We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic time”
Review of Marine Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Villa Hotel
Ranked #605 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic time”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family stayed here for the September weekend,the room was small but comfortable and clean. The owners Kevin and Lynne were very helpful and hospitable they made sure you were very welcome and anything you required was available. ie ,milk, sugar, free view set ect .It has been the most liveliest hotel I've stayed in and i have been going to Blackpool for 12 years. The banter in the bar was brilliant, we had a great laugh with other guests and everyone had a great night at the karaoke. The breakfast was first class you had a huge variety to choose from. Definitely a great value for money hotel, i would use this hotel again and would recommend it to friends and family. You could do a lot worse in Blackpool hotels than this one. Owen Anne Marie and David.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne marie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Got to this hotel yesterday was very nice its the best hotel we have stayed in blackpool the owners were lovely breakfast was lovely and tasty our was nice will stay again when we come to blackpool hope ur daughter gets better soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Kevin and lyn were lovely, me and my boyfriend had a lovely stay. The room was very clean that we stayed in. Kevin and lyn are very welcoming and great people, it makes your stay much better with people like that. The breakfast was really good and they both do as much as they can to make sure you have a brill stay while your there. It is the second time I have been and I will defo stay there again if I go.I recommend this hotel to any couples who want a break together. Thank you kevin and lynn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amycartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Firstly yes the owners are nice people. I would have got to know them more if I'd sat at the small bar at night possibly.
The breakfasts are fantastic and you get a lot of choice.
The location is perfect, 100 yards from pleasure beach, sand castle and south pier.
Now I'm being honest in saying the hotel and rooms are dirty and in desperate need of decoration. I've stayed several times in the typical " blackpool b&b" and accept rooms are small, some are quite dated etc but I was surprised at how bad this place was.
The owners daughter sat about all day in the living area picking her feet and drinking tea.she would sit in the doorway smoking which is bad when you have young children around. And to top it off at night she sat drugged out her head on the steps leading in, that out of it she never heard us asking her to move, my kids were terrified!
Our room the family with bunk beds wasn't even hoovered, we found a beer can and pant under the bunk beds.
Again I'm being honest when I say a quick coat of paint would slightly improve the room. I'm posting pics of the bathroom just to highlight how dirty it was.
I don't expect 5 star if I'm not paying five star but £140 for 2 nights to be greatest with such a dirty room is not on.
The owners must give the place a freshen up, tell the daughter to respect guests and stop sitting around drugged up, turn heating and hot water on.
But in general the place could be lovely but it's not. Although owners are nice I'm sure their bedroom and toilet are cleaner than the rooms they sell.
I would not return with young kids or at all even.
Sorry but true, I'm no snob but basic cleanliness is a must!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pablodahibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevminion, Owner at Marine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your "honest helpful review". We felt it necessary to reply as you obviously did not read tripadvisors guidelines about slanderous or insulting comments. Our daughter has never taken drugs in her life. She was staying here after a bad car crash for a few days to recover from her injuries, whiplash and badly bruised feet with numbness, and still recovering from an operation. She was on strong medication. She dosen't even live here. You arrived one hour before check in and your room was just being finished, and was hoovered by Kevin, while you chose to wait in the bar. The hot water and heating are thermostatically controlled and on constantly, so no, the heating did not click on in mid August . Still looking for beer can and pants which were not in your rubbish. Tried to ring you, but with given the same false phone number twice, it was not possible. And as for "some rooms quite dated", you only saw one room. Our rooms are exactly as the pictures on the internet . Yes some rooms are quite small in our victorian era hotel, and some show signs of wear and tear as do all other busy hotels do. Lana and Cazzers' previous reviews stayed in that room shortly before you.

Once again thank you for your "Honest Helpful Review"

Marine Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband spent a week there on our honeymoon. As soon as we waked threw the door we was warmly greeted. We booked 5 nights but ended up booking an extra 2 nights there even though they was busy they still shifted a bookin into a similar room so we could stay in ours. It was lovely and clean and we was asked nearly everyday if we needed anything towels etc. The breakfast was nice with a wide choice both food and drink. The street was nice and close to things. If we go back to blackpool we would return here. Many thanks for a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me, my husband and 2 kids (10 and 3 months) stayed for 2 nights and although room small it was no problem Kevin made sure we had enough room put travel cot up. Had karaoke and giggles in the bar on the nighttime and breakfast was absolutely lovely both mornings. We look forward to returning and wish Kevin and Lynne all the best on becoming first time grandparents x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Everytime we go to blackpool we will only stay at the marine villa we recommend it to everyone and anyone who says there going to blackpool the b nb is welcoming, clean,lovely breakfast and there so friendly, lynne and kevin are wonderful so warm and welcoming we always say when we stay its like our home from home its a great family b n b would recommend to everyone. Many thanks to lynne n Kevin for a wonderful stay everytime. C you soon from sam, lauren, shannon and yvonne xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scfcsamshannonlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
The Marinne Hotel
The Marinne Hotel
#753 of 856 in Blackpool
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staymor Hotel
Staymor Hotel
#201 of 856 in Blackpool
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#119 of 856 in Blackpool
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Villa Hotel
The Villa Hotel
#214 of 856 in Blackpool
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#117 of 856 in Blackpool
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#96 of 856 in Blackpool
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Villa Hotel

Property: Marine Villa Hotel
Address: 4 Withnell Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Villa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10 bedroomed (7 en-suite) hotel ideally situated virtually on the Promenade next to the newly opened wetherspoons The Velvet Coaster, opposite the South Pier, Grosvenor Casino and the Sandcastle Waterworld with the Pleasure Beach just yards away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing