We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Alvon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park House Hotel(Blackpool)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oak Lea Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
$48
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Fairway(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$59
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
$100
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Hotel(Blackpool)
$73
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
90
13
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
13
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect stayvisit blackpooljohnxxtowermattresspier
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 107 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

me and my wife stayed there for a week with our usual hoteliers Trish and John, would never cease to fail. we had a lovely large double bedroom with ensuite and it was more than you can ask for. very comfortable bed clean and spacious. the food is to die for it really does set you up for the entire day which is and added bonus.Trish and john are extremly welcoming and is always trying to do that little bit more for us. there is absolutely nothing to complain about and noone should have anything to complain about either. i will continue to use trish until my dieing days she is that could and i wouldnt go anywhere else. once agin trish and john thank you ever so much for havin us and we are all excited for our visit next year. love you all david and stacey.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you david and stacy for your kind comment,glad you enjoyed your stay with us again,john and myself do try to help guest save that bit more when visiting blackpool attractions,(every little helps as they say) whenever we get any repeat whenever we get any freebies that we dont use we give them to guests ,well we look forward to your next visit in october with the wee little ones so for now take care and see you all soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the New Alvon for a long weekend last week with my dad and stepmother. The standard of service was faultless; rooms were clean, the food was stunning and Trish and John are such lovely people; making us feel welcome from the second we arrived. Nothing was to much trouble. A comment below the one I'm writing states how terrible the hotel is, I think we must have stayed at different places because my family and I couldn't disagree more. We've visited in Blackpool quite a few times now and The New Alvon is definitely the best accommodation we've had the pleasure of staying in. We'll definitely be visiting again .. hopefully in October for the illuminations!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hi Becky thankyou so much for such a lovely comment,we are so glad that you enjoyed your first visit with us and that you will be returning again sometime in october so dont forget to book early ,we look forward to meeting you again.
Trish&John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed at the Avlon for 5 days during the Jubilee, our party included 6 adults and 3 children, Trish was extremely accommodating the whole time making us feel at home, Nothing was a chore and we felt at ease even having young children in our group, The hotel is clean comfortable and without doubt value for money. Food was also lovely. Hotel is also situated perfect for all piers with a cracking Chinese restaurant across the road.

all in all 8/10

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBairds2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thankyou very much for your lovely comment,it was a pleasure looking after you all and the children were very well mannered and adorable,and we would like to say thankyou so much for the choc's and card etc and we look so forward to your next visit with us again.Trish&John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and i had the unfortunate luck of being placed in this b and b and the best thing about it was getting on the bus home at the end of the weekend. The room was tiny we ended up topping and tailing there were hairs in the bed so we slept on top of the covers, the smell in the en suite bathroom was like being next to a sewer meaning we had the window open beginning of november thank god heating worked or would have froze to death, open window meant we could hear lots of people on way back from clubs at 3 am onwards, spent the first night awake and sat crying at 5 am through lack of sleep, food was laughable breakfast was swimming in liquid opted for toast and got a slice asked for another and if looks could have killed, allowed one small glass of juice per person and make sure you have ten pounds spare if you want to watch telly as thats what they require for the remote control. If you remeber the episode of only fools and horses when they stay in margate and the b and b is bad it,s pretty similar to that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

we are a very clean family run hotel and all our rooms are spotless cleaned from top to bottom with clean fresh bed linen made for new arrivals,as for the breakfast everyone always comments how nice the breakfast was,yes we do ask for a deposit for the remote controls which are refunded when the keys are handed in as in the past guest have taken them home with them and we can not afford to keep replacing them,with the fruit juice i do have a sign to say one glass because like you people were taking the jug to the table so i put it back on the side so other guest can have a glass,so im sorry you had to make these kind of comments about us i mean you were booked in for 4 nights with us if that was me i would of booked out the next day straightaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My brother and myself had a two night stay as we were going to a Kaiser Chiefs gig at the Empress ballroom. I chose the hotel pretty much at random as the choice of central Blackpool hotels available on the internet is almost overwhelming.
Trish replied to my initial e mail immediately, and once we decided to stay, she phoned me personally to let me know the deposit had arrived safely.
The hotel is ideally situated; just minutes from the seafront, Tower and shops and a 10 minute walk or short taxi ride from the station.
We got there on one of the coldest nights of the year, and we could not have received a warmer welcome.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very warm and cosy (just what we needed after a journey on a freezing cold train from Leeds). We had a twin en suite room - it is only small but there is plenty of room to manouevre and the beds were on opposite sides of the room, unlike some twins where there is literally 6 inches between them!
There were some useful little touches such as pegs to hang our coats rather than having to put them in the wardrobe and little shelves on the wall above the beds to put bits and bobs such as your watch and specs; things that some places tend to overlook. Another good idea was the shelves at the side of the breakfast tables to put the sugar and sauces on stopping the table from getting too cluttered.
The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice and well cooked by John one day and Trish the next.
Trish and John were brilliant hosts, really friendly and welcoming. It felt more like we'd been to stay with friends than at a hotel. I've already recommended the new Alvon to three people!
We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Hi Joannne,wow what can i say? john and myself would just like to say thankyou very much for your compliments about us and our hotel,we are glad you enjoyed your first visit and that you will be back again,we have alot of returning guest and we hope it continues,we would love to see you here again sometime in the near future,see you soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews