We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mardonia
Nearby Hotels
$105
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park House Hotel(Blackpool)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$73
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
$113
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruskin Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oak Lea Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
$41
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$72
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
$87
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kings Hotel(Blackpool)
$98
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
198
20
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
20
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal roadpleasure beachtoastfeel welcomemy partnerwelcoming staytrams and busesstayed here for nightsfriendly ownershotel ownersthank you for a lovelyvisiting blackpoolset us up for the daylong weekenddown to earthrecommend this hotelweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 225 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at the Mardonia and had an excellent weekend. Its ideally situated. The rooms are nice and clean and it has a warm and friendly atmosphere the breakfasts were also excellent.
We received excellent advice where to go to enjoy our weekend and would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Dave, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your break with us

We look forward to seeing you in the future

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My partner and I have just enjoyed a very pleasant two night stay at the Mardonia Hotel. We stayed in the very comfortable Superior Room (room 3) and cannot fault anything whatsoever about our visit.

The hotel was quiet (which is just what we wanted) but still had a friendly feel when we did encounter other guests (at breakfast time).

Our room was a decent size with a large, recently renovated bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was equipped with 32" inch TV, coffee/tea facilities, hairdryer and ipod docking station. Although the room was facing the front of the hotel, directly over the bar and front door, we encountered no noise disturbance whatsoever. The location was also very quiet. Crystal Road gets little traffic or pedestrians.

Breakfast is not included in the room price, but can be purchased for an additional £5 per head. The proprietor, Grant, was efficient and friendly when taking orders and serving the food, and would happily oblige patrons particular requests, also offering extra toast when he saw guests had run out. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

As previously mentioned this is a quiet hotel. Although it has a bar, we did not notice it being used during our stay. That is not to say it was discouraged by the proprietors, just that it appeared quite low key. However, that actually suited us as a rowdy bar may have disturbed our peace.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable and peaceful, yet friendly stay in an area of Blackpool that is walking distance from amenities, yet away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Chas51

Thankyou for taking the time to leave such a thorough review of your stay, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience of the Mardonia.


The room for your stay was newly created for the 2013 season so were really pleased that you enjoyed the new facilities (p.s we have a new superior room for the 2014 season)

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

we have been going to the mardonia hotel for 6 years we are always made very welcome by grant and marie. the rooms are excellent, beds are comfortable. we are treated very well and nothing is too much trouble. we do not want to go home at the end of the week, we tried other hotels in blackpool but nothing beats the mardonia on crystal road. we will definitely be going back next year, so on that note we will see you next year grant and marie.

sean and chris.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hello Christine

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review.

It was a pleasure to see you all again, has it really been 6 years now? time flies by..

We look forward to seeing you again next year

P.S smaller bags next time my back can't take it =)

Kind Regards

Maria Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we stayed at the mardonia for two nights the owners were friendly and helpful people .and was made to feel very welcome .The room we stayed in was superb,the bathroom was very nice with a good shower and was all very clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities.The breakfast is very good and is cooked fresh to order with also a choice of cereal and juice.The location was near the front but was quite and peaceful at night .Would definitely stay their again had a brilliant time ,and was good value for money.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hello Kevin

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review on your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

we look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Mardonia for two nights (Friday and Saturday) last week. We are both 27 so were looking for somewhere with modern decor at a reasonable price and that is exactly what The Mardonia is.

When we arrived we got a warm welcome from the couple who run the hotel, who told us about the free fireworks display on the seafront, which we hadn't heard about and went to watch after checking in, which was a lovely way to start the weekend off! The illuminations were on as well which is a fantastic sight to see.

When we arrived we were shown to our room, which was exactly as I had hoped when booking - the decor was lovely, with a feature wall on the back wall, modern lamps, curtains etc and a flat screen TV. The bed was nice and comfy, the room was very clean and the bathroom was absolutely spotless, there wasn't even a single speck of mould on the mastic in the shower. I thought it was obvious that the rooms are very well looked after.

The hotel is situated on the end of a side street off the Promenade, so it was ideally situated for us - it was away from the end near the north pier with all the pubs (and stag and hen parties), which is what we wanted. It was only a short walk to the central and south piers, which we visited several times. It was also only a short walk to the Tower and attractions, so we couldn't have been happier with that.

The only issue with the location is that, as with many central Blackpool hotels, The Mardonia doesn't have its own car park, but there is a car park on its road that we parked in for 48 hours for £11. One tip though - bring change for the ticket machine as we didn't have any and it didn't take notes! I can't stress enough though, this really didn't bother me as everything about our stay was ideal.

Breakfast was really good on both mornings, we had tea/coffee, juice, racks of toast and a cooked breakfast consisting of sausages, bacon, a fried egg, tomato and mushrooms. It was very tasty and really hit the spot on both mornings.

We paid £50 per night for the room and £5 per person per meal for breakfast, so the total was £120. For the stay that we had, I felt that this had been great value for money and I would definitely return.

Blackpool itself was brilliant - I had never been before and my boyfriend hadn't been since he was a child, but to both of us it was obvious that the council is putting effort and money into modernising the seafront. We walked up and down the Promenade many times to see all the sights, and I was really impressed with the amount of stuff to do. We visited Sealife, the Tower Ballroom and went up the Tower, all of which were fantastic.

For a weekend getaway I would strongly recommend The Mardonia and Blackpool, we had a great time and it was a trip to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bgoodjohn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hello bgoodjohn23

Thankyou for leaving such a indepth review it is much appreciated.

We are really pleased that we helped make your stay enjoyable

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews