We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our cup of tea”
Review of The Alviston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alviston Hotel
Ranked #762 of 862 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The worst B&B I have ever stayed in. If the Landlord/Owner can make it his from his basement living accommodation you might be lucky if he can make it to the keys and actually give you keys to a room that is available. The place is run down, the rooms pretty grotty and the matresses on the beds in our rooms were truly past there sell by date. Breakfast staff were pleasant and tried their best but not a place I would want to stay again and certainly would not recommend it. Stags and hen do's suitable as there is absolutely no control of the place.

Room Tip: Do not choose to stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at this hotel and it is locked in a time warp!! The hotel itself is well situated for all the entertainment and the sea front. The breakfast staff were really nice, as was the breakfast. The owner has let the place go and has not got a clue on how to run his business. He was scruffy as was the hotel.He double booked people, charged different prices for drinks depending on what mood he was in, left the font door open at night and served drinks in dirty glasses. Our room was on the first floor and we had no sleep at all with guests banging on the doors and sleeping in the corridor. I wont be returning or recommending this hotel to anyone.
,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well what can I say. The guy was pissed as a newt, totally bonkers and what a hilarious experience. Fire regulations oh whatever, health and safety must have missed this one. Being drunk and incapable was only half the story. He fell asleep in his office with a ciggie in his mouth. He let the guests pour their own drinks and look after the bar and clean the tables. He forgot to lock up at night and randoms simply waltzed in off the street. At one point we thought he would somersault down his back stairs he swayed so much. He mixed up peoples rooms and double booked so to sort it he walked around opening doors. One guest was given a key to a room that had someone already in it. Fawlty towers doesn't even come close all it needed was Gazza with a fish supper. Overall the craziest run place ever has to be seen its so bad!

Room Tip: sleep outside you would be safer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mr1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked this last minute. It was our first time in a b&b so went with no expectations. The family room was perfect for me the Mrs and our 3 kids. Car park up the road for fiver a day was ideal. The service at breakfast was brilliant they sorted a high chair and baby cutlery for our youngest and made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked this b&b last minute, and looked at the reviews on trip advisor before making our decision. Our party consisted of my husband and myself (both late twenties) and our 2 year old daughter. Our room was dated, tiny, and stank of smoke, It wasnt filthy but wasnt clean either. The beds were uncomfortable and soft and the covers were stained. The carpet was ancient and pitted.
We were offered parking, which meant our car was perched on the kerb of a back alley.
The only good thing was that there is a lift, and the breakfast which was ok, however the cutlery was grubby and breakfast didnt start serving until 10am which is a little late for us.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, and although the manager is friendly, i think the place leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank skybluepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Manager at The Alviston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

We are extremely sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay at the Alviston Hotel.
The parking is in a free car park at the back of the hotel which holds 7 cars and is situated on a road that hotels from both Albert and Charnley Road back onto. Sometimes it is inevitable that on occasions, due to the size of cars parked, that there is an overhang onto the kerb.
Breakfast was served at 9am. The day in question was when the clocks were put back. Maybe the guests did not reset their watches?
All linen is checked on a daily basis and prior to arrival of guests. If this room was not upto standard then we can only apologise but we did not receive any complaints during the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

we have just returned from this hotel and could not fault anything about it, staff very pleasant manager paul great cook and good company, david the owner very attentive and great company the rooms are good and plenty of tea and coffee and hot chocolate provided, nothing was any trouble and the location was great. would really return again and stay there no problems. keep up the good work alviston.

Room Tip: double rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estheruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Hotel has a good, central location. Room was fine, although our friends' rooms were a bit on the small side. Bathroom could have been a wee bit cleaner but I've seen much worse. Decent breakfast and well stocked bar. Lift to all floors. Staff fine. Basically like a large B&B. Had we been at the hotel any other weekend it would probably been enjoyable, however we were there on the big bank holiday weekend and I have to say that the hotel was way too rowdy for us. It was full of drunk stags and hens and the noise from the bar and the other bedrooms went on right through the night until 6am or so - shouting, banging, music - and one morning I came out of our room to find piles of business cards and leaflets thrown around the corridor along with cutlery and cleaning materials. No complaints about the hotel itself, just the clientelle. I don't think I'd go back for that reason, however as I said I can imagine it would have been absolutely fine had we not visited at such a busy time. Perfect for large groups of younger folk who are there for the nightlife, but I wouldn't have liked to have been a family with young kids there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheOriginalMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#96 of 862 in Blackpool
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#101 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#148 of 862 in Blackpool
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#347 of 862 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alviston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alviston Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #762 of 862 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $45 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alviston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Alviston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing