We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but basic gay hotel”
Review of Trades Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trades Hotel
Ranked #85 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“clean but basic gay hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

location is good enjoyed the breakfast , nice to have a late bar at this gay venue the staff were fantastic with very well manners and enjoyed the company of the other guests , who were from young adults to retired gentalman if your gay and on a budget this is the place to stay , love the corridor walks aswell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    15
    12
    45
See reviews for
Families
0
31
62
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Taken as it is meant, Trades Hotel is perfect. Clean rooms, helpful staff and so very close to all the local attractions. Depending on your preferences, I would suggest that you ask for 2nd floor at the back for a quiet night, and 1st floor at the front for a noisier night. But do ignore the negative reviews on here. We had just the perfect time and will be going again next month.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back on the 2nd floor. If you enjoy the thud of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salvatore02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had heard a lot about this hotel and thought i would check it out. I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but what i saw made me cringe...
The room was actually dirty, i didn't want to unpack my suitcase. The window had a hole in the wall next to it so the wind actually whistled through it. My bin had a syringe plunger in it and my bed had a few 'bugs' crawling in it.
The corridors were grimy and badly lit and someone had knocked over a hoover that had been left in the passageway, this wasn't recent as the mess had been trampled right along the corridor.
I stayed for approximately an hour before checking out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank DaveSW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at trades about a month ago and absolutely loved every minute. We completely understood when we booked after staying a few times Trades was basic and in some respects tired. This time we had a room that had been decorated and was clean. The staff we great and were very accomadating when we asked to stay an extra night. To say we stayed another night tells you all the negative reviews aren't all correct. At the end of the day you stay at trades for the fun factor and you certainly get that if you want it!!! If you dont just lock your door!!!!! You also feel really welcome here and the drinks a very fairly priced. We really do hope to see you again this year chaps as we love our stays in your hotel.Thanks to all of you x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sunandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed recently at trades, the place is in dire need of a CLEAN. The bedroom and bathroom were disgusting, there was so much hair lying round the bathroom that I could probably have made a wig.. At £50 per night for 2 of us, it's not exactly expensive but when you look at what you are given, it becomes a complete rip off!
The saving grace in some respects are the staff, friendly (if a little erratic) they have a good local knowledge and can point you in the right direction, pity I never asked for the nearest Hilton..
Bar prices very reasonable and quick service, breakfast was as you'd expect from any B&B.
Would I stay again? - NO, unless they invest money in cleaning the place and bringing the standards up a little.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank poc215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

horrible stay here, horrible staff and kept awake till 7am on a boring Tuesday listening to crappy music all night, the place is filthy and we couldnt shower as its so disgusting. You may want to go there for some fun, and i am up for that, but i need to feel like i wont get scabies. if the rooms have recently been done up, i cant imagine how awful they were before.
totally minging.
never go here unless you are into some kinda role play that involves living like your poor and unwashed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pierre a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallasey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Yes i understand what specialty trades hotel is there fore ,but please even the general cleanliness is getting really bad, we booked in for 3 nights and could only stay for one due to a problem back home and was looking forward to a dirty weekend but not that type of dirty.
carpets filthy with I can only guess whos stains.bedding stained,no curtains etc.
Are we that desperate for some room wandering and fun to pay to stay in a !!!.
BUT.... all the staff are great and the breakfast was brilliant as ever just what you need for the hangover.

Room Tip: Top floor so you cant hear the music that plays all night. or as far away from the toilet as possab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonckelly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#69 of 70 in Blackpool
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
3,143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#346 of 858 in Blackpool
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#453 of 858 in Blackpool
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#15 of 858 in Blackpool
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#50 of 858 in Blackpool
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trades Hotel

Property: Trades Hotel
Address: 51-55 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing