We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackpool Illuminations

Blackpool Illuminations
Ranked #15 of 78 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

we always start at bispham end and walk to squiresgate, we get a bag of chips at the start, this is the best way to see the lights x then we get a tram back x we put a small donation in the box as we pass x

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank peapod63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,164
    553
    389
    169
    161
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Lights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Still the same nostalgic charm enjoyed the lights view from a tram but the children thought it was a bit boring and said they looked basic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorettaWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Walk the lights and make an evening of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I walk most of the way every year with the kids. great amusement for children. usually get chips to eat as we go. so much work goes in to the lights and the special trams are brilliant although queues are long.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3gSandgrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I now live here and they are still fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently moved to the Fylde Coast and I thought that the illuminations might be a bit naff, but after SEVEN trips through them last year - I was wrong - they are fantastic even now 100 years later.
If you've not been, come!
If you've been before, you will see old nostalgic displays and new ones too!
Bring the family, bring your friends, bring your bike. It's great fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Illuminations WOW !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visiting blackpool as a child was one of the most magical experiences I can remember and the real reason we came was to see the world famous illuminations. I am now an adult and the same can still be said .... The Illuminations still offer a free amazing light show for approximate 6 miles the new and the old are all in there still..... they are part of blackpool they are iconic and I believe the main reason why people come to blackpool long may they shine !!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cranstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackpool Illuminations also viewed

 

Been to Blackpool Illuminations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing