We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIVE STAR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Laurels Guest House
Ranked #175 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you are looking to stay in central Blackpool in 5 star B&B accomodation then look no further.Colin and Sue the owners are really nice people and nothing you ask is to much trouble for them.The accomodation is centrally located and at the heart of all the main attractions.We would definately go back here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We would like to say thank you for your much appreciated review of " The Laurels " and trust that your stay here in the resort was a pleasant and enjoyable one.
On recollection it was your wife's first visit to the resort and whilst the shows were limited
you spent a night at Funny girls and you both enjoyed the show.
As the season progresses there will be more to choose from so if in the future you decide to return there will be more on offer.
It was our absolute pleasure and priviledge meeting you both and hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Colin & Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only stayed at this B & B for one night however our stay was very enjoyable. The room was small but adequate. - very clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for Colin and Sue they made us feel like family members. The whole building had a friendly welcoming atmosphere. We will definately go again and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you very much for the unexpected review which is lovely.
We were happy that you had a comfortable stay and that your time spent meeting with old aquaintances made for an enjoyable night out.
It is hoped that we will see you again in the year as you had planned future
visits to the resort.

Warm regards,
Colin & Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We always read reviews, this how we select a "good one", (occasionally in amongst the reviews, as my father would say, "there's always one" who doesn't agree and we all know what the're like) and by and large this has been successful over the years, and believe you me this is "a GUD UN ".
From the moment we arrived, it was "put your bags down, come & sit down and have a cup of tea", and we'd barely got through the door! Now this was when we had an arctic wave waft over us, b. freezing, but the room was lovely and warm, breakfasts were smashing! We had come to Blackpool to see the Quo, the location was ideal for the Opera House/Winter Gardens and shops, cracking time had all round, thanks Sue & Colin for making us so welcome, we came as strangers and left as friends.

Room Tip: Ring Sue & Colin direct, they can help fix you up with the correct room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you very much for the glowing review, were glad that you chose us based on your research through Tripadvisor.
As big fans of Status Quo you chose Blackpool to see them perform live and by all accounts was an enjoyable night as you spent much of your time rocking to the Quo beats.
We enjoyed the chat and banter over breakfast and hope that it won't be too long before
you decide to make a return visit.
Once again thank you

Best wishes,
Colin & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are regular visitors to Blackpool and have stayed in lots of different places (most of which have been a huge disappointment) it was our first stay at the Laurels after a recommendation and it certainly lives up to the good reviews! Colin and Sue were so courteous, kind and welcoming it felt like home from home. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was the best food we ate all weekend!! We cannot thank them enough for their kindness and have already booked for next year. We would happily recommend this accommodation to everybody, can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel26117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your review, we were glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us and decided to book again for next year.
We were very interested as your daughter progressed through the heats at the Tower Ballroom, so keep up the good work Emmi and look forward to seeing you all again.

Best Wishes,
Colin & Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Rooms were small but well maintained and very clean. Beds were very comfy. The owners were very friendly and helpful and they set you up for the day with a lovely breakfast.
I am in Blackpool regularly for business trips and I will be returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for the kind comments and trust that your stay was satisfactory.
As a regular visitor to the resort it is hoped that you may consider staying with us again.
Our best wishes to you and yours.

Kind Regards,
Colin & Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Where do I start,well this is the best break in a hotel in Blackpool that we have ever had.The food was excellent and the portions were marvelous,very tastey and coocke to perfection what more could anyone ask for.The hotels ameneties were second to none,its 40 years since we started coming to Blackpool and this is the first time we encountered perfection.The whole of the hotel couldn't be criticised in anyway.rooms facillites and hosts.What can I say about the hosts Collin and Sue words can't describe how welcoming they were you just had to ask and they were there with the answer,where to go for entertainment or anything that you might need.They were fantastic,and in the imortal words of Arnie Swartzinager Colin and Sue we'll be back.
Yours Faithfully.
Angie& Graham Kellett.

Room Tip: Iwould advise any holiday makers going to Blackpoolto use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We were very happy to hear that over a 40 year period in coming to our resort that you finally landed the perfect catch in the form of our B&B.
It is hoped that generally the accommodation standards are improving in the resort and that they will continue to do so for the good of visitors such as yourself into the future.
So, thank you again for your valued response and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Colin & Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a two night break at The Laurels and could not have asked for a better place to stay. This was our first time staying at The Laurels and stumbled across it via an internet search and we're so pleased we did. The reviews spoke for themselves so had to give it a try and it certainly did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived Colin and Sue made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The Guesthouse is spotless as are the bedrooms. The location was perfect just a short walk from the Tower and Central Pier. We have already recommended The Laurels to family and friends and when we return to Blackpool this is where we will be staying. Thank you so much for a lovely stay. Becki and Dan

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becki86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Our thanks to you both for choosing our B&B based solely on our reviews and glad that you found these to be true.
Reviews can and do provide you with the vital information that you need when planning any vacation and is invaluable.
It is hoped that we haven't seen the last of you both and maybe just maybe, shall we !
All the very best until then.

Best wishes,
Colin & Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#90 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#146 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 137 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Address: 14 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The Willswood)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $67 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laurels Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and within easy walking distance to town centre shopping, theatre and clubs, our small B&B offers a warm and friendly welcome. Catering for couples and solo travellers having en-suite single, twin and double rooms. We offer a daily service of your room to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We make every effort in attaining to the highest levels of cleanliness at all times. We have a policy as a non-smoking hospitality provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Laurels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing