We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
May-Dene Private Hotel
Ranked #29 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not value for money.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the May-Dene during October. When we arrived we did not find the greeting warm or welcoming. In fact almost the first words uttered by the owner was "My Grandson is in the room opposite, he has had a long journey and we don't want him woken". Not a great start.
When we entered the family room we were immediately greeted by a strong smell of cigarettes and as we are non smokers with 3 young children this was disappointing to say the least.
We then checked the room, which was very tired and dated. On our double bed there were some cushions for 'decorative' purposes. One was a kind of faux fur which was matted, and the other cushion had paint all over it. We had paid the best part of £150 for a two night stay and we felt we had the right to expect better. Behind the toilet there was a cupboard which kept swinging open, inside there was basically a whole heap of rubbish and debris, coat hangers and lots of dust.....if you can't be bothered to clean it why not just lock it so that your guests don't have to see such a thing?
We were asked what we would like for breakfast the next morning and the owner made a note of this, but the next morning when our breakfast was served both my Wife's and my own were wrong. That was not a problem, but when we mentioned it politely to the owners Wife she tutted, rolled her eyes at took our plates away......all due to her mistake!
The breakfast was very nice to be fair, but would have been nicer if the owner (who owns a chip shop next door) didn't serve it up in a batter stained Pukka pies t-shirt, shorts, union jack socks and slippers.
Is it really to much to ask for smarter attire when tending to guests?
As you can imagine I consider the May-Dene far from value for money and would not stay there again, in fact if i had not already paid a deposit over the phone my stay would have been under 10 minutes long. I believe there to be many more hotels in the area offering infinately better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david b, Owner at May-Dene Private Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
the welcome is always warm, i only asked them to respect others, they were travelling as a family with small children, time was getting on and i knew the baby in the room next door was asleep, i would have told anyone to be aware that children were sleeping, atleast they wouldnt have been woken by anyone else.
room 10 is a smoking room and we do tell people and it is on our webb page where the phone number was got from.
the room is modern and well decorated, the bathroom is tired, has now been refurbished.
£150, family of 5, 2 nights with breakfast ???????????????
we are only human, we will make mistakes, breakfast had been plated wrong, if i can remember beans were on the plate when not asked for, it was quickly put right, its never a problem.
what has the taste of breakfast got to do with what i wear, anyone who knows me, i always wear shorts, i also wear a clean t-shirt every day,
but, if these people would have complained whilst they were here we would have done everything in our power to put it right, but they left saying goodbye then come on here to complain. we pride our selves on a family friendly hotel were a good night sleep is available, with value for money always being checked, please next time you stay any where, please speak to the owners before you leave if you are not happy, i did write a personal response to neil but no reply, we are sorry you were not happy, please see all otherv reviews,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
57
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great little B&B (Although we didnt sample the food)
Booking was easy and well priced. The location of the suited us all and despite the weatehr we made the most of our night in Blackpool.
When we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the check in was easy enough.
Rooms were well suited. We had a family room which had a double bed and bunk beds. Clean and tidy so had no complaints at all.
After getiing back in we ventured down to the bar which had a pool table and a couple of kids board games which kept us entertained for an hour or so and the drinks were well priced.
Would definately look up the May-Dene if we ever go to Balckpool again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robo1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Myself, husband and daughter stayed for 1 night on 01/11 to catch the end of the illuminations. Hotel is in a very good location for the South Pier and Pleasure Beach. Check in was fast and made to feel welcome right away. Room was clean as was the rest of the place. Didnt sample the bar as was too tired after a day round the pleasure beach and night on South Pier. Breakfast was superb with a good selection of cereals, lots of toast and a proper Full English. Even the fish and chip shop Leann and Dave own a couple of doors down is tasty & good value. Ignore the bad review left by someone else, if you want a family friendly, clean, good location and excellent value for money this is the place for you.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank madrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day at the maydene and after reading 1 particular comment on here, i highly recommend you don't listen to a word of this, utter disgusting rubbish. Leanne and Dave are 2 of the nicest people you could wish to meet and nothing is to much trouble. The room was clean and tidy and everything you could want is provided in there, even down to a hair-dryer. The breakfasts are exceptional and i wish Dave could post me 1 everyday. The bar was fully stocked and great prices. These 2 people work so hard to make this a successful business and in a my opinion do a 5* job. The chippy 3 doors down also owned by Dave and Leanne offers a great menu for evening meals. I will definitely not hesitate to return here and cant wait to take my kids to meet them, as family accommodation goes you would push to find better, its like home from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What an excellent and most friendly welcome, 22/10/2012 24-10-2012 2 nights great sleep due to very comfy beds! Bar lovely while kids could play nicely with the games and colouring books, thanks harry! Couldnt wish for a more lovely couple Dave and LeAnn, made to feel like we'd known them for years, already booking for next year, maybe even twice, been to blackpool many times but this was definatley the best stay, wish we could have stopped here longer, excellent breakfast, not just for us, but for the kids too! Nice guests too, who were chatty and friendly throughout our stay!! next time im delivering in Blackpool, will pop round for a cuppa!! thanks guys, you made our stay very pleasent and will recommend to all our friends!!!!

Great chippy too with good value for the whole family!! Thanks again!!!! :-)

Wayne, Lou, Ebony, Amy, Lewis, Kodey-Lee x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here October 19th/20th. Found the May Dene very clean, comfy beds and a lovely ensuite family room. The breakfast was a pleasure to wake up for with a large portion and as much toast as you could eat!! The owners were friendly and made you feel so welcome, nothing was to much trouble. You would be hard pressed to find another hotel that offers such value for money and the May Dene will be the first hotel i call when planning another break in Blackpool....Thanks guys for a lovely stay and we'll definately see you again soon xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Upon our arrival, we were met at the door. We were assured that it was a family hotel and having a loud and messy one year old and 6 year old with the footing of an elephant we felt very at ease. Nothing was a problem at this hotel, the kids ran about and the owners moved things out of the chidrens road and we felt we could relax. Everything was set up in the room and it has all that you woukld expect, tv, freeview, tea making faciliteies etc
The room, although yes it was tired however this was stated to us when we arrived, was clean and equiped. the beds were comfy, I am fussy on that one. The linen smelled lovely and it was cosy and warm.
The bar was reasonable priced and the breakfast was great, they made sure you were happy and things were as you wanted them.
These are hard working family people and we enjoyed our stay. It's not the ritz but we never wanted the ritz. It was clean, low priced, friendly and close to all the attractions. If you want fancy - its not for you. If you want value - I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woohootrp4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.8 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#11 of 69 in Blackpool
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fortuna House Hotel
Fortuna House Hotel
#607 of 856 in Blackpool
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#230 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#210 of 856 in Blackpool
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May-Dene Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May-Dene Private Hotel

Property: May-Dene Private Hotel
Address: South Shore 10 Dean Street, Blackpool FY4 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — May-Dene Private Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your May-Dene Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing