We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hollies Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Blackpool
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Oak Lea Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Melville Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ruskin Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alumhurst Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Belroy Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
2
3
4
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
4
5
11
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 25 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2008

just got back from the Hollies hotel what a great time we had, a party of us went for two days fri to sunday didnt book just went in the hope that we would get in as we had been told about the hotel, booked in by friendly receptionist we were late but that was not a problem to them we were taken for our meal and it was very nice five courses and a choice it was very nice a nd all fresh what a change from our past experience in that area,rooms was very nice hot water comfortable bed tv what more could you ask for many thanks to the staff all very kind and helpfull,

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I have today returned from The Hollies. When we arrived, a coach
load of us, we were made to line up from the reception area onto
the steps outside down the steps onto the pavement to the coach. This told me that there just was not any organization or any form of system whatso ever!! our coach was full of old age pensioners that could hardly stand never mind queing for nearly 30 mins. if it had rained I think I would have gone berserk. Why they didn't put everyone in the lounge and then called thier names and give them the keys then I will never know. The hotels I go to after 7 hours of travel even give us a cup of tea whilst we are waiting.
The room!!!! The windows were inoperable, the window handles
were rusted so much they could not be moved, the light over the sink didn't work, and the draws in the chest of draws opened 5
inches and no more, the toilet seat was not stable and slid all over the place. The evening meal was something to behold.
I ordered the roast chicken, it was so hard that the fork splines were nearly bending when I stuck it in the chicken. I would suggest that a Chef who could serve up such a meal of tasteless brown muddy water and call that gravy!! Or as an
alternative serve up crumbed fish that was dry and chewy. I
think it must have been cooked twice. Should be sacked.
Now for the plusses. When I reported the things that were wrong in my room, the smileing receptionist was charming and promised something would be done the next day. And it was,
The maintenance staff came and fixed all but one of the faults,
which was done on the following day.The restaurant staff were
the very best one could get. We had Margo serve us and she was perfection, she was a credit to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for her, even when the waitresses were rushed off
of thier feet. The food started to improve very much after that and
because they had just recently been taken over by new management I am prepared to overlook niggling little things like the fossilised food on the table numbers, and the wood underneath the numbers absolutely greasy and filthy. These are
the sort of things that the new management must improve on if
they are to stay in business!! I would go back again after everything is improved, and I would recommend the Hollies to friends if things improved. the room was adequate in size and
the Tele was fine. Bags of hot water in the mornings, and in all
nice smiles on all the staff. Please improve.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LlannonDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Went for our usual Blackpool Illuminations weekend and this time we stayed at the Hollies. We never book ahead, always choosing somewhere when we arrive. This year, we went a month earlier than usual, which was reflected in the prices, 35GBP pp B&B!
We chose the Georgian Hotel, (a couple of doors along from where we stayed last year) but they couldn't accomodate us all, so my husband stayed there (the Georgian) and we were placed next door in the Hollies, which is now part of the same hotel.
We had 2 twin rooms, which were ok, TV didnt work in one of them though, so we swapped over, my son & daughter in law and their 2 little girls were all sharing a twin and really needed a TV for the children. My daughter and I didnt mind so much, but even so....
The rooms were clean,and nicely furnished, bathrooms ok too.
We had been told that, despite being split up, we could all eat breakfast together, so Sunday morning we went down to the dining room, but there had been a mix up, resulting in our having to wait for an hour until we could eat! There was another dining room, apparently, only we weren't told that.
It certainly wasn't the worst hotel we have stayed in, by any means, but next year we shall be looking elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

The Hollies are under new management,please,please do not stay at this hotel because it is a dump.I stayed at this hotel on the 15th of September 2008.this hotel used to be a very nice place to stay,nice rooms good food ect but not anymore.I stayed at room 103, wallpaper coming away from the wall,the bedroom window was not closing and not sealing in the frame,wind was blowing to the inside of the room which was freezing at night,the bathroom toilet was something else,the toilet was self flushing,every five seconds,I was unable to sleep,the food was like something that you feed to pigs,but you did have a choice,of food,overcooked food undercooked food,cold food,raw food, I dont think the chef know's how to cook at all,I complained to the hotel manager but it was a waste of time because it went in through one ear and out the other,they did nothing to put the problems right and blamed the maintance man for everything,it is a shame because I have stayed at this hotel for many years,the new owners have ruined a perfectly good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank glowpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews