We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Blackpool”
Review of The Mardonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mardonia
Ranked #103 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I went to Blackpool for a weekend break and also to meet other members of the familly who had travelled up from Devon over the weekend of 19th to 22nd of October . We stayed at the Mardonia Hotel in Crystal Road , The proprietors were very friendly and hospitable.we stayed in a double room which was very clean and comfortable and warm.
. We had full english breakfasts every morning which was filling and enjoyable and found that we did not need to eat again until the evening . The location of the hotel was very central to the attractions being located between the south and central piers . We parked our car and were able to walk every where . We had a great time and will return to the Mardonia Hotel and blackpool again next year

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello John,

Thankyou for taking the time to review The Mardonia, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure meeting you, we're glad to hear that the breakfast kept you going until the evening (we don't like to scrimp on the most important meal).

We look forward to meeting you again

Kind Regards

Maria , Grant & connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently stayed here for a long weekend 12th October..Second time weve stayed here as this place is excellent value for money. Grant and Maria are lovely people and make you feel so welcome..Rooms are very high standard and breakfast was delicious. Would definatley reccomend the Mardonia to anyone visiting Blackpool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello David, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, it was a pleasure to meet you again, and hear some of your "bingo" stories.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

King Regards

Maria , Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Mardonia from the 19th to the 21st of October as a special break. The hotel could not be faulted, the room we stayed in was number 7. The decor was modern, stylish and we both felt a million miles away from home. Grant & Maria were absolutely fantastic, from suggesting things to do to just having a general chat! If you are after ideas on things to do whilst you're on holiday... ask them! We had an amazing time, thanks to them suggesting shows to see and places where to eat.

The breakfast every morning was spot on and kept both of us going all day until late afternoon when we would go out for tea. The hotel is situated near enough half way along the prom, which meant we either walked to the tower or walked to the pleasure beach with no trouble!

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy a stay in Blackpool! We didn't want to go home and now cannot wait to return next year! Thanks once again Grant and Maria!! Dan & Sara

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanPorter91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Dan & Sara,

Thankyou for your kind words, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Mardonia and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Loved our stay felt very welcome great time there beer was excellent could not fault it breakfast was great rooms was excellent to very close to either pleasure beech or the tower and town all the rest of the family enjoyed it to would recommend to anybody who wants to go to Blackpool

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Scottwil, thankyou for spending the time to leave us a review, it was good to meet you, were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We would like to thank Maria & Grant for an excellent break at their hotel,we enjoyed our stay that much we will stay longer next time.all you people out there that want to stay in a friendly,clean & safe hotel the "Mardonia" is a must.Maria & Grant thank you.

Andy & Lynn Carter plus family
Kidderminster
Worcestershire.

Room Tip: The hotel is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello AndyC, thankyou for your kind words, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing you all again.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just got back Literally from a two night stay at the mardonia hotel and had a wonderful time. We booked last minute on Friday due to the local caravan site being flooded and cancelling our weekend stay. This hotel is absolutely spotless and the rooms are all decorated to a high standard with the same level of comfort and warmth. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with a choice of cereals, plenty of toast and a full cooked English breakfast with fresh juices, tea and coffee. The moment we walked into this hotel we felt welcome and this carried on throughout our stay. Grant and Maria have definitely done a fabulous job in making this hotel welcome and homely and we will definitely return in the near future. The hotel is also very central so is close to all the amenities and very reasonably priced considering the high standard of decor. We have stayed in many hotels, guesthouses etc over the years in Blackpool and can honestly say that this is the far superior and welcoming so I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is thinking of packing their bags and taking a trip to the seaside. Thank you grant and Maria for a wonderful weekend and we will see you again, all our love jim, Tracey and Ellie stayed in room 5 xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceydSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Traceyd,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. it was lovely meeting you and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to meeting you again

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just stayed at the mardonia hotel and would definately return. The owners were very friendly and made us feel at home. The breakfast was brilliant and the rooms were very modern and cosy. The location of the hotel was ideal as it was central and right in the middle of the tower and the pleasure beach. Also there are no curfews on when to be in as you get your own key to get in and out as you please. Next time we come to blackpool we will definately be choosing the mardonia hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnalindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello Donnalindsay, Thankyou for spending a few minutes to leave us a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#134 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mardonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mardonia

Address: 4-6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mardonia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Mardonia We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast. We are ideally placed between the Central and South Piers just off the promenade, so you have easy access to the trams and all Blackpools attractions. Including The Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower, Sandcastle Waterpark and The Winter Gardens. We are a fully licensed establishment with a relaxing bar area for you to enjoy after a busy day in Blackpool. Bed space includes Double, Twin, Triple and Family rooms. Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All our rooms are en-suite (complimentry toiletries) and are all equipped with 22" Flatscreen TV's, tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking stations, radio alarms and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. Rooms are serviced daily and breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.30-9.30am. Full english and vegitarian options are available for breakfast (prior arrangement). Owners Grant and Maria have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mardonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing