We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the 15th&16th nov.the hotel was clean and welcoming.the only thing i would say is the rooms are very small and cramped.the beds were also quite small but it was lovely and clean and nice and warm.the breakfast was ample with a lovely wee bit than done cereals and muffins and fruit and much more.very central..great wee weekend.would go back but to a bigger room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clarkangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    48
    27
    15
    19
See reviews for
66
57
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, Suffolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for the last week of the illuminatioins and to watch my beloved football team ITFC.
There is no car parking at the location which is a big disadvantage. The owner was very friendly and helpful but we did not like the ceremony of the keys every time we went out and came back to find no one on reception to hand you back your keys. Our room had a lovely sea view but the downside was the size of the shower room and the state of its decor. It was grubby with second rate grouting around the sink etc. The bed was large and comfy but the tea and coffee making facilty was crammed into a small space behind the entrance door making it very awkward to make a cup of drink. The room was above the cabaret area so good sleep quality before 1a.m. is impossible. Very nice breakfast area and cabaret facility and nice area for ground floor sea views. The cooked breakfast itself was good on quality but short on quantity so thankfully you could make up for the shortfall with cereals and pastries etc at the self serve area.

Room Tip: Rooms on front give you great sea views but beware of noise from the cabaret on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itfc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for a long weekend and although there was a slight mix up on arrival, it was sorted out immediately with no fuss. The Manager, Mr M is a very friendly polite man and nothing is too much trouble for him. Although, like most Blackpool hotels, the hotel is a bit dated, it is clean and comfortable with comfy beds and lovely white cotton sheets and fluffy duvets. In our rooms there was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for clothes and space to store the suitcases. There were also lots of coat-hangers, which is a great bonus as many hotels only provide 2 or 3. A small kettle, cups and saucers and tea, coffee, sugar and milk are also provided in each room and replenished daily. One of our rooms was seafront and it surprised me how noise free it was. Obviously has good quality double glazing! The views of the Promenade, Trams and Illuminations were fantastic and helped to keep my younger special needs companion occupied whilst I was getting organised to go out. For this reason I will definitely book the same rooms again. Breakfast was also a plus in this hotel as the choices covered everyone's tastes. Fresh fruit, nuts, cereals, yoghurts, smoothies, croissants, pains au chocolate, cooked English breakfast, toast and preserves and tea and coffee. Plenty to get set up for the day! In the evenings there was light entertainment in the lounge bar and bar prices were very good. Pub quiz, bingo and karaoke or cabaret. Very child friendly too as a few young couples were in with their kids. My only complaint was that the old shower in one room was difficult to work and my companion nearly got scalded. But once we'd learned how to work it, it was fine. All in all, our stay was very pleasant and I will certainly go back again. Thank you Mr M and family for a very nice first Blackpool experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passionella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had read reports on this Hotel before i traveled, and the ones i read were not very favourable, but i take everything as i find it myself.
But i am sorry i will not be returning to this hotel.
Although the staff were very friendly they were very untrained, from the waitreses spilling soup to be asking what i would like to eat before i even sat down.
anytime you went to the bar for a drink there was no barman, he was usually outside chatting or smoking.
The rooms were clean but the shower rooms were very dated and tiny, you had to get dried in your room as there was no room to turn in the shower room.
When we asked at reception for some more teabags and milk for our room, we were told,- No, what you get left in your room in the morning is all you get for the day. in all the hotels i have stayed in , i have never heard this before.
All in all i am sorry to say this is a place i will not be returning to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalmoralH, Owner at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Brahan,

Thank you for your review. Just to say we don't claim to be the best but we would like to think that we are very good. Yes tea bags ect are complementary along with biscuits every day. Along side this we do provide tea and coffee service in lounge for just £1.00 a pot. That is not unreasonable and nor is it unreasonable for us not to charge a nominal mount for additional supplies for your room. In fact you will find many other hotel do this not just us. Apologies if the room was not suitable for you and lack of bar service. The barman is allowed a short 5 min. break whilst the bar is quite.

Regards
Mr M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

On arrival manager had booked us in for Sat and Sun instead of Fri and Sat , but he found us a room and we was promised a large sea front for Saturday, the room we had for Friday was small and very dated, but as we were being moved the following day we thought we would just make do because we thought the other room could not possibly be any smaller how wrong were we , he said we would be having room 218 but when we picked the key up he had changed it to 219 what a dreadful room it was like being in a cardboard box it was so small the bed was pushed up against the radiator on the wall ,and to make matters worse the 2 mornings we went down for breakfast our name was not on the list so they had to make up a table up for us. the problem was we has already paid so when we left on Sun we complained but they are not bothered because they have already took your money this was a shame because we enjoyed the lounge and disco bar and would have gone back if the rooms were better we have never had to complain anywhere we have been before will visit Blackpool again as we love it but will a bit more careful where we go next time and it will not be the Balmoral

Room Tip: don't go here find somewhere with higher quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalmoralH, Owner at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Eric, -I think this review is somewhat unfair and inaccurate. In recognition of our mistake regards the check in date you fail to mention that I did offer you and your wife a free weekend stay with us on your departure but you refused to accept. Regards room change, it was 219 that I offered and not 218 as you say. None the less we are sorry that you think your stay with us was distaster,

Kind Regards
Mr M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went up with family for a couple of nights. Stayed in average size room, bathroom a little small but the style of the period property. Clean, fresh bed linen, friendly atmosphere, staff were lovely and made you feel welcomed. Great breakfast, loved the effort they made with the Halloween theme. Although the room we stayed in was a little dated and parts of the Hotel itself, it added to the experience of Blackpool. Perfect location for visiting the sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Owner/Manager very hospitable and pleasant..
Booked a large double bedroom with en suite shower...via booking.com.
It was on the side of the hotel..so no view..but the window could be opened wide and the curtains were clean and kept out the light...!
The room was an average room with shower room...a bit tired and old fashioned needing decoration, but clean and fresh smelling...with fresh towels and a bar of soap.
The TV was very small for the size of room..so awkward watching in bed..!
Sheets were clean and fresh, but NO headboard on the bed...and there was minimum tea/coffee making facilities.
The double bed base was VERY creaky..mattress was very thin, you could feel the springs through it...so not very comfortable..!
The shower was adequate .. the toilet cistern made a horrendous noise when filling..so daren't flush through night...incase other people were woke up..!
Our room no was 202.but didn't have a number on the door...very strange..?
Meals were ok...nothing special...there could have been more for full English breakfast..as it consisted of 1 slice bacon, half a tomato, 1 sausage, a tiny portion beans...so if you didn't eat fruit or toast, you would be very hungry all day...!
Our watress, Angela..was brilliant..such a hard worker..she also cleaned the rooms..!
Less so can be said about the so called Maitre'D...as he spent a lot of his time, looking at facebook on a laptop underneath the bar, outside smoking...or somewhere else....when he should have been serving on the bar...we had to wait on several occasions for service...!
He also drank a mug of tea at breakfast whilst waiting on tables...this was unprofessional in front of hotel guests...he should have done this in his OWN time..!
The evening entertainment was ok...a young compere Jonathan..pleasant, sociable, EXCELLENT SINGER...did a quiz then bingo....a bit long and drawn out..but for a rainy evening..it filled a space..!
Drinks were priced ok...! £2.80 pint lager...£1.40 can coke (a bit steep)
There were snacks and coffees to buy at the bar also...and fruit cocktails for kids..
All in all it was a short break...we booked in here as we couldn't get booked anywhere else..at short notice for the Illuminations..!
But we enjoyed our stay anyway...!

Only Down side...
The hotel has no car park..so we had to leave ours a good bit away on the Lonsdale car park opposite the Football ground..it cost us £19 for 4 days..or 98 hours...the machine took coins, notes or cards...but had to phone up attendant as could NOT work out HOW to pay using our bank card...!
We could go off for day trips and come back and park..which was good though..!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstrunchbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 69 in Blackpool
722 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
810 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#43 of 69 in Blackpool
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#30 of 69 in Blackpool
847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#54 of 69 in Blackpool
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 69 in Blackpool
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: 215-217 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Hotel is a friendly hotel with a unique smoked glass fronted exterior. Built at the turn of the century this fine hotel is ideally situated on the sea front between Blackpool Tower and the Pleasure Beach with the Central Pier just yards away. The hotel offers accommodation for couples, families, singles and small groups but strictly no Stags or Hens. There is a well-established evening restaurant attached to the hotel which includes an a la carte menu and is open to the public.We provide free entertainment, bingo and quiz with a free finger buffet 6 nights per week, subject to numbers, in our cabaret bar and lounge. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.On warm sunny days you can relax in the forecourt café/restaurant area enjoying a long cool drink and watch the world pass by. If you prefer to relax indoors our lounge offers elevated and panoramic views of the Irish Sea. During the world famous illuminations you can watch the special illuminated trams as they pass by the hotel without having to leave the comfort of your armchair.The location of the Balmoral is such that you are only a few minutes away from all the fun filled areas, the town centre for shopping, the tower headland with its comedy carpet and new wedding chapel, the tower with its new dungeon and walk of faith, Sea World and the world famous Madame Tussauds and of course the Pleasure Beach. Transport links are good with the Tram stops directly opposite us and bus stops are a few yards away enabling you to travel further afield at ease. We offer competitively priced packages for 3 day weekends, 4 day mid weeks and 7 day packages on either a BB or HB basis. We are booking Christmas, 4 days 24-28 Dec, and New Year, 3 days 30 Dec to 2 Jan at competitive prices. We also offer Christmas Shopping break weekends, 2 nights throughout November and December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing