We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant guest house”
Review of Jays Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jays Mayfair
Ranked #87 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

hi just got back from a 1 night stay at jays ,the family room we stayed in was very clean and modern and was so comfortable.The kids loved the bunks and there own television plus playstation.The breakfasts were excellent and by the time we left we felt like we had known laura and jay for years .they were so friendly and created such a good feeling so would like to thank them for their amazing hospatality.After visiting blackpool previously we were a little put off with guest houses we had stayed in to outdated and not able to give that personal touch.So dont trawl through the other guest houses go to jays you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Mayfair-Hotel, Owner at Jays Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have manage to change your general opinion of what guest house's offer in the blackpool area, we look forward to looking after you if you should ever venture into blackpool again. Once again thank-you for your lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Top B&B in Blackpool, top food,very clean rooms and fantastic hosts, what more could you want? We will be back again in 2013.Many thanks to Jay,Laura and the children for such an excellent 4 days away and the excellent breakfast which never fails to impress.

Room Tip: Rooms with playstation 2, helps keep the children occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Mayfair-Hotel, Owner at Jays Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again.
Its great to know that we can still give you the break that you are looking for
Also wonder if you could give us a quick email as i have something of yours
regards

Jays Mayfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Best B&B in Blackpool - and I've stayed in many!
In the perfect location for the tower, shops and bars. We stayed in the family suite, Double room with a bathroom, with an interconnecting door into a room with two single beds, and a room with a toilet and sink. This is absolutely perfect if travelling with children. (& they loved the Playstation!) Very clean, comfortable and modern rooms.
Beautiful breakfast, and I really like that you choose what you want the day before. Great idea if you have fussy kids.
Last but certainly not least, lovely friendly staff. It's great to know that on my next visit to Blackpool, I won't have to search around for hours for somewhere to stay - I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Found jays after a nightmare of a time with a booking in another B&B
They were our heroes the hotel was immaculate! Rooms were spotless and so well decorated and comfy
Food was delicious and the whole experience was friendly and welcoming!
An amazing place

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellybaby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first trip to Blackpool for a very long time and we can say without doubt that we were made very welcome at Jays Mayfair.
Jay Laura and there daughter were very friendly and helpful.
The service and cleanliness were second to none and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Yet another wonderful stay at Jays Mayfair. Jay and Laura could not be more accomodating - the rooms are lovely and clean and nicely decorated ,and they are great with the kids. See you in November xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfishcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Mayfair-Hotel, Owner at Jays Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

It was lovely to look after you all again we really enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you all again in november for the comp keep up the good work girls xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

It was our first family trip to Blackpool and I am so glad we stayed in Jays Mayfair as it really enhanced our trip. Having read the previous good reviews about the Mayfair, our expectations were high but still the experience exceeded what we expected.
My husband and I stayed for two nights in family interconnecting rooms, along with our two children aged 5 and 7.The kids room was perfect as it had twin beds, a bathroom with a toilet and sink, as well as a tv and playstation to keep the kids entertained. Having interconnecting rooms was also ideal for allowing our youngest to get to sleep in peace while the rest of us watched tv next door without disturbing him. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.The main bedroom had a comfortable bed, plenty of tea, coffee and milk sachets which were replaced after our first night and plenty of fresh towels which were also changed each day.
Jay, Laura and their daughter Trisha were very friendly, without being intrusive. Jay cooked breakfast to perfection both mornings. My 5 year old was asked if he would like his sausages cut up for him and if he wanted his toast with crusts on or off, as well as being handed extra sachets of ketchup on the second morning of our stay as Jay remembered he liked ketchup from the first morning! So children were certainly treated well! Jay provided magic tricks each morning once he had cooked breakfast and was very well able to encourage my shy 7 year old to relax and have fun, even providing the material for her to do the tricks at home herself after showing her how to do the tricks and practising them with her.
I had been a little concerned about parking as I knew there was no parking on site but as it was a Sunday when we arrived we were able to park on the street right outside the hotel for the day and first thing the following morning when my husband asked Jay where was the best place to move the car to as there was a time restriction of one hour outside the hotel during the week, he organised for us to swop car positions with another guest who was about to leave so we parked in a side street right beside the hotel for the second day of our trip, hence it was not a problem at all.
It's a real treat to stay at the Mayfair as you are treated like family coming to stay rather than paying guests and I would highly recommend without hesitation to everyone for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Family interconnecting rooms are available with either bunk beds or twin beds so a choice is availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADYKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Mayfair-Hotel, Owner at Jays Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review it was our pleasure to look after you all during your stay with us.We are really pleased that the children enjoyed their stay with us and that you were able to relax because of it. and thet most importantly we lived up to your expectations
If every in the area again it would be our absolute pleasure to look after you all again
regards all at Jays Mayfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#152 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jays Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jays Mayfair

Address: 79 Dickson Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $59 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jays Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run guest house with homely comforts friendly atmosphere and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jays Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing