We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edward Hotel
Ranked #205 of 862 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The stay at the Edward Hotel was great. We've stopped in Blackpool 10+ times and this hotel was the best stay we have had. The hotel is in a fab location near the town centre, sea front and Funny Girls. The owner (Stuart) was great, accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Stuart very kindly allowed us to bring our dog, who he welcomed as much as us! The breakfast was good and the portions spot on. The room was clean, with a massive flat screen tv, tea and coffee facilities and an en suite. Stuart was even able to get us a discount on our late night supper! Overall it was the best stay we have had in Blackpool, great value for money and will definitely be returning. Thanks Stuart! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

thanks your comments make me proud, cos i like to help where i can and happy guests are what we try to make every time. God bless, many thanks stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 237 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

On visiting this hotel with my partner and my lovely two daughters I can only say it was one of the worst places I have ever stayed, in Smelly tatty and out of order and thats not just the showers
they are just like the owner they are either very hot or very cold if my children were as rude and stroppy as him I would have to say something, and there teenagers. just beware if you are having breakfast there is only room for about 8 people at most and if you want a glass off Orange I suggest you take a glass his designer egg cups confused me hope you fin this helpfull as I have never falt the need to complain before

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

as i said in your previos review your daughters are very used to your embarrasing childish and rude behaviour which led to you being told to leave the hotel on the spot much to your surprise! as you went out of your way to be childish irritable foul mouthed and rude when challenged about it. we do not accept this kind of behaviour which was offensive to our other guests and staff and will defend both from abuse such as yours!. trip advisor are aware of you already. never felt the need to complain before! really! our regular guests and guests since thankfuly have had a laugh at your comments. thanks for that! Get a life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A return the Edward was met with a very warm welcome from Stuart. Right from the booking stage Stuart was so helpful and genuinely wanted to make the stay enjoyable.

A lovely stay as always, room spot less and very comfortable and the location was perfect for a night out in Funny Girls.The hotel bar is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

No problem it was a pleasure seeing u back again nice people are always welcome, also its nice to see the effort put into running the Edward apreciated. we wish you well and look forward to seeing you again. many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A great stay, nice clean room and en suite and very friendly owner who made us feel very welcome and could not do enough to help. He also had great local knowledge and recomended a great Indian off the beaten track. Would not look elswhere if retuning to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks its a pleasure to help, and thankful you enjoyed your stay. look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was made to feel very welcome by Stuart the owner who was there all the time advising us where to eat and best night life. Rooms are spotless and well maintained.Located close to all amenities Will go back for another stay.

Wendy and Val Birmingham.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thanks girls your welcome back always, many thanks had a lovely time and enjoyed your company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Room supposed to have had wifi and safe and room had neither,Breakfast was very rubbish very minute.Quite noisy also could hear people talking in next room also coulfd hear everything outside.Owner was very misreble and bar was very minute ,also you where not aloud to take your own alcohol in room had to buy from bar.Orderd non smoking room but room was a smoking room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukmystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Oh my you seem a tad upset, well firstly all of our rooms are, and are advertised as smoking rooms not that you would have known if we had took the ashtray out. apologies about the safe had you said anything we would have got you one to put your valuables in. perhaps i wasnt the only one that was miseable, and as for noise in the next room if it was excessive i wish you had told me its not something im used to hearing about very often. as for noise outside we are a town centre location and if you are used to the countryside where its silent you will notice the difference everytime. wi fi runs through the building but you should have asked for the wifi key which is free. As for breakfast again if its not right please tell me because i dont know what the problem was? False advertising is a bit out of the way as a statement! OUR website has clear pictures and descriptions, and also covers our policy on alcohol within the hotel. would you have bought a drink in our bar im sure i would not have been as miserable as you imply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

room 8, comfortable bed and thats the end of the comfort, room dirty and smelly (stale tobacco or damp) broken furniture a postage stamp sized t.v no bed side tables or lamps no hair dryer, not really a problem as shower not working either.Breakfast was their saving grace i think ! however could not eat it due to rude staff .Children in room 2 which had quite nice decor however the large T.V did not work the shower run from very cold to boiling hot. On arrival the room was made up as double not twin as booked when i asked for the bed to be split i was told that this would cost an additional £4 as this was an upgrade i was also told to pay on checking out, but at breakfast we over heard staff making unkind comments such as "bet they dont pay the upgrade" and various other rude comments. Avoid, Not a nice B&B so very much wrong with it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Sour Grapes because you had to wait 10 minutes for breakfast you embarrassed yourselfs and your two lovely daughters who seemed used to it! your behaviour and attitude was offensive to the other guests and the wifes tirade was disgusting in front of them and that is why i told you to pack your bags and leave the hotel asap. you booked the cheapest rooms and wanted dearer ones we acomodated you. all of our tv,s do work. and if there had been a problem why did you tell me everything was fine!!!! when now you say it wasnt! im glad you all enjoyed our COMPLIMENTARY breakfast as well as the extras you got FOR FREE. and may i remind you you never paid for the extra charge for the luxury twin room either that we provided even though its not what you booked at a lesser rate. we go out of our way to try and resolve any problems that may arise. i checked the rooms myself as soon as you left and found nothing of your listed problems. and the new guests who went into those rooms that day were very happy with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hornby Villa
The Hornby Villa
#34 of 862 in Blackpool
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#42 of 862 in Blackpool
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#407 of 862 in Blackpool
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#96 of 862 in Blackpool
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#26 of 862 in Blackpool
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Hotel

Address: 27 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 862 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $43 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edward Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin & Tina will welcome you with open arms to their Friendly Family Run Hotel. Room only or B&B options. Child Friendly. Pet Friendly. Bar/Lounge. Clean & comfortable with great reviews. We do not cater for stag/Hen parties, so please check before booking. Give us a try .... you'll be pleased you did :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing