We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue write a book!”
Review of Rocklea Hotel

Rocklea Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocklea Hotel
Ranked #23 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Loved stayed at the rocklea I could sit for hours listening to sue and tony's tales of hotel life. It would be a best seller, if you want to know about places Tony is the man to ask and Sue loves true crime on TV so we watched that for ages they are very hardworking and warm people they truly deserve someone to come on here and sing their praises. So if you want a bellbusting breakfeast and a laugh a minute at night choose their home because it will become yours.

Room Tip: Room four at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poolsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

just got back from a 2 day stay at the rocklea
my friend sheila booked this for 4 of us to stay there, it was ment to of been sheila and her daughter coral. and stella and her boyfriend that was booked it to stay there, but then we decided on having a girls weekend, so when my self and my sister stella arrived there from a 6 hour drive from dover, she said our room was not ready, sue was not happy when she found out that it was all women and not a couple and friend and daughter staying,at first we was asked to go for a walk till our room was ready, so we said yes, we asked to use the loo, which she let us do, she then said we could wait there for our friends to arrive, we waited in the garden, which had dog poo in,. we didnt get offerd a drink , when sheila and coral got there our rooms where still not ready we went for a walk to town, we came back a couple of hours later our rooms where done, tony showed us to our rooms, our room was ok, no full length mirror,bathroom floor wasnt very clean dusty around edges,towel rail dusty.not a lot of space in rooms. breakfast was nice, as we was leaving for our night out, we went to pay for our rooms, sue then told us she dosent like to take all women in she then told us to make sure we are quite when we come back in as she has a baby staying there, which is all good, but even people with children make nosie, just because we are all women dont mean that we dont think of others, we was in bed by 12. will we stay here again am sorry to say NO

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58Rocky, Owner at Rocklea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are dissapointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here at the Rocklea, However we are just a small family run B&B and we advise usually that customers check in at 2pm. Your party arrived at a very busy period for us, and due to 22 guests vacating an hour before your arrival and bearing in mind we dont employ any staff Me and Tony try our best everyday to get all the rooms tidied and Breakfast cleared as best we can.

We would love to offer everyone a drink but as explained prior, unfortunately this is not always possible.

Unfortunately we have had a few problems with groups of ladies and groups of men staying previously and do state that we only cater for couples and familys, however upon your arrival we found you to be a nice group of ladies and wouldn't pose any problems.

As for the patio (which isn't even open before 1pm), we do have two little dogs and unfortunately they do their business as and when they please, but again we do, do our best to clean up after them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As soon as we arrived sue came to the door and welcomed us in, making us feel all at home,sue told us we had rooms 6 & 9 but then i had to explain i had back trouble and could not clime up two flights of stairs, not a problem for them as they gave us room 4 tony kindly showed us the way to our rooms which was on the 1st floor, gorgeous room with pretty white & purple matching colours, kettle large jar of coffee, tea sugar & milk sitting on a pretty tray, just what we needed after a very long trip, loads of draws and a big wardrobe with plenty of hangers, great for me as i hang everything up!
as we are smokers we went down stairs to the bar area to ask where could could smoke, we were shown to a lovely patio area with seating, we were also welcomed to sue & tony's dogs such pretty little dogs that greeted us with a little bark which made us giggle because tony was telling bobby to be quite ha ha but once he sniffed our shoes he was fine, i wanted to take him home to essex.
breakfast oh my god talk about fill you up!! cooked by sue & tony what we got were one egg, three rashers of thick bacon, sausage fried slice tomato's beans and as much toast as you want, fresh pot of tea or coffee!! it was FANTASTIC!!! a great start to the day!!
beds are very comfortable and for a person who suffers badly with A S and prolapsed discs, i can honestly say i did not wake up once in the night with pain, i woke up feeling great after a comfortable sleep!! which is rare for me!!
the bar area is very welcoming and sue and tony treat you like family remembering your first names which i thought was wonderful, the bar is stocked up! and nothing is too much trouble!!!! we had a lovely chat and was made to feel like we had known them for years!!!! tony & sue are NORMAL PEOPLE!!!! a great laugh!! it was great that they had a drink with us too, they also have a pool table darts board, and like i sadi a well stocked bar,
rocklea is spotless!!! friendly and very very welcoming!!! i cannot wait to go back to blackpool as this was our 1st vist!! when we go back it will be to the ROCKLEA!!! 100%
your only 10 minutes stroll to the seafront!! far enough away from the busy night life!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynniethepoo7566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just returned from Rocklea Hotel after a long pleasurable weekend! What a great accomodation very clean and tidy. The breakfast was to die for, sets you up for the day. Nothing was of any trouble if you needed anything. Tony and Sue were fantastic hosts and made you feel like one of the family! There is on site parking front & rear especially for our extra long car!! It is in walking distance to the amenities shops, pubs etc. They have an onsite small bar which is very resonably priced, along with a lounge, pool table and TV. They have a lovely place to sit at the back which is a great sun trap (weather permitting) we were lucky enough to have :)
Thanks Sue & Tony, and the cuddly doggies for making our stay very welcome xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

me and my boyfriend have just come back from an over night stay! again.. sue and tony are very lovely people and have a very nice b n b!! i would stay again and will be recomending.
clean, gd breackfast. nice rooms, nice bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Recently returned from a three day break, and seriously couldn't have asked for more, Sue & Tony couldn't have made us feel more welcome. I would recommend the Rocklea hotel to anyone wishing to stay over in Blackpool, when we return we will most definitely be staying here.
Clayton & Lucia

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ijustwannasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

tony and sue are loveky welcooming people know you buy name witch is nice me and my partner often stay here we come to blackpool about 6 times a year and always want to be in this hotel if we can the hotel is lovely and clean breckfast is nice they will do anything for you if they can help in any way they will. we thinking about bringing kids 4 a break aswell id recomend to anyone i will be back.....

Room Tip: all rooms ive had been lovely !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feefee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#335 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocklea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklea Hotel

Address: 58 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range: $69 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocklea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rocklea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing