We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edward Hotel
Ranked #173 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
lancshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“ok for overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

arrived for an overnight stay with my husband and son and daughter inlaw we were going to watch a show and it was very close to funny girls that's why my daughter in law chose it we had problem with finding the entrance as its only a small door way in between a bar and another bandb first inpressions were the hallway was a little scruffy we were met by a really friendly guy who took us through to a small bar area and gave us our keys and info about the hotel I had an issue before I arrived that this hotel allows smoking in the rooms which I personally don't agree with and had I been booking it would have put me off but my daughter in law booked it for us and it was too late to cancel once I had found out but to top that reservation off someone stood next to me having a drink and lit up a cig he was told to go outside by the guy who was in charge but it makes you wonder if that was for my benefit as I had phoned to check about cancelling the day before and had spoke to the owner who assured me the rooms were cleaned properly and dident smell of smoke anyway she had booked a double for me and a king for herself we arrived at the room which stunk of air freshener obviously covering for the cig smell the décor was dated and wallpaper peeling off the ceiling and stained looked very dated and tired the bathroom was small but clean I wasent happy with it as when I saw the other room that was booked could not believe the difference as it was newly decorated modern furniture just 100 per cent better we complained about the room and they offered us a room next door to my son which had also been updated it was small but had everything you needed and it dident smell of air freshener we dident go for breakfast but was asked by the owner on our way home if everything was ok and we said we appreciated the move and how nice the updated rooms were if I hadent been able to move rooms I would have found another hotel I would not stop there again but only due to the fact that they allow smoking in the room and it would have to be one of the updated rooms

Room Tip: room 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megLancshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
well it seems you have a big issue with smoking rooms, im sorry but as you say all of our bedrooms are smoking allowed and yes you were booked into the cheapest room in the house and transferred no problem with no extra charge. im happy it suited you.
its not quite the 16th century castle you told me you live in but i think praise indeed considering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    40
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
41
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

No parking available we had to park in station car park costing £5 per night! didn't state that when booking room was very basic too.Staff were friendly breakfast was nice. Location was good aswell we stayed in double room which was big enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
thanks for your revue sorry the local parking is likely the cheapest in the uk at £5 for 24 hours we like 90% plus of blackpool hotels dont have parking. but there are some with smaller more expensive rooms that will charge up to £20 per night just to park in thier car park. thats the way it is unfortunately. as a small budget b+b we try to please as much as we can, and and we are glad your stay was with us was ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalbeattie
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

roadworks outside and no parking wasnt an ideal start
staff were friendly enough
basic rooms and breakfast was enough to start your morning
could be quite noisy outside due to the bars next door and surrounding area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
nothing we can do about the roadworks and as for the noise outside at the bars all i can say is it is blackpool and we do our best to give our guests a happy environment inside. many people from rural areas do notice a big difference when staying in a town or city and they cant even get away from noise in the big hotels that charge huge prices. however im glad we managed to look after you well. and that there were no issues with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

As we were on a tight budget for this years holiday we decided to go for a a familiar break in Blackpool. This venue was ideal in price and location - within walking distance of the promenade. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and their first concern was making our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, The room was functional but we didn't require a huge space as this was only a base to sleep in every night and the breakfast was great. Very clean and comfortable and we would definitely return on any future visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenFranc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
thats the plan if your on a tight budget and looking for quality then here is the place im so glad you paid the extra fiver for breakfast as it would have filled you for most of the day. because weve gone down on our prices we have not sacrificed the quality or cleanliness.
thank you for your revue. hope to be seeing yous again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

this b&b is fantastic value, close enough to the seafront but far enough away to avoid all the noise at night. it is very clean and comfortable especially my room which was spotless (and i have stayed in some grim places lol) The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. it's ideally located and priced for a cheap base for your trip to blackpool. i would definitely recommend and will return in the future. credit where it's due!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
thank you thank you, get back here soon!
all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

just home from Edward hotel, will definitely be recommending to my friends, Stuart and frank went out their way to make sure everything was perfect during our stay, we felt like old friends going for a visit, the breakfast was great set you for the day, we booked evening meal this was also cooked to perfection, there was a choice of main meals to chose from,

thanks guys you were and are the perfect hosts, we had a great time, one of the better hotels we have visited more friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 546rosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
many thanks your very welcome and it will be a plesure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 16/8/2013 to 18/8/2013 for my hen weekend along with 17 other ladies, we couldn't have asked for anything better, Stuart is the nicest man you could ever wish to meet, nothing was to much trouble for him, he bent over backwards to make our stay the best ( and it was ) the rooms were very clean and comfortable, the food was excellent, and everything you wanted he went out and fetched if he didn't already have it, he was fun and joined in with us, I will defiantly stay hear again, ( sorry Stu but you will see me again )
I HIGHLY RECCOMEND ANYONE TO BOOK THIS HOTEL AS YOU COULDNT WISH FOR ANYTHING BETTER !!, his friend Frank was also very friendly and joined in, top blokes they are!!,
All my love Yvonne xx

Room Tip: room 7 sleeps 5 and we had a view of the tower EXCELLENT
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
what you talking about you lot were brilliant just what we are all about i cant wait to see you all again your like family now.
wishing you all the best.xxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#461 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Guest House
Phoenix Guest House
#432 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 130 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peerless Hotel
The Peerless Hotel
#596 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#16 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Hotel

Property: Edward Hotel
Address: 27 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edward Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin & Tina will welcome you with open arms to their Friendly Family Run Hotel. Room only or B&B options. Child Friendly. Pet Friendly. Bar/Lounge. Clean & comfortable with great reviews. We do not cater for stag/Hen parties, so please check before booking. Give us a try .... you'll be pleased you did :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing