We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waters Edge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waters Edge
Ranked #320 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked Blackpool for the weekend but decided to come 1 night earlier so got a last minute booking for the Waters Edge, lovely hotel very welcoming, room a bit small but it was advertised as small but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_borst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    31
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
57
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this little place for my best friend's 21st for a two night stay!
We were a bit confused about parking when we first arrived as there is a pay and display opposite that is quite expensive but we enquired with the owner Paul and he informed us that we could park just outside for two hours free and if we left the keys with him, he would move the car as soon as a space became available - (There is free parking along the whole street but it was full.) And that he did. In fact, he moved it again on the second day so that it was right outside the front door! He didn't have to but that meant we could go exploring and not have to worry - BIG help!! :)
The hotel is only a 5 min walk from the Pleasure Beach and about 15 min walk from the tower - It's in a perfect location!

I phoned in advance and asked if they could arrange anything special for my friend's 21st and when we got there they had decorated the room with banners and balloons and even written her a card and given us a little bottle of bubbly! So sweet of them to do this!! :) It was a really nice surprise.

The breakfast was so nice! Good job on the full english!
The room was perfect size for a two day stay - we didn't travel light but there was plenty of room for the two us! And the bed was comfier than mine at home! :) Honestly, while we were here, we were made to feel completely at home. I'm always wary of booking cheap B&Bs after a bad experience in London, but this place and it's owners are SO SO lovely! We paid just over £100 for two nights and it was so worth it.
I would recommend this place to anyone looking to go stay in Blackpool. Perfect location, friendly and welcoming owners, and just a lovely feel to it.
You'll see what I mean by the whole wall of thank you cards they have by the entrance!
Thank you so much for a lovely stay Paul & co!! :) xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at waters edge for 2 nites with our 2 children 3 and 6. Place was just what we were looking for . Few minutes walk to pleasure beach and next to beach, tram stop near by so you didn't have to walk to other pier if you didn't want. Even though it was near pier there wasn't much noise at nite and I'm a light sleeper.
Rooms were clean if your wanting modern furniture it's not for you ,but we didn't mind. Beds were comfy and bedding clean, towels white and fluffy and water nice and hot.
As for breakfast yum full English was great ! Loads of toast and cerial too.
The couple are very nice and helpful. Thanks for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

stayed last year for 3 nytes lovely people friendly me and other half enjoed breakfast but was disapointed to see bar has been taken out also pool table a pound a go that should of been free u get friendly people good breakfast butv thats it

Room Tip: id check them out on internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ronnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

we stayed here from friday 26th july 2013 to sunday 28th july 2013 with our 2 child had a lovely stay owners are a lovely couple breakfast was lovely was very clean could not fault this b n b at all and they were even brilliant with the kids will be staying here again hopfully soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just spent a long weekend in blackpool Thursday to Sunday with my wife at waters edge guest house blackpool after travelling down from fife we wer totally blown away with welcome from the staff and room was total spotless Paul the owner is total nuts but in a good way u could not meet a nicer man will do anything for u at anytime and always there to serve breakfast which is always enjoyable good food and excellent banter anyway if u go to blackpool look no further than waters edge or there's every chance u will end up in some dirty b&b u have aw read about cheers again Paul

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinglassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A great thanks to Paul and his staff for the great welcome we had at the Waters Edge. A extra big thanks to Miss Ponny tail the waiter NOTHING was to much trouble for here. We will be booking this Hotel again next year. One word sums this Hotel up SUPERB. ( note to Paul keep of ladders).

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with this hoetel and its staff. Front room have a better view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ayrton House Luxury Apartments
Ayrton House Luxury Apartments
#19 of 130 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#143 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge

Property: Waters Edge
Address: 5 Dean Street | By the sea, Blackpool FY4 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waters Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WATERS EDGE Located in the north west's finest seaside town of Blackpool. The Waters Edge is perfect for short breaks; it is a friendly family run Guest House, offering excellent customer service and hospitality. Situated at the south end of the promenade (near Pleasure Beach Resort), our main guests comprise of couples & family's we also welcome mixed parties. For the safety of our guests 24 hour CCTV is in operation and we also have FREE internet access available in Public areas. ACCOMMODATION: We offer clean affordable cozy en-suite bedrooms with single,twin,double & family being available. Some bedrooms have a sea view. ( Complimentary) tea/coffee making facilities available in all rooms, LCD television some with DVD, central heating, towels plus a selection of toiletries being made available for your comfort. Late Keys for your flexibility. Refurbished Breakfast room from Febuary 2015 where we offer competitively priced breakfasts you can help yourself to a selection of cereals, juice, Tea Coffee & help yourself to as much toast as you require while we prepare your freshly cooked breakfast served between 8.Am - 9.15 Am - Vegetarian and other special diets catered for please inform us of any dietary requirements during the booking process. The lounge has also been refurbished Febuary 2015 where you can Bring your own favorite drink or a take away meal. Watch TV or just relax with a book or your favourite newspaper. - Children are welcome in the lounge with parents' supervision. Thank you - We hope to see you soon - Josephine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Waters Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing