We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“? 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bona Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bona Vista Hotel
Ranked #138 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“? 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Negatives would be: ? as a 4 start hotel, location north of blackpool but actually a good 45 minute brisk walk to get to Blackpool Tower, Room was situated in the roof space of the hotel with a young child having to climb 2 sets of separate steep stairs, expensive for what you can get elsewhere. Positives would be clean hotel, good choice of breakfast available, plesant staff who are helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgettraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Had a great time with the kids and Mrs, pity about the weather but great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLY786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed Monday to Friday. Lovely welcome, room was spottless. Meals were of a high standard. No complaints whatsoever. In a word SUPERB. We have booked our next holiday there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndi789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Arrived monday evening and althrough rooms were not as booked they were swopped without fuss this proved to be only hitch in our stay as nothing was to much trouble.
Rooms were a good size and clean. ensuite bathrooms not large but big enough and in good condition. The owners were always on hand and welcoming, bar prices very very good and breakfast excellent.
You do need to book evening meals before hand

they work very hard to make your stay comterble and it shows lovely couple and would stay again great value for money

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roystie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

After a very hectic couple of day’s business in the area it was very nice to arrive at this four star quality Blackpool hotel. I can assure anyone visiting this charming hotel of a very warm Lancastrian welcome from its owners Sandra, Geoff and their son.
The Bon Vista Hotel is located in a very quite and respectable neighborhood of Blackpool, right on the Queens Promenade over looking the sea however, after just a twenty minute walk you can be right in the centre of the town outside the famous Blackpool Tower and the Victorian North Pier. Our room at the hotel was a very large room offering all the trimmings expected from a four star hotel (i.e. flat screen TV with digital channels, radio and alarm etc etc). The view from the large bay window in our room was fantastic, the sunset was absolutely beautiful and if the illuminations were on we could have seen them for miles all along the promenade. The breakfast was one of the best English breakfasts I have had and the hosts were more than happy to change the menu to order.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkhCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex.england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

After booking and very quickly checking out of a large hotel that was not fit to stay in. we found this hotel. Thank goodness.
The owners Sandra and Geoff were very friendly. The room was very nice and clean. Just a couple of things that need attending to..The shower handle was so difficult to turn off i had to use a towel to get a good grip, and the en-suite bathroom door was stiff to open and close. Would have liked an accomodation survey for customers.. Thats all i could fault really.
As another reviewer wrote a good meaty sausage would have made the cooked breakfast excellent. All freshly cooked and nothing was too much trouble for Sandra to make. I would definitely recommed this hotel. It was away from the main attractions and opposite the beach. The tram and bus stop was right accross the road from the hotel and were frequent, so no need to drive around looking for parking spaces
Well done Sandra and Geoff. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spearmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

There is a vast choice of accommodation in Blackpool but the Bona Vista is a winner. It is not in the very centre but treat that as a positive. It does have a wonderful location bang in the area of the best of the illuminations and has a comfortable sun lounge and bar to maximise the view. There is plenty of parking too. A big plus.

The rooms are not the largest but well decorated, well furnished and spotless. The same applies for the bed linen and towels. Plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits in the rooms too.
There can be no better value than the evening meal. Quality food, well cooked, hot and plentiful. Served in a smart dining room, with pristine table linen, cutlery and crockery. Service with a smile and hard to fault. Breakfast is the same. Plenty of choice and hot food cooked to order so expect a short wait for a quality product. As for the sausages... they'll do for me anytime.

You will have a different experience at the Bona Vista to that of a large hotel chain establishment with hundreds of rooms. I've stayed in both. The Bona Vista is a hidden gem and a place you can confidently recommend to your boss, your friends or even your grandparents. It has broad appeal to all. Professional, yet homely, warm and welcoming. I have no doubt that all the above would enjoy their stay, have a great time and recommend it to their family, friends and colleagues too.

If you have thought about staying in Blackpool only to be put off by the daunting prospect of being able to find somewhere nice to stay, delay no longer. Book in at the Bona Vista and like us, you will soon look forward to your return visit year after year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monalinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brincliffe Hotel
Brincliffe Hotel
#180 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fossil Tree Hotel
The Fossil Tree Hotel
#14 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queens Plaza Hotel
Queens Plaza Hotel
#103 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athenry Guest House
Athenry Guest House
#227 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Park Hotel
Windsor Park Hotel
#52 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bona Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bona Vista Hotel

Property: Bona Vista Hotel
Address: 104-106 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:4 star — Bona Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bona Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing