling with children. (& they loved the Playstation!) Very clean, comfortable and modern rooms.
Beautiful breakfast, and I really like that you choose what you want the day before. Great idea if you have fussy kids.
Last but certainly not least, lovely friendly staff. It's great to know that on my next visit to Blackpool, I won't have to search around for hours for somewhere to stay - I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Found jays after a nightmare of a time with a booking in another B&B
They were our heroes the hotel was immaculate! Rooms were spotless and so well decorated and comfy
Food was delicious and the whole experience was friendly and welcoming!
An amazing place

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellybaby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#152 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jays Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jays Mayfair

Address: 79 Dickson Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $59 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jays Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run guest house with homely comforts friendly atmosphere and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jays Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing