We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap And Not So Cheerful”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Astoria Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #540 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The only positives I can give about this hotel are that it is centrally located and cheap. I'm not sure what I expected for the money I paid but I was very disappointed overall. The carpets were all dated , grubby and dirty. I wasnt enthused by the dog running around everywhere either. Our room was ok except the tv didnt work - the landlord tried to fix it but it wouldnt. The bathroom was really really tiny - you really couldnt move in there! Totally unfunctional. The breakfast was greasy and very below average. Even if you're on a tight budget I'd give this one a miss.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valBlackpool, Owner at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Im not going to thank you for your review, after all it took you six months to write it, you stayed in April and posted your review in October.
My dog is a tiny shitzu who is restricted to certain areas of the hotel and i only allow her out when guests ask to see her, you also need to bear in mind this is her HOME!!!!
My carpets are most definately not grubby or dirty, i have them all cleaned on a regular basis. The stair carpet is dated as we inherited it when we bought the Astoria, not to my liking but clean and as you can imagine we have a lot of traffic through our door and they are used mutiple times a day by many people. A new one will be fitted through winter months but as you yourself stated we were cheap so therefore money is restricted to a budget.
I am 9/10 on Booking.Com (3 stars which is checked annually) and Trip Advisor 108 EXCELLENT reviews speaks for itself.
After reading your 14 other reviews it seems you have nothing nice to say about other hotels you have stayed at, i just think you are a professional moaner that enjoys disrespecting peoples businesses. We work so hard at the Astoria to please as many people as we can but as the saying goes "you cant please everyone" we do however take any criticism on board and deal with it to the best of our ability.

Val Tony Gemma Kim and Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 146 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

1st time stopped here val and tony own it we were made to feel welcome from 1st arriving we were a group of seven rooms were great really clean great stay all staff very friendy breakfast was great really dinning area very spacey which is good will be going again

Room Tip: there are lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just stayed at the Astoria - £50 for one night in October isn't too bad.
Good points - location is good for shopping, pubs and illuminations.
Parking is good on the side roads nearby as this is free after 5pm and free on a Sunday.
Brekkie ok, and good vegetarian option.
Rooms and hotel are clean and tidy and staff all friendly and helpful.

Bad Points - Our room was very small, (especially when my partners knees touched the sink when on the toilet!), however would be ok for one nights stay
The windows in the room didn't shut properly meaning that the singing stag/hen do's come through into the room clearly at 3am...

Overall I would recommend for a cheap nights stay, 7/10.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 729heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a great time in this hotel ..The rooms and lounge areas was spotless just what we wanted . but the only thing we thought was a let down was we came back early to give the bar a turn it was closed fri and sat at 10.30 .. As a family of about 26 that stayed from fri to mon this was our only let down thought we was doing thr right thing by going back early so the bar could make some money ..Val and tony are a nice couple and we wish the well ...

Room Tip: All the rooms that we had there was no complaints ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazza2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Booked for our friends 30th.We could not get everyone in this hotel so Val gave us money off our stay so we were the same price as the hotel across the road. The 3 rooms we had were all on the same floor. My friends rooms both had more than one bed. Ours just had a double but that was more than enough for us. Room clean and tidy. Fresh towels provided. Breakfast was top class. Would defo recommend and cannot wait to return. Thanks Val and Tony and the girls xx

Room Tip: i imagine all rooms will be as good as each other but if you can ask for room 33 or 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just back from a short break in Blackpool.
We have been going to Val and Tony,s hotels for at least 15years.
They always make you feel right at home from the minute you step through the front door.
Breakfasts are fantastic,rooms spotless just a great all round experience.The staff are great and any problems or shortcomings are soon put right.(Not that there were any)
All together great value for money.
Will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

1st time at the fabulous Astoria Hotel in Blackpool. Just back from a weekend at this hotel. A BIG THANK YOU to Val Tony and the girls for the warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They made us feel at home from the minute we walked through the door. Location perfect. Room very spacious and clean. Excellent breakfast. We cant wait to return very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#104 of 861 in Blackpool
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#341 of 861 in Blackpool
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#271 of 861 in Blackpool
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#150 of 861 in Blackpool
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 118-120 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #540 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing