We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing grey about GRAYS!”
Review of The Grays Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grays Hotel
Ranked #405 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing grey about GRAYS!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just enjoyed a 'girlie' weekend at the Grays hotel in BLACKPOOL. We are two 60 somethings so we didn't necessarily want one of the places that caters for the Stag & Hen crowd at weekends, though we did want somewhere convenient for the town centre attractions and Grays seemed to fit the bill after reading several reviews.
The welcome was warm and friendly and we were shown to our 1st floor room immediately. We had booked a twin with en-suite and whilst quite bijou it had everything we could possibly need for our 2 night stay. The two single beds were very comfortable with clean white sheets and duvet covers. A couple of torquoise cushions and throw added a splash colour to the modern decor. It had one bedside chest of drawers with lamp and one cupboard with hanging rail. This also housed an ironing board & iron. There was another chest of drawers upon which was the tea&coffee making paraphernalia and a small digital TV. (We never did find the remote control but managed to figure out the buttons on the set - quite took me back a bit having to get up to switch the TV over! There was a hand basin in the room and the en-suite consisted of toilet and shower cubicle. Perfectly adequate for our needs.
The breakfast was 08.30 to 09.30. We would have preferred a later finish as I do like a lie in at weekends, but we made it on time and it was definitely worth getting up for. Plenty of juice and continental goodies on offer as well as a good menu of cooked food; all included in with the room rate.
On the ground floor there is a decent sized sitting room/TV lounge as well as a separate bar area.
The location is perfect for both seafront and/or the town centre theatres and shops etc.being only a few hundred yards walk in either direction. What more could you want??

Room Tip: There is no lift and rooms are over 3 floors so you may have to ask if you need assistance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicemaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays62, Owner at The Grays Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Glad you e njoyed your girlie weekend, even at the young age of 60 we are still girls: me included. The remote was in the bedside chest of draws. So glad you enjoyed the breakfast we dont mind if you come in the dinningroom after 9.30 there is no rush. We hope to see you :Girlies again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    17
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I travelled with my son aged 13 and grandson aged 14 and was booked into Room 1 a very large room suitable for 4 persons - though the 2 single beds were alittle springy we had a wonderful 2 night stay - I booked this hotel "The Grays" due to the good reviews on this site and was not disappointed at all - the room was spacious and lovely and clean - the breakfast was far better than my own and the welcome was hospitable and not too intruding - I will definitely be booking to come back again and it is a shame they don't open between Xmas but Jill and Gray do need their hols too - thank you both for helping us have such a good time in Blackpool - take care both of you :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pod15011957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays62, Owner at The Grays Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for you review so pleased, you all enjoyed you two night stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we found the Grays to be a very good hotel (much better than the one we stayed in last year)it was very clean and the hosts very welcoming also the breakfast was excellent.
our daughter and her partner and their 2 children stayed in a large 4 bed room my wife and I were in a double with our teenage granddaughter in an adjoining single with an adjoining on suite to ours she was delighted to have her own room.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Blackpool and the kids are already asking if we can return to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My parents have been coming to the hotel for many years, this year my partner and our 11 month old daughter came along.

When booking we stated we would need room for a travel cot, we we're allocated room 11 which was a larger double and it would give us enough room for the travel cot, the room was perfect and very clean.

The food was excellent with great choice, there is also a very large tv room with plenty of seats. Separate bar area that was very well stocked, my partner said it was best pint of carling he's ever had!

Jill and Gray are great hosts, nothing is a problem and they go out of there way to make everyone welcome,

Will be back next year

Other members of the Timson family

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire11581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays62, Owner at The Grays Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, it is always nice to meet no customers and we hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Grays Hotel is a brilliant, family friendly hotel in a great location not too far away from Blackpool town centre, The Blackpool Tower, Sealife Centre, beach etc.

I have visited this hotel on numerous occasions with my family and Gary & Jill are great hosts and so easy to get along with.

The rooms are of good standard and size and are cleaned to a very high standard, with all the facilities you would need. The food is lovely at both breakfast and tea with a wide range of selection to choose from at both meal times.

All this for a very reasonable price, I highly recommend this hotel!

See you soon Gary & Jill,

The Timson family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays62, Owner at The Grays Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It was a pleasure to see you all again and we are glad that once again enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

myself my wife & my inlaws booked two rooms over the phone room 11 & 14 when we arrived we were told that they had given room 11 to someone else, my father inlaw explained that we always book those rooms & that we were told it was ok, Jill then said you cannot book certain rooms so I said that if i had known that room 11 wasnt available I wouldn't have bother coming she then told me & my wife to get out, just go, to which my father inlaw exclaimed what! she said just get them out I dont want them here. So be prepared to be asked to leave when you book here. Rest assured we will not stay there again but 2 doors down the street is the Rocklea which has a much better host in sue & tony.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevetrav58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays62, Owner at The Grays Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
You failed to say that your inlaws actually stayed with us refusing to leave with you and where extemely embarrassed by your attitude. We confirm bookings after a deposit has been payed and are for either a standard or a superior room. No deposit was received and you were offered the superior room as an alternatve on the day. We regret that we had to ask you to leave but your attitude lrft us no choice. We are here to please but not to be abused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Thanks once again to Jill and Garry for their wonderful hospitality,stayed here for one night for the illuminations with our 4 year old Grandson.evrything about the hotel and owners are wonderful,breakfast is out of this world and nothing is too much trouble for them,Thanks again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays62, Owner at The Grays Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Than you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay again and look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#182 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 126 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grays Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grays Hotel

Property: The Grays Hotel
Address: 62 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grays Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grays Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing