We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Sandalwood

The Sandalwood
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sandalwood
Ranked #433 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked this as a last minute decision after a quick look on the internet, we went for the family room with separate bedroom for our son. The rooms were wonderful and had everything we needed, the owners Pete and Margaret could not do enough to help us. We have already booked to go back later in the year, and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

clean friendly great breakfast would recommend to anyone thak you peter and margaret

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank looby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

me and my partner stayed here when the hotel we booked went bust on our arrival,this kind and helpful couple took us in on a bank holiday saturday,the room we had was spotlessly clean,spacious,and the breakfast,top quality,we can also reccomend the indian restaurant at the top of the road,excellent food,we have stayed in blackpool many times,and this is as nice as the hilton,at half the price,with proprietors,margaret and peter fantastic hosts and lovely people,we will be not looking elsewhere in future,thanks again,mark and elaine

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markemmerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Myself and my best friend went for a girlie weekend away. This was an idea place to stay as we felt safe and well cared for. It was only a 15 minute walk to central Blackpool (pier etc) but you could have got bus/tram/taxi. You are given your own keys and a code so you can come and go as you please.

It is located just off the main road so quiet but easily accessible. The surrounding streets are free to park on, saving a fortune on pay and display charges.

The owners gave us vouchers for local attractions, the breakfast was superb, plentiful and cooked just to your own preferences. There is a small bar (which we didn't use but prices were very good).

Room was small but no problem (who goes on holiday to sit in a bedroom??), beds extremely comfortable and the room clean and lovely and warm! Ours was the twin room so in the attic which meant we just about had a snippet of sea view :) Free tea/coffee making facilities in room and toiletries in bathroom.

*Note* The tap water is not drinking water. They provide a small bottle of water for teeth cleaning etc so I would recommend taking more if you wish to drink it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Holidayer_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Overnight stay, welcomed on arrival, rooms (1 double, 1 single) spacious and clean. Great breakfast. With friends in the area it's good to know that this is a place we can confidently return to and be well provided for, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCatsServants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed with Margaret and Peter for nearly five weeks and my husband stayed for a couple of days settling me in. Margaret and Peter took care of me and made my stay very comfortable, I never felt away from home. They went the extra mile when I needed help. Certainly will stay with them again and will bring my family too!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Enjoyed our stay with Pete and Margaret. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mackintosh
The Mackintosh
#615 of 856 in Blackpool
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#177 of 856 in Blackpool
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#284 of 856 in Blackpool
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#289 of 856 in Blackpool
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandalwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandalwood

Property: The Sandalwood
Address: 3 Gynn Avenue | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandalwood 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandalwood is a small, family run Guest House situated at the quieter North Shore of Blackpool. The famous Blackpool Promenade and seafront are just a fifty yard stroll. Blackpool's town centre, The Blackpool Tower, Central Pier, Blackpool Grand Theatre and Tower Ballroom are a short 10 minute walk.The Sandalwood has been accredited 3 stars by The AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sandalwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing