We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GR8 Escape Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GR8 Escape Hotel
Ranked #626 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
harrogate
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

just got back from a quick jaunt & stayed here. Had a fab time, hotel & hosts perfect, would definately recommend

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMANDA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel and as always, I felt I would leave a comment, as feedback (good or bad) is always helpful and I'm happy to say, I will definitely return to the Gr8 escape hotel, the owners were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms were warm and cosy, I will be returning to blackpool soon and I know where I'll be staying! A Gr8 experience.

Colin Mills

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank collywog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

I have stayed at the GR8 escape hotel on a couple of occasions and loved it each time, The owners are fabulous and hard working and will go above and beyond the call of duty to see to resonable requests.

The bar is very well priced and has been known to stay open as long as the owner can stand on his feet and stay awake.

Overall I give this hotel an excellent rating, I was touched by the genuine nature and of course the comedy and homely feel provided by the hosts.

A Gr8 place to stay and close enough to everything that makes Blackpool a great weekend away.

Fantastic.

  • Liked — Paul ( I think was his name) was very energetic and very funny.
  • Disliked — Too many stairs for me :) (Living in Australia, we don't have stairs in most houses)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank miggzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NANTWICH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

Booking made on 16 September 2008 with Late Rooms for this hotel for 9 people for one night 25 October 2008. Booking and ensuite rooms reserved and confirmed. Tel. call to my home received at 21.00 hrs on 1 October 2008 from Hotel owner stating he had to cancel the booking as he was getting married on 25 October and his hotel would be closed that weekend! Thought this sounded a bit odd and when questioned further he admitted the real reason was, he had a family wedding at his hotel that weekend and couldn't accommodate my party anymore! Suspect they made him a better offer than our one night booking! He offered to tel. me back with alternative accommodation elsewhere and did so thirty mins. later, suggesting the B and B next door to his hotel where they could accommodate 6 of my party in one room and 3 in another, none ensuite. Declined his offer! He then suggested another hotel bookable with Late Rooms but on investigation this hotel clearly stated minumum bookings of 2 nights at weekends, so no use to us. If you've ever tried finding decent acommodation in Blackpool during the illuminations, for one night, at a weekend at the beginning of school half term, 3 weeks beforehand, you'll appreciate my predicament! Left totally in the lurch by his cancellation and not impressed by his attempt to lie about the reasons! Late Rooms couldn't find me any suitable alternative accommodation elsewhere in Blackpool and my daughter;s 21st birthday celebration in Blackpool, with her friends ruined by this hotel. Others beware when booking at this hotel!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CHESHIRECAT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8escapehotel, owner at GR8 Escape Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2008
in repsonse to your comments ! If i had cancelled your booking within a day or 2 of you daughter arriving then i could understand your anger !!! but i gave you nearly 4 weeks notice in cancelling your booking, this was more than sufficient for you to re book another hotel. I even bent over backwards to get you other hotels that were willing to take your group for 1 night !! but that wasnt good enough for you because they were not en-suite rooms, i can only apoligise and say i did my best for you. And maybe one day we will all be able to predict the future and avoid situations like this, but for now were only human. and just for the record !! we don't charge for family events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

this is definately an up and coming hotel !!!! the hosts were fab the food was yummy and our room was excellent !! we couldnt fault it and would recommend this for any ones gr8 escape. Thanks steph and paul :) we will be back :)
keith and jean x

  • Liked — great hosts
  • Disliked — cant think of one
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leffybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#216 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#345 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#459 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR8 Escape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR8 Escape Hotel

Property: GR8 Escape Hotel
Address: 8 Lonsdale Road, Blackpool FY1 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #626 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a traditional but modern/clean hotel where guests will feel relaxed and at home in our hotel friendly atmosphere! Then give us a call - "we look forward to hearing from you soon." Best wishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing