We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mardonia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
St. Chads Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lyndene Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
197
20
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
20
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal roadpleasure beachtoastb bfeel welcomemy partnerwelcoming staytrams and busesstayed here for nightsfriendly ownershotel ownersthank you for a lovelyvisiting blackpoolset us up for the daylong weekenddown to earthrecommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 224 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a great time staying at the Mardonia with my boyfriend for two nights in August 2013. The owners were very friendly and welcoming,We stayed in the small double room which was modern and very clean with all the essentials. Located in the middle of the local attractions would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hello Louise

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, were pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your break at the Mardonia.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having stayed in various other disappointing establishments in Blackpool over the years, we are so pleased to have found The Mardonia. The owners are very welcoming, helpful and their ethos seems to be that nothing is too much trouble at all! From the moment we arrived, we were advised on the numerous car parking facilities nearby, all within 2-5 mins walking distance but were lucky enough to park outside the hotel as there were a few On the street. Grant offered assistance with our bags and showed us to our room, explaining the hotel amenities on the way. The family room was large(1 dbl and 1sgl), well furnished with flatscreen tv, iPod dock, radio clock alarm, complimentary tea/coffee tray, kettle, hair dryer and in the en-suite there were mini toiletries and fluffy white towels. The bed linen was fresh, crisp white and the beds have to be the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on in Blackpool with pillows that your head just sinks into! The room curtains are sufficient at blocking the light too, which aides an unbroken sleep and due to the location, you won't hear any noisy stags/hens here - it's very quiet and we didnt hear any other guests either at night despite the dining room being full in the morning. The breakfast is beautifully cooked, fresh mushrooms and tomatoes-no tinned stuff here! The eggs were cooked to perfection and almost looked unreal in appearance as were the grilled sausages/bacon. Toast in abundance with pot of tea(2 t-bags in pot)and coffee, jams, cereals, orange juice etc. Grant and Marie were lovely hosts who genuinely care for their guests and we got the impression its a priority that guests enjoy their time here which is a rarity in Blackpool these days. We think this place has it all for families/couples and it ticks all the boxes for a good value, clean, welcoming and friendly hotel in a great location. We can't fault this place and will definitely be booking again the next time we visit Blackpool. Some of the superior rooms are beautiful with the prettiest bathrooms in Blackpool! Huge thanks to Grant and Marie - see you soon!

Room Tip: Room 6 is a lovely family room. Very child safe and plenty room to move around.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mentripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Mentripper,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave such an indepth review, we appreciate your positive comments.

It was lovely to meet you and your family we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your break with us.

Just to let you know room 6 has been refurbished for the coming season.

We hope to see you all again

Kind regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We (me, husband and 4 year old daughter) stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013 and had a wonderful stay. The excellent reviews we had read certainly rang true. A warm and friendly welcome, lovely clean rooms with pristine bedlinen, brilliant breakfast and a wonderful location just a couple of minutes walk from the promenade and beach, yet in a quiet area. Grant and Marie are lovely hosts and very friendly, personable and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Our ensuite room with complimentary tea and coffee (replenished each day) and towels was a perfect base for our stay and it is great for families without the threat of noisy hen/stag parties. All in all it was like being in a quality hotel but with a personal touch. We also saw the superior room (for a couple) which has just been refurbished and it would rival any posh hotel room. We would certainly recommend to others. Thank you once again to Grant and Marie.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi Helen & Family,
WOW what can we say!!
You are very kind to have wrote such a lovely review & for sending us such a lovely Thankyou Card, it means alot when guests take time to go out of their way to think of us once they have left. It is nice to know our efforts are helping our guests enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Take care Maria & Grant x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my third visit to the Mardonia and it just gets better Grant & Maria are such a welcoming couple made me really feel at home. The hotel is close to all the amenities and is so clean with a lovely breakfast can't fault anything will definitely be staying there in the future .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickeyturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi michael
Thankyou for leaving us a review on trip advisor, It is always a pleasure never a chore to welcome you and you friends to the hotel. See you again soon
Take care Maria & Grant xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Mardonia for 2 nights,.Grant and Marie made us feel very welcome. Lovely clean room and a great breakfast. nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely return and will recommend to family and friends..thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi Ellen
Thankyou for leaving us a lovely review, it is always a bit worrying when guests stay who work in another hotel as like ourselves i know u would have certain standards and im glad we were able to meet them. Hope you are well and will welcome you back anytime.
Hope to see you soon Maria & Grant x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews