We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sands Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #155 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, Cheshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Sands Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Sands Hotel is a nice place to stay. Its well located, especially for Pleasure beach & South Pier. Moe was the perfect host & the other staff worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was lovely, and our bedroom (4) had the most perfect view of the promenade. I did like the idea that rooms with views are at no extra cost. The room our 2 daughters stayed in had no view but was more spacious. We only stayed the 1 night, but it was very pleasant.
The only downside was the fact that there was no parking, but we managed to find street parking at the rear of the hotel. This, though, is in no way the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room number 4 had sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemactravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    27
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I chose this hotel for my girlfriend and i to stay over for a weekend i cant say a bad thing about it, infact it was amazing! when i booked Mo took a deposit from me with the rest to pay but the card didnt register, she informed us of this on our check in but didnt press us for the payment and let us get oursleves upstairs and sorted before completing the payment. The room was very clean with a good view of the sea/beach, even with people moving back and forth but we werent kept awake by any noise and we even had the window wide open. any questions we had to ask were answered straight away and we were also given advice on how to save money on the attractions. to end, we will definately be going back and next time will be bringing friends

Room Tip: we had room 4, first floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

i stayed here on the 15th july for 1 night with my husband and two children.we had a family room which was very spacious and very clean.when we arrived we was greeted by moe who was very friendly and polite.we had a fantastic view and all slept very good!the breakfast was fantasic we all had cereal and a cooked breakfast it was also very cheap!would definatetly stay here again and would recommend to anyone x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at The Sands Hotel initially because we struggled to find a room for a family of five for the Open Golf weekend. We were pleasantly surprised by everything about the hotel. We normally stay at The Big Blue Hotel, but would stay at The Sands again. Lovely owner, really helpful where nothing was too much trouble. A peaceful breakfast in the morning with everything served to your own reserved table. The room and ensuite were exceptionally clean and ample space for all of us when we spent most of our stay out and about. The location is ideal, in the middle of everything, but amazingly quiet inside. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applecroft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

From the friendly, warm welcome to the warm and sincere farewell our recent stay at the Sands Hotel was more than we first expected. From the outside it just looks like another regular Blackpool hotel but stepping inside was a fantastic experience. The room we had was at the front of the hotel with a fabulous sea view, it was tastefully decorated and was very clean and tidy not only in the room but throughout the hotel.

We were visiting the hotel for The Open which we had an early start on the Sunday morning, a freshly home cooked breakfast is normally served from 7.45am to 9am but Moe served a full cooked breakfast for us from 6.30am so we could go and enjoy the golf on a full stomach :-)

We would highly recommend the Sands Hotel to everyone who wants to enjoy a very friendly, warm and relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be recommending this place to our family and friends, but we will also stay here again when we return to Blackpool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at The Sands Hotel for one night, was very impressed with the warm welcome we received on arrival. When shown our room was very impressed with the decor and cleanliness, Mo made us feel very welcome, in the morning had a beautiful breakfast all you would need to set you up for the day only sorry we were not staying any longer, any time i go back to Blackpool i would want to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room here i believe would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just got back from our stay at The Sands Hotel Blackpool,although only there for a night we had booked two rooms and found the both rooms spotless and very tidy.We had a warm welcome as soon as we arrived,found car parks around Blackpool very expencive but was soon informed that there was a place where we could park for a shade of the cost and it was secure.The sands hold a key to it aswell so if the people are not around you can get in for your car.

So overall we had a really good stay,thank you.

We will return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Camelot Seafront Hotel
The Camelot Seafront Hotel
#240 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Brooklyn
The New Brooklyn
#54 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#20 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#17 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#30 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Property: The Sands Hotel
Address: 485 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing