We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newbury Hotel
Ranked #337 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for families.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a family run hotel and the family are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

Our room was spacious and clean, and cleaned daily and stock replenished, the breakfast was an amazing Full English but variations are available. The coffee is particularly amazing. Nice flat screen TV with free view in room, nice and quiet with no disturbance even though the hotel was fully booked. Free Wi-Fi allows you to keep in touch. On the last day they stored our luggage, all day, for free till we collected it in the evening, this gave us an extra day’s holiday.
We will definitely have this as our hotel of choice now in Blackpool which we tend to visit a couple of times a year, ignore the bad reviews, I think they were particularly unlucky people.

Go on, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prom_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    32
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
66
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my boyfriend decided on a trip to blackpool at the beginning of the month and were recommended the newbury by various people we know and I have to say there recommendations were spot on it was perfect!..on arrival we were instantly pleased with not only the location (literally a 5min walk from the town centre, promenade and north pier) but also the look of the outside of the hotel! after being greeted very warmly by the owner Dawn I can say without hesitation the inside lived up to the outside..our room was a great size for the two of us and was extremely clean and comfortable..the dining area was great and the breakfast was lovely (included not only a full english but cereals, different types of tea and a fab coffee machine!)..the hotel also has a bar area which was great and my boyfriend said his pint of lager was great! not only was the hotel amazing value for money the hospitality given from dawn and andy was fantastic! They are so friendly and help you with anything you need! you definately arrive as a guest and leave as a friend..we will definately be staying here again and even decided to book up for next month before we left! Thanks guys you definately didn't disappoint in any way!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QCMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The bathroom is small so if you are on the large size, you'll have trouble squeezing into the shower. The bed is hard and uncomfortable, you can not turn off the heating so you have to open the window but early hours of the morning work starts on the street so you then have to close the window (no win situation). Dawn (manager) is very loud but if you do laugh or cough in the middle of the night, she will knock at your door in her dressing gown and shout at you like a school child, waking everyone else up in the hotel. Breakfast is ok but the fried bread tastes like cardboard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donnajc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Upon checking in felt like it was a chore for the owner. Bar area smelt of cigarettes.
Room: from first glance looks nice, after a night in it you realize maybe not. Spent money on a flash tv but not on clean sheets, pilows or a working shower. The noise from the outside is horrific.
Breakfast area, smelt of sewerage. Breakfast itself is great if you like deepfried everything! Table and chairs really cheap and very very wobbly. Server looked like she was just awake but kept shouting to guests very unprofessional.
All in all would not stay again only plus is location but there are plenty of hotels within the same location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights end of sept for a family break , after traveling 300 miles to get there we had a lovely warm welcoming and just felt at home from the 1st sec we arrived dawn was so nice and friendly and always made u feel welcoming , such a nice relaxed atmosphere we had a nice clean spacious room which was checked, cleaned daily , fantastic morning breakfast and lots of help and advice of attractions and local area , the whole place had a great feel to it and my kids never seemed to be a pain or ever in the way we all really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel to any1 with kids or want a relaxed stay , thanks very much xx keep up the good work

Room Tip: family rooms are ace and have everything u want
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwallhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingli, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Thank you Dawn, Andy and Lilly for the pleasant stay. Cannot complain a bit!

Hotel is situated just a road away from the promenade and the lovely sandy beach. Lots of shops in the area and plenty of attractions and things to do.

Room Tip: As they say - you enter as a guest and leave as a friend :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

A very clean and safe family run hotel close to all ammenities and all major attractions. Very good and affordable car parks just round the corner as is the north train station. The owners are well mannered, hard working couple and their family, and nothing is too much trouble for them. The place is recommendable for families and couples. Spent seven nights here and we enjoyed thouroughly.
Emanuel and Sandra
Malta.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuel811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#461 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peerless Hotel
The Peerless Hotel
#596 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trentham Hotel
Trentham Hotel
#147 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Guest House
Phoenix Guest House
#431 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Property: Newbury Hotel
Address: 37 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing