We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break in Blackpool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The North Crest Hotel
Ranked #10 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“short break in Blackpool”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sue and Jim 10 out of 10, ended up feeling like we had known them for ages rather than just 3 days
Rooms were excellent
breakfast and dinner first class
This was a short break to take my Mum to her favourite seaside resort (where she spent her honeymoon in 1946). Jim and Sue looked after us all and really made my Mum comfortable
Would highly recommend the North Crest

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeycat24, Owner at The North Crest Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank-you so much for your recommendation, we are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay at North Crest. We loved meeting your mum and enjoyed your company. Best wishes Sue and Jim x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
108
237
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel was in a great location for us: close enough to main attractions which were easily accessible by tram and close enough to family we were visiting. Sue and Jim, the proprietors, are a lovely couple and very accommodating. We had a very spacious room, beautifully decorated and with lots of lovely finishing touches, such as bath robes, a small fridge for water, a fan and wine glasses. I have stayed at many hotels in Blackpool but this is one I would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcantoniopaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeycat24, Owner at The North Crest Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the North Crest, we try to make your stay special with all the little extra's and you obviously appreciated this, we are really pleased that you plan to return in the future. Best wishes Sue and Jim x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First of all I would like to say that the Hotel is extremely well kept, clean and very very well presented. Everything is spotless and of a very high standard ESPECIALLY THE BREAKFAST ....WOW!! Local produce cooked to PERFECTION!

First impressions for us are massive and unfortunately our first impression was not great :( We were greeted in the hotel and immediately asked for the balance of the rooms? This to us was very strange and we were not even sure if this is common practice? To us you get a service and then pay?!

The rooms were lovely, our kids stayed in "the nest" a family 3 bed room and we stayed in "ruby chic" a double room next door! We cannot fault the rooms in any way!

As I mentioned breakfast was PERFECT! A delicious choice of locally produced and sourced items and homemade cakes conserves made it almost impossible to choose between things! The only downside on breakfast is the very small 1/2 HOUR window in which breakfast is served (0830-0900), although I believe arrangements can be made if required.

The owners were very nice although they never introduced themselves and seemed slightly uncomfortable with children in the hotel especially in the dining room, I think adults would have been appreciated more - especially since the "vibe" of the hotel is boutiquesque.

The location of the hotel is somewhat away from the town centre and requires a tram/bus ride especially if you have young children! On the plus side, the location is quiet and away from the majority of rowdy folks!!

Not sure if B&B's are us? We felt uncomfortable in someone's home, as we are used to large hotel chains and villas, which may have swayed the review. I would definitely recommend it for couples but not sure if I can either recommend or not recommend for families!?!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay-Partyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeycat24, Owner at The North Crest Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed our vast choice at breakfast, we do like everything on our breakfast bar to be at its very best this is why our breakfast is 8.30 till 9am. We do ask our guests to pay on arrival, we are seven bedroom bed and breakfast, with just myself and Jim we,like most small bed and breakfasts find this the best option, as with all our guests we e-mail with confirmation of your booking and that balance of your holiday is due on arrival. We are pleased you found Ruby Chic one of our double rooms and the Nest our family room faultless, we have one family room which is always in demand so we regularly have children stay, as you can see from our previous families reviews we certainly don't have a problem with children, I find this comment rather strange, your three children were well mannered and a credit to you, as I commented to you on your departure ! as stated on our website we are just over one mile from the town centre, most of our guests appreciate that fact as its a five minute tram or bus ride into town or a pleasant stroll along the prom and yet your in a quiet and pleasant area. I know you were rather unhappy about paying for a tram pass but for all five of you it was just £9 that's less than £2 each to travel on tram's and buses all day. We personally think this is a real bargain. Thank you for your feed back and we are pleased to have met you and your lovely family. Best wishes in the future Sue and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my third visit to The North Crest and won't be the last. Sue and Jim are so helpful,hospitable and friendly. The rooms are spotless and each year they improve them, you really get value for money. Rooms are homely and have all mod cons, including water,tea,coffee, biscuits. Free wi if too!
Breakfast is delicious and they offer a varied selection of options. We were unsure what to do one day as the weather was a bit iffy and they were happy to make suggestions which proved to be a great success.
I shall be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aandrewsking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeycat24, Owner at The North Crest Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review, much appreciated, so glad you found us such good value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us at North Crest. Look forward to seeing you next year. Best wishes Sue and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from a brief two night stay at North Crest and would happily stay again. Sue and Jim gave us a very warm, friendly welcome to their lovely guest house and served a superb breakfast with lots of choice. What more could you want.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeycat24, Owner at The North Crest Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Sue and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very friendly welcome, lovely room very clean and spacious. Breakfast amazing, lots to choose from and all freshly prepared. Will use again, completely satisfied and would definitely recommend. Close by the tram stops regular tran service in and out of the centre, cheap all day tram tickets you can by from the local newsagents near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeycat24, Owner at The North Crest Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your review so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were completely satisfied, we do our very best to ensure your stay is a memorable one, look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Sue and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 30th may till 3rd june with my partner and 2 small children, was greeted with a very warm welcome from the owners and lovely room ( the nest ) room was nicely decorated comfortable beds and very clean, breakfast was delicious and had plenty of cereal for children, would definately stay here again and would definately recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeycat24, Owner at The North Crest Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the family room and would love to see you again. Thank you for your review. Best wishes sue and Jim x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 858 in Blackpool
1,035 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#13 of 858 in Blackpool
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 858 in Blackpool
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Crest Hotel

Property: The North Crest Hotel
Address: 22 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The North Crest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful 4 STAR GOLD North Crest. Stunning contemporary en-suite's, we have a breakfast award from Visit England! Superior 4 star accommodation for guests who appreciate quality, friendliness and excellent service, coupled with a warm and friendly welcome, this Edwardian Bed and breakfast offers all the charm of a period property but with the latest up to date contemporary boutique feel, with 7 tastefully decorated bedrooms, 1 of which is a stunning new superior room and 1 a delightful deluxe 4 poster. Offering all the usual things you expect from a 4 star property but with many luxurious extra's. Renowned for our 1 st class locally sourced where possible ingredients. We Serve a delicious Full English not for the faint hearted. We Also offer a great selection from our buffet with an array of fresh fruits, cereals, croissants, yogurts etc. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The North Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing