We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number One South Beach
Ranked #44 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel for a business meeting and yet again it has exceeded my expectations. I must say that this is the best hotel I have stayed in in the UK and I have stayed in many over the years. It is a true boutique hotel and is well worthy of its 5 stars. It is in a quiet location away from all that is naff about Blackpool, opposite a park. All the rooms are individually styled and tastefully decorated, I stayed in the hip hop room and it was both spacious and luxurious. The hotel only has 14 rooms so you feel well looked after by the 2 couples that run the business who are both welcoming and have a good sense of humour! I would highly recommend this hotel and I cannot wait to return for our now annual business trip to Blackpool.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank andywalker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Number One South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have recently stayed in the number 1 south beach and must say its a gorgeous hotel, we stayed in the suit rooms which where decorated in a black and silver. The hotel room was spotless with lots of nice touches, tea and coffee making facilites were brill and lots of stuff provided! However got there at just around 6ish after a long drive expecting to be able to get a meal there to find out the restaraunt wasent open! As it was quite late the only thing we had time for was chips on the beach! So if planning on eating at the restaraunt would recommened ringing and checking first to advoid disapointment! Also I found the staff to be extremely rude and patronising and were not up to helping much and more interested in money! The manger seemed to come across as the most rude and found it uncomfurtable to be around. The beds weren't very comfortable and wouldn't call the king size like advertised, the tv was difficult to operate and sky didnt work! Must say although the photos were nice and room was superb doubt I would stay here again as not worth money and would find just as good service at premier inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Number One South Beach for the weekend to see Elton John at the opening night of the Headland.We would not normally go to Blackpool so were not quite sure what to expect.However, we need not have worried the hotel was of a very good standard.
A warm and helpfull welcome ,excellent room,we stayed in Indulge which was room 3.
Good quality bedding,dressing gowns,towels and nice little touches which we appreciated like bottled sparkling water.All other amenities were as stated ,tv,jacuzzi etc.
The breakfast was what you would expect from a good quality hotel,however,we are not fans of ordering breakfast the night before.I can understand it for the special orders which were available but not for standard cooked breakfasts.
We did not avail ourselves of the restaurant but chose to eat out.
All in all a pleasant stay and in the unlikely event that we should go to Blackpool againwe would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My sister and I have just returned home from a superb weekend at Number One South Beach. I'd researched 5* Boutique Hotels and decided that if I found a suitable venue, this would decide the location for our weekend break.

The break was to celebrate my sister's 40th birthday and I can honestly say, I couldn't of chosen a better place to stay. The stay was absolutely fabulous and so are the owners and staff. At the end of our stay, my sister and I were almost sorry to leave. This place has a small team of friendly, outgoing individuals who can't do enough to help you and they are very witty, humorous and entertaining.

Upon arrival, the hotel looked very neat, stylish and sophisticated, with double door entrance and parking to the front. There is also ample side parking in the street. We could see the North Sea and adjacent the hotel is a grass area with a cafe. We unloaded our bags from the car and went in to the hotel. As soon as you enter the door, there is an immensely warm and inviting feeling. The hotel is decorated to a very high standard and is very pleasing to the eye. I knew instantly that it was going to be an extremely pleasant visit.

My sister and I were greeted by co-owner Graham at the reception desk. We briefly saw his wife Janet, who had handled the preparation of our room. My husband had driven us to Blackpool, as we intended to consume alcohol over the weekend and didn't plan to do any driving. Graham took the time to go outside and introduce himself to my husband who was waiting in the car. A nice touch, as my husband didn't intend to enter the building.

After check-in, we were taken to the room we had chosen at the time of booking, room number 16. It's on the top floor, so we took the lift. The lift is fitted out very stylishly. On the top floor, we were shown how to use the door key and taken into the room. The room is decorated in a rich aubergine, gold, white, cream and brown tones with oak shade furnishings and splashes of green in the accessories. It is very impressive. There is a wall mounted 42" TV and Graham demonstrated how to use the remote controls etc. Also, a DVD player, for which there is a plentiful selection of DVDs available from reception. A list is supplied. There is a hand-held remote control lighting in the room. There are tea and coffee facilities, with a nice selection of beverages. There are biscuits and sweets and these are replenished daily if they are eaten. My sister loves biscuits.

There is a booklet giving hotel details and lists of local events, eateries etc. There are iron and ironing board provisions if required and they can be obtained from reception. In the wardrobe, there are plenty of hangers and also a kit which includes many items, to include a sewing kit, plasters, nail varnish remover pads, lint roller, shoe shine and other items. No sweat if you forget anything. The hotel also sells items in reception, such as pain killers, indigestion relief etc. These can be seen to the left of the reception desk in glass casing.

The bathroom is sumptuous, with a Jacuzzi bath and 17" wall mounted plasma, heated towel rail, light sensor mirror and power shower. There is a selection of shower gel, shampoo, soap, a glass jar of soap powder just in case you'd like to clean any items of clothing. Also, cotton buds etc. Towels are changed daily and are rich and fluffy. There is room fragrance in the bathroom to dispel any odours. Toweling bath robes can be found in the wardrobe and toweling slippers, which we used on one occasion to breakfast, as an alternative to our outside shoes.

The hotel bed is probably one of the most comfortable ones I have slept in and the pillows are simply divine. This is most welcome after a hard slog along the promenade. Double doors lead out onto a veranda. Chairs are provided. No smoking is allowed on the veranda, as this can impose a £2,000 penalty to the hotel. However, there is smoking provision outside the hotel.

Breakfast at the hotel has to be ordered by 9pm the previous evening and is served until 9am in the morning. There is a very good selection and it caters for most tastes. Cereal and fresh fruit are readily available, as are bottled water and freshly squeezed orange juice. Tea and coffee is brought to the table, the coffee is simply divine. All produce is sourced locally and a list of suppliers can be found in the information pack in the hotel room. The breakfast provides a really good start to the day.

The hotel reception are keen to help with ordering taxis and advising good places to eat outside the hotel. My sister and I found a few good restaurants that are within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Le Raj..very friendly and exquisite Indian cuisine.

http://www.leeraj.co.uk/

Nunzios..Italian Restaurant. A few things that struck me about this place was how packed it was, but the Management and staff still do their level best to seat you asap, and are attentive in the process. A lovely mature blonde barmaid, a great 16 year old male waiter and a fab Manager come Chef. The food was absolutely superb, couldn't fault it and well worth the wait!

http://www.nunzios.co.uk/

Winston's Bistro & Bar, literally just round the corner from the hotel. Fabulous food and fabulous service. You will not be disappointed and the food is not just delicious, it's good value for money and generous in portion size.

http://www.winstonsbistrobar.co.uk/

I couldn't wait to arrive home and write this review. If I could pick this hotel up and take it travelling with me, I would. Don't listen to any negative reviews. There is nothing negative about this hotel. On the wall in the bar area, you will see an invite from Buckingham Palace for 'Hospitality Awards!' I hope this hotel remains one of 'Blackpool's Best Kept Secrets,' as I'd be severely disappointed if it was booked up that far in advance that I couldn't get in on my designated dates.

It was a real pleasure to stay at Number One South Beach, and I'd like to take the time to say thank you to the owners and staff alike for a truly magnificent stay.

Thank you.

Sharon Mitra & Lisa Owen. ;) xxx

http://www.winstonsbistrobar.co.uk/

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breezy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Having read all the reviews and seen the pictures I was looking forward to staying and I was not disappointed! The warm welcome shown to us and our three children was genuine and made us all feel very at home straight away. The breakfasts are superb, as good as I've had in any top class hotel. Fantastic in every way. Can't fault it and will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We loved the family room but all are fantastic
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWestLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as we where going to see a concert at the opera house in Blackpool, it is a loverly small hotel very tastefully decorated. The owners could not of been more helpfully nothing was any trouble for them, breakfast was wonderfully. Although they do have a restaurant is is only open for a limited time ( which is understandable ) we arrived on the Friday evening about 8:30 and it was already closed they did offer to make sandwiches for us though, we asked if they could recommend a nice Italian restaurant which they no only did but dropped us of two. If I was to return to Blackpool I would certainly return to this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We got married on 02nd Feb and we booked No1 hotel for the reception. We hadn't previously visited the hotel nor did we consider or look at another venue because based on word of mouth alone we were confident it was the place we wanted to be. What a fantastic choice we made, from start to finish we had the best experience, Mark and Graham the owners are so accomodating and nothing was too much trouble for them. Although the hotel is not a typical "Wedding Venue" choice I would recommend the restaurant to anyone, its the best reception I've ever been to. After the ceremony we arrived at the hotel to a bucks fizz reception and the guests were shown to the tables, then escorted by Janet we were clapped into the dining room. The team were very efficient, the food was just delicious, the tables looked amazing and the atmosphere was perfect, there was no rush wih any part of the day and we were never felt like we were being rushed. It was a small reception with only 33 people but everyone of those people enjoyed the day, they liked the intimacy of the hotel and that being at home feeling. After the meal we all retired to the bar area and its just so comfy and inviting, not like a typical hotel bar, some where you can slip off your shoes and put your feet up! Once Mark and Graham had retired late on we were left in the capable hands of Marks son, he was also fantastic and so efficient. We stayed the night and the room was great, they have thought of everything, if there was anything you thought you might have forgot or left at home well you'll find it there, it was just so warm, comfy. Breakfast was just as delicious and Janet was lovely tending to our every need. I'm sure you guys at the hotel hear this often but we would like to say from the bottom of our hearts and on behalf of all our guests thank you so much for helping to make our special day so memorable. A truly amazing place if you want somewhere intimate and personal but with a professional team at the helm.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, what you see on line is exactly how they are and all probably as comfy so don...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunjunkie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number One St Luke's
Number One St Luke's
#73 of 859 in Blackpool
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#49 of 859 in Blackpool
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#20 of 859 in Blackpool
688 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ashley Victoria Hotel
Ashley Victoria Hotel
#193 of 859 in Blackpool
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One South Beach

Address: 4 Harrowside West, Blackpool FY4 1NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $170 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Number One South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Number One South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number One South Beach Hotel Blackpool
#1 South Beach
Number 1 South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing