We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
Review of Waters Edge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waters Edge
Ranked #304 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

would just like to say a huge thankyou to paul & josie for making our stay at the waters edge so very enjoyable, myself and my partner steve along with my sister and brother-in-law stayed overnight for my brother-in-laws birthday, we found it very clean, and stylish, rooms are very nice with tea & coffee facilities, a good sized breakfast, and a lovely warm welcome, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning on staying in blackpool, we will deffinatly be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1310111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    31
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
58
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and my family stay here this weekend 2/11/12-4/11/12 and had an amazing time paul an joise were so friendly and made us feel so welcomed the food was lovely and rooms are very clean an great sizes would highly recommend people to stay here we are going back to blackpool again next year an stay there again thank you to paul an joise from clare,david, aiden,lexie and ruby xx :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reilly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

A B&B ran by friendly people on south shore close to the pleasure beach.

Highlights:
Friendly
Good location
Great breakfast

Lowlights:
Small rooms
Tired decor
Limited/no parking

I chose the B&B mainly for location and didn't want to spend loads of money and it was quite a last minute booking so I wasn't expecting 5* accomodation. I can only give the opinion on the room I was in which was very small and decor pretty dated but it was clean.

If you are looking for somewhere just to get your head down with a decent brekkie and friendly service whilst on a visit to Blackpool with easy access to pleasure beach - choose here.
If you're looking for a luxury stay with a parking spot look again!


  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Situated 5 min walk to pleasure beach and just off promenade it's in a great location. It's difficult to park with trying to get parking on the street outside the hotel, but the owners are very helpful with moving their own cars to allow room. Nicely decorated rooms but single glazed windows and heating was on so low we were freezing, so pack thick pjs in winter. Breakfast was gorgeous. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezza1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I booked this 'hotel' after coming across it in Booking.com. At first, I thought it was a hotel but then after it was booked, I saw it was a b&b and felt rather misled. Anyway, a few friends and I stayed there for two nights over the weekend. We were met by a woman who worked there who showed me the rooms. There were three rooms for 6 people and the rooms were tiny!! Admittedly, they were clean but it was a tight squeeze. Also, there was not enough tea, coffee or milk and none of these were replaced during the day when we were out. The showers were tepid and the front of the drawers came off the chest of drawers. Twice!

On arrival, I noticed that the second room downstairs had been gutted and was undergoing refurbishment. I can only assume that this was the bar because the Internet said there was a bar, but there wasn't one when We arrived.

Breakfast was satisfactory and the staff couldn't do enough for us, running around filling up with orange juice and tea. However, the dining room and kitchen smelt of cigarettes. The same can also be said for the foyer on arrival.

Whilst our stay was pleasant enough, I do feel like it should not be called a hotel - it isn't one! There is no bar despite what it says on the Internet. Lastly, one of our party asked the staff for a key to one of our rooms. A lady who had never seen her before gave her a large bunch of keys that appeared to be for every room in the place! Not very security conscious!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

i stayed for the weekend with my mother , my niece and her friend , we stayed in the junior suite which was exellent value and very clean and compfortable !!, the people are very friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for you , the breakfast was top quality and very tastey , the area is very quiet so ideal for a good nights sleep , we will most definately be making another visit and satying there again !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

very clean comfy room lovely decor very friendly staff helpful and chatty good value for money great food good with kids i have mobility problems my needs were fully meet close to prom etc just booked for our second stay :D :) with my 10 yr old son well done to all the staff :) xxx

Room Tip: ask and your needs will be catered for to suit your own circumstances ours was :) xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne marie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ayrton House Luxury Apartments
Ayrton House Luxury Apartments
#24 of 127 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#155 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge

Property: Waters Edge
Address: 5 Dean Street | By the sea, Blackpool FY4 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waters Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WATERS EDGE Located in the north west's finest seaside town of Blackpool. The Waters Edge is perfect for short breaks; it is a friendly family run Guest House, offering excellent customer service and hospitality. Situated at the south end of the promenade (near Pleasure Beach Resort), our main guests comprise of couples & family's we also welcome mixed parties. For the safety of our guests 24 hour CCTV is in operation and we also have FREE internet access available in Public areas. ACCOMMODATION: We offer clean affordable cozy en-suite bedrooms with single,twin,double & family being available. Some bedrooms have a sea view. ( Complimentary) tea/coffee making facilities available in all rooms, LCD television some with DVD, central heating, towels plus a selection of toiletries being made available for your comfort. Late Keys for your flexibility. Refurbished Breakfast room from Febuary 2015 where we offer competitively priced breakfasts you can help yourself to a selection of cereals, juice, Tea Coffee & help yourself to as much toast as you require while we prepare your freshly cooked breakfast served between 8.Am - 9.15 Am - Vegetarian and other special diets catered for please inform us of any dietary requirements during the booking process. The lounge has also been refurbished Febuary 2015 where you can Bring your own favorite drink or a take away meal. Watch TV or just relax with a book or your favourite newspaper. - Children are welcome in the lounge with parents' supervision. Thank you - We hope to see you soon - Josephine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waters Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing