We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and helpful owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blackpool Hotel
Ranked #750 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My 2 daughters and I stayed in the Blackpool Hotel recently and would like to thank the owners for making us feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Blackpool.

Room Tip: Top floor, room quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Alison,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you come stay at the hotel if you are back in Blackpool. Looking forward to coming and visiting you when we get the chance in Portugal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    15
    9
    34
See reviews for
38
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had an amazing holiday here, the rooms had everything we needed, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the food is amazing, especially the breakfasts. Most importantly this hotel is situated in a central location. We can't wait to go back here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Great review glad you enjoyed your stay I wish all our guests would have such a wonderful time and apreciate what a great hotel and location it is. Looking forward to you all coming back and staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the 31st of October at the hotel which was in a great location it has to be said.

Stood outside in the rain for around 10 minutes before the door was open to be greeted by the owner. He put us in a run down room at top of hotel. Room clean but very basic. No flat screen as said when booking hotel or free wifi. Had no bedside lamp in room had to get up and down to put lights on. Curtains we're see through and blocked out no light. Very noisey street which you can expect in Blackpool so could live with this.

Worst part about the room was the shower. Which had a trickle of water coming out of it and no hot water. When complained to the owner his attitude was 'what am I supposed to do about it? Only room left at top of building' very very poor service.

The breakfast was terrible and ill upload a picture of what is supposed to be bacon to prove I'm not just rambling on. If they had any pride in their breakfast they wouldn't of served it.

One good point for the stay was that they had a good party on for the children at night.

Would definitely not stay here again with far better options in Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorrainewilkes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Sorry to here your stay with us was not a pleasant one. The discription of our rooms is based on the majority of our rooms being refurbished infact there are only a few rooms left to do.Completion date as stated is feb 2014 and as you were a last minute booking unfortunatly the room you wher given was the only quad room we had left. We would have apreciated something being said if you wre unhappy with your breakfast (bacon) as we could have done something about it staraight away as the majority of our guests ask for well done bacon. We are glad you enjoyed the party/disco we had for the children and the Free gifts they received at the party. I'm sure if you book with us again we will make sure your stay is a much enjoyable one as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Arrived at the Hotel to find scaffolding all around it (thought there would of been something on their website or even informed us) it was advertised that the Hotel had already been refurbished but clearly had not. Good location and good breakfast, rooms average and a bit pricey compared to other hotels of the same standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Colin,

Sorry about the scaffolding it had only been put up the day before you arrived and was 2 weeks late so couldn't inform anyone as we were not sure if it would be up or not weather depending, anyway what was the problem it did not interfere with any guest coming and going or the running of the business and was infact a benifit as they wre painting the front of the building. Bars were open, Restaurant was open and all other facilities within the hotel were fully functional and as it states on the web site the hotel is under refurbishment NOT already refurbished (rooms complet by mid 2014).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Comfy beds, hot showers and an amazing breakfast sets you up for a busy day in Blackpool. Been here good few times now and can't fault a thing. Ask these guys anything and if they don't know then they go find out. They go out their way to help make your stay as best as possible, personally I think they go above and beyond what's needed. Will def be back again.

Room Tip: Stairlift to first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Mckayzer,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed yet another one of your stays, I'm not sure if other guests are staying in the same hotel as you always have a good time and are always happy with your stay.

Looking forward to seeing you again later in the year, if there is anything we can help you with please drop us a line before you arrive and we will be happy to help.

Rod, Adie and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked this hotel mainly due to its location, which credit where credit is due it is located in a convenient place next to Blackpool tower and the main strip.
Unfortunately that is where my praise for this hotel ends.

After realising we would be arriving late due to traffic i rang the hotel just to inform them of my late arrival, I was greeted by a rude response.

When we eventually arrived at the hotel we got to our room which seemed clean enough, but after further inspection the glasses provided in the room (Which were in a plastic covering and deemed as clean) where filthy. I took the glasses to reception to have them swapped and was greeted by the grunting staffmember/owner.
There was no apology for the dirty glasses and he promptly thrust 2 glasses my way without saying a word.

The next morning we ran the shower expecting some sort of warmth, the shower never got any warmer than freezing and left for a very cold wash.

As we were checking out my partner mentioned this to the staffmember/owner. As she did the reply was that " Im in a room on the same circuit as you and my water was warm this morning".
He was then taken upstairs to prove that the shower was cold and consistently lied to my
partner.

After running the shower he said that it had got warm and would not let my partner feel the warmth, after she eventually got her hand in the shower it was still freezing cold and no hot water was being supplied to the room.
After this it was mentioned if we could receive any discount for the unfortunate circumstance, The owner scoffed and lied saying we had already been offered £10 off and had the room for £50 instead of £60 as he stated over the phone.

Unfortunately for him when i rang he was on speaker and offered the room for the rate of £50 without any discount. This price is also stated on the "Hotel" website.

After giving us discount was suggested the man became very rude and irritated and a shouting match began.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody and a better nights sleep would probably be found in Blackpool Tower Dungeon. At least they've got hot water...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we have just had a lovely 4 days staying at the Blackpool Hotel all the staff were friendly and our rooms were clean and topped up with tea and coffee every day by the excellent house keeper, it is our second stay there and would recommend it to anyone wanting a homely place to stay, also the breakfast was first class more than ample portions and the evening meals were 3 course with coffee and tea,, thanks Rod and Adrian for making us so welcome and we hope to see you again next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Brenda and Gary
Thank you for your comments it was a pleasure to have you stay again, glad you enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#486 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#326 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackpool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackpool Hotel

Property: The Blackpool Hotel
Address: 58-62 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England (Formerly Kenbarry Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #750 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blackpool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run business, within walking distance to all major attractions, night life and Blackpool's top venues including, Winter Gardens, Theatre and the famous Tower ballroom and Funny Girls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Blackpool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing