We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newbury Hotel
Ranked #338 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there over the weekend and we loved it! Had a great time just the 2 of us and Andy & Dawn were more than welcoming ... made us feel at home since the moment we walked through the door! Great service at the restaurant and the bar, always attentive. Great nightlife in Blackpool ... we not to sure where to go but Andy & Dawn were more than happy to help direct us on where to go and Andy actually dropped us off at a few places some nights when we struggled to get a taxi quickly.
Overall ... apart from a crowd of loud girls that were staying and kept us up during the night .... our stay here at the Newbury was excellant and we have recommended and will recommend this hotel as a fantastic place to stay in Blackpool, for a great price.
Look forward to seeing Andy & Dawn again soon.

Room Tip: Book with Andy & Dawn ... breakfasts were great and they woke us up when we slept in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    32
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
66
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pontypool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just got back from our sons first holiday in blackpool dawn and andy helped to make it memorable,The warm welcome we recieved started the week off great ,we were close to everything and any information we needed was at hand either by leaflets or by thier own personal experience.The room was clean comfortable and warm the food was a treat to eat .We would recomend this hotel to any one with a family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is the 4th year on the run we have stayed at the Newbury. As always totally satisfied. Dawn and Andy are now more like friends, nothing is to much trouble, always friendly and helpful. Breakfast is one of the best ive ever had. Brilliant location. ( They even provide Fleece Jackets and umbrellas for smokers to use when the weather is bad) never been offered this any where els!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just had a fantastic stay at the Newbury, with a warm friendly welcome and location just 5 mins from the tower.Our room for a family of four was very clean and presentable and the beds were extremely comfortable, in fact one of the best sleeps I have had in ages. We were please that breakfast was at 9 so we didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn and rush to get ready. Breakfast was delicious and a special effort was made to help our Autistic son who has a very poor appetite. The coffee machine clearly states "No under 16's" and when my 7 year old son got splashed with tea, an ice pack was promptly presented and he was taken care of. The information we received from Dawn about the attractions was brilliant and helped us saved a fortune. We would recommend this hotel to anyone as we had a fantastic stay and will definitely be going back. My two sons age 7 & 9 said " Its the best hotel ever" Thanks so much Dawn & Andy it was great.

Room Tip: Room 9 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a family run hotel and the family are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

Our room was spacious and clean, and cleaned daily and stock replenished, the breakfast was an amazing Full English but variations are available. The coffee is particularly amazing. Nice flat screen TV with free view in room, nice and quiet with no disturbance even though the hotel was fully booked. Free Wi-Fi allows you to keep in touch. On the last day they stored our luggage, all day, for free till we collected it in the evening, this gave us an extra day’s holiday.
We will definitely have this as our hotel of choice now in Blackpool which we tend to visit a couple of times a year, ignore the bad reviews, I think they were particularly unlucky people.

Go on, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prom_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my boyfriend decided on a trip to blackpool at the beginning of the month and were recommended the newbury by various people we know and I have to say there recommendations were spot on it was perfect!..on arrival we were instantly pleased with not only the location (literally a 5min walk from the town centre, promenade and north pier) but also the look of the outside of the hotel! after being greeted very warmly by the owner Dawn I can say without hesitation the inside lived up to the outside..our room was a great size for the two of us and was extremely clean and comfortable..the dining area was great and the breakfast was lovely (included not only a full english but cereals, different types of tea and a fab coffee machine!)..the hotel also has a bar area which was great and my boyfriend said his pint of lager was great! not only was the hotel amazing value for money the hospitality given from dawn and andy was fantastic! They are so friendly and help you with anything you need! you definately arrive as a guest and leave as a friend..we will definately be staying here again and even decided to book up for next month before we left! Thanks guys you definately didn't disappoint in any way!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QCMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The bathroom is small so if you are on the large size, you'll have trouble squeezing into the shower. The bed is hard and uncomfortable, you can not turn off the heating so you have to open the window but early hours of the morning work starts on the street so you then have to close the window (no win situation). Dawn (manager) is very loud but if you do laugh or cough in the middle of the night, she will knock at your door in her dressing gown and shout at you like a school child, waking everyone else up in the hotel. Breakfast is ok but the fried bread tastes like cardboard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donnajc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#461 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peerless Hotel
The Peerless Hotel
#596 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trentham Hotel
Trentham Hotel
#148 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Guest House
Phoenix Guest House
#432 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Property: Newbury Hotel
Address: 37 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing