We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #216 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Mids
1 review
“Lovely B&B, would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed at the Royal for one night in August. Had two family rooms which had plenty of room for everyone. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathrooms were very tiny but adequate as the shower was very hot. This is a family run hotel and they were lovely and made you feel very welcome. They have a young son who is an absolute star !! There is a pool table in the bar which kept the kids happy. Breakfast was really nice, hot toast, full english and choice of cereals. Not sure why people are moaning about the breakfast, the coffee was the best I have had in a long time ! The hotel is very close to the pleasure beach which is why we chose it. You can reach it by a five minute walk.
All in all this is a lovley hotel and you are made to feel at home as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    24
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
54
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
peterlee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

we had a brilliant time the hotel staff were really helpfull we were asked if every thing was alright whitch it was. we were happy with everything the food was very tasty and more than enough even for the hungry teenagers.after talking to clare we realised that we had not brought our shampoo this was soon put right as she had shampoo in reception so girls dont worry clare michael and the staff are always willing to help if they can carry on with the good work the royal see you soon again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrietpeterlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed mid week in august and after reading the last review i felt i had to write my honest review of this hotel as i couldn't disagree with it more! I fount the hotel to be very welcoming and clean. The staff were always happy to help and approachable. It is an easy walk to the pleasure beach. I will be happy to stay there again and look forward to my next visit, I recommend this hotel to anyone. Stuart.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m5tuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

cant believe that these reviews are for the same hotel I have stayed in.
Room - small tiny ensuite, not even a chair, massive hot water pipes running all around, felt like a sauna. kettle green with mould and the tea bags looked like they were from the war time. No change of towels or sheets offered.whole place was dirty, bannister on the very steep stairs was tacky, hadnt seen a bit of polish in a long time. dinning tables the same, so sticky our cutlery was stuck to it, breakfast -very poor quality ingredients, coffee un- drinkable (cheap) orange juice served in a milk jug and the smallest hardest paper napkins that I have ever seen. Lady owner was very nice but really needs to speak to the hotel inspector!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anon4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed over the weekend .Had a gr8t time i can honestly say the hotel was the best ive ever stayed in Blackpool the place is very clean the bed room again excellent the food the same i thought the price abit exspencive but after reading some reviews about outher hotels you get what you pay for will defo stay again thanx to The Royal for a gr6t weekend cheers Ted

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

2006 is the earliest year I could select on here but I stayed in this hotel with my family when I was around 8 years old somewhere around 1958

We had just returned from 2 years in Cyprus (RAF) and stayed in Blackpool for 10 months before moving down South. I remember my mum helping the staff out when flu hit everyone - she was cooking breakfasts I think. A huge storm brought the big wheel down in the Pleasure Beach during our stay.

Oh what memories!

I doubt if any of that helps anyone wanting to stay there now but I have good memories of the place. Don't remember Mick and Clare though......... I have an old black and white photo somewhere.....

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

recently enjoyed a weekend break at the royal in blackpool, mick & clare made us most welcome & were very helpful with info about the attractions in & around blackpool. this was nt our first visit to the royal, & won't be the last.

  • Liked — friendly staff. near pleasure beach.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ipswichjimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#38 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crosby Hotel
Crosby Hotel
#521 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 57 Clifton Drive | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing